HealthFirst Reviews | Glassdoor

HealthFirst Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Facilitated enroller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at HealthFirst full-time

    Pros

    Good company/management and team

    Cons

    No cons in my opinion. Had a great experience

    Advice to Management

    None

    HealthFirst2018-02-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fall River, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HealthFirst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None don't apply here it's not a good, honest place to work. The upper management is nice to your face and talks behind your back.

    Cons

    Management is horrible and sneaky. Do not trust these people!

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with your employees and don't be fake/phony.

    HealthFirst2018-06-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Medicare Enrollment Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HealthFirst full-time

    Pros

    Health insurance was very affordable.

    Cons

    Extremely poor management. Managers would humiliate, belittle and even go as far as threatening/bullying employees.. director/HR well aware. Nothing done.

    Advice to Management

    Do something when you are made aware of the issues

    HealthFirst2018-03-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at HealthFirst full-time

      Pros

      Competitive salary and benefits and work and life balance.

      Cons

      less skilled management and some of very unprofessional managers.

      HealthFirst2017-12-08
    • "Awesome people to work with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Medical Secretary/Medical Records in Fall River, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at HealthFirst full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      They provide training if entry level

      Cons

      Pay could have been better.

      Advice to Management

      Don't use favoritism so much.

      HealthFirst2016-04-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "It's the culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at HealthFirst full-time

      Pros

      Progressive company with wonderful vision

      Cons

      Despite a huge focus on culture drivers there's a huge divide between what we say we do and what we really do

      Advice to Management

      Speak up! Think critically and Deliver with pride by taking a stand against the bullying that is led and fed by leadership in CMO.

      HealthFirst2016-02-06
    • Helpful (2)

      "It up to but not exceed my expectation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Rep in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at HealthFirst full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Compared with other HMO's, Healthfirst is a company that offers to its employees competitive pay rates, decent 401k and other fringe benefits. A good place for someone who is fresh out of college has not yet found a desire employment. Employees are generally offered some sort of employment security.

      Cons

      It clear that the career advancement is very limited and totally not based on some one's credentials. You have to admit the fact that your hard work may not be recognized by management. There is almost nowhere you can move vertically. Lack of communication is the biggest obstacle for efficiency, especially interdepartmental communication is mostly mute. The level of consolidation is low in non-management employees, because...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      There's much room for the management to be improved in rewarding hard working employees. For those non-commission driven employees, the annual raise should be more than just keeping up with the U.S. inflation rate and should be performance based.

      HealthFirst2015-08-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "I just didn't fit in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Office Manager in Newark, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at HealthFirst full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pays well. Established organization and pretty good training/new hire orientation.

      Cons

      Very clique-ish. You must "fit in" around there. I had a very visible role and was not at all respected. If you aren't kissing up to the top management - you are a nobody.

      Advice to Management

      Let go of being so top heavy (management). Seems like 70% of the employees are managers. What's the point?

      HealthFirst2015-08-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Health First"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Support Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at HealthFirst full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      great company over all good vacation time , great benefits good HR team

      Cons

      pay rate is low, and supervisor likes to retaliate that's very unprofessional.

      Advice to Management

      don't talk to the employees as if though we are children, its disrespectful!!

      HealthFirst2015-07-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good and bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Service Coordinator in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at HealthFirst

      Pros

      Great people. Able to work from home.

      Cons

      Very messy all over. Work is always changing.

      Advice to Management

      Upper managers, supervisors and cmt do not have very good communication.

      HealthFirst2015-06-29
    Found 15 reviews