Healthcare Research Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor

Healthcare Research Worldwide Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The best company you have probably never heard of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Healthcare Research Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong offering to the marketplace makes it easy to talk about with clients plus a lot of really smart people work here. A strategic and caring leadership team which contributes to amazing company culture and consistent year on year growth but in a sustainable way.

    Cons

    The US presence is small at the moment which means few local co-workers but that is changing rapidly.

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2015-02-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive, flexible and driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Healthcare Research Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HRW has grown a lot over the last few years from a small company, firmly into a medium-sized one, but it is great to see that with that they still have not lost their ability to put people first! People here - matter. There are tons of opportunities to get involved, to get your opinion heard and to progress. Hard work pays off and whilst long hours do happen, people are encouraged to make time and space to think, as well as rest. There are opportunities to get involved in both qual and quant, whilst managers are always keeping an eye on what you, as an individual, want, so opportunities for a great variety of projects are definitely there. There is a real sense of support and helping others is always encouraged, everyone pulls together at busy times so you feel like everyone is in the same boat.

    Cons

    Work is sometimes challenging, but this is the nature of the industry. Hard work here is really appreciated and recognised with promotions reflecting the work you do, so you feel like effort does not go unnoticed.

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2018-08-15
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Healthcare Research Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    The people, the flexible working hours. You have space to work on any side interests you want to. Thinking differently is encouraged.

    Cons

    The hours are extremely long and although you're encouraged to take it back, you rarely fully get to because then something else will suffer; expect to work evening and weekends. The pay and benefits are low, particularly in comparison to what other agencies are offering. The company seems very obsessed with numbers on how many emails it sends out to the point where it can feel bullying when naming and shaming is involved. Trainees are treated like garbage and worked to the bone to keep projects going and are overburdened with meaningless admin. Giving directors unrealistic sales targets will only lead them to failure but also make company wide financials harder to achieve. The bonus scheme is also false advertising as this has only ever been paid out a handful of times in the history of the company. The transition from a small to a medium sized company has been a horrendous one, with this "family company" feel having been totally lost now- one wrong move and the leadership will cut you off. I couldn't have felt less valued here.

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2018-08-10

    Healthcare Research Worldwide Response

    August 15, 2018Marketing & HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to post your views. HRW prides itself on an open-door policy and we hope you felt you were given the opportunity to discuss these concerns whilst you were with us, as we value all our employees and their health and wellbeing. HRW is a very busy and dynamic agency and relies on individuals managing their own time effectively to ensure the needs of our clients are met, as well as maintaining a healthy work/life balance. As in every busy environment, on occasions, the demands of the business will lead to employees working longer hours, but we both recognise and actively encourage employees to take time back in these circumstances. If employees feel these instances are becoming too frequent, we offer a number of forums to air these concerns at our Geo meetings, at our regular line manager catch ups, and always encourage employees to either speak to the Board or HR. I am sure you can appreciate that on occasions, in the interests of confidentiality, we are not always able to share the details of our decision making as you would have liked, but please be assured that all decisions are made in the best interests of our expanding business. We are sorry you have left the business feeling this way but wish you the very best for your future.

    Continue reading
  4. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Healthcare Research Worldwide

    Pros

    Good benefits Possible upward profession projection

    Cons

    Long working hours Management over-reach

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2018-07-10
  5. "Long hours, micromanagement, stress - not as nice as they seem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Executive 

    I worked at Healthcare Research Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dynamic young team Good opportunities to get involved with all parts if the project cycle Interesting clients and projects

    Cons

    Very long hours with poor pay Management has no regard for team members work / life balance office culture makes you feel guilty for needing to go home on time or taking holiday No benifits or bonuses for junior team Micromanagement is rampant Company rarely treats staff to team dinners / drinks. Blame culture Very high stress levels

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2016-04-01
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Healthcare Research Worldwide for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring environment, work to people's strengths, supportive, rest time allowed (and encouraged from top levels) after long days at fieldwork, fixed days set aside for proposal writing, effort made not to book in meetings over tasks like writing a discussion guide or report etc., flexible working hours and possibility to work from home, separate analytics team to support on Quant studies (great for managers who are more qual focused but still like quant) - open and clear communications across the company - overall really positive environment to work in :-) !

    Cons

    The Pharmaceutical Industry is a fast paced and challenging environment which can sometimes demand long working hours - it's the nature of the industry - HRW are the most supportive agency I've worked with to meet the challenges of the industry

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2015-06-23
  7. "The Bee's knees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analytics Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Healthcare Research Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's all about the personable feel and fantastic nurturing throughout the company for their employees. No matter what level of experience you are at, everyone has a voice at HRW and senior management actively encourage you to do so which helps develop and maintain a creative, intelligent, motivated workforce. Then there is obviously the continual drive for innovation and creativity which is just intrinsic to the company culture. Never happy to sit on what they have achieved or wait for the rest of the market to explore new offerings, HRW run self funded research on an ongoing basis to explore the cutting edge and sometimes experimental methodologies and technologies to see how they could be integrated to provide richer, more engaging research. A key beauty about HRW is also that they fine tune their staff to make sure they are tapping into the full might of one's potential. Not only does that provide the individual with a sense of self actualization, but in turn is far healthier for the company where people with the strongest specialized skills are able to pump it right back into the company through personal contribution and dissemination of these skills to all others interested.

    Cons

    I guess the only drawbacks are that it can get hectic at certain points of the year with a lot of work coming in and non-project related activities and developments constantly going on. You have to be switched on, hard working and dedicated to cope with that, but the company culture, affable social vibe and reward channels are more than enough to make it more than worth your while.

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2015-06-15
  8. "A hard-working an innovative culture, with management who genuinely care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Healthcare Research Worldwide

    Pros

    I don't believe there is another agency in this field who values and develops individual employees the way HRW does. The culture of strengths-based working and promotion on merit mean that there is huge potential for individualised development and growth (proven by my personal experience!); and the innovative and inclusive culture means that any level of employee is welcome to suggest and test new ways of working. The expectations of quality outputs here are high, but are universally met by a very intelligent and pleasant group of researchers, who work together in a very cohesive and supportive way. Despite being smaller than some companies, HRW has a lot of clout due to links to parent company MMR, and an reputation for providing thoughtful and meaningful insights to clients. It is also wonderful working for a growing company, which is managing to retain it's personality and culture despite the opening of new offices and the bursts of new joiners.

    Cons

    The UK office environments leaves something to be desired, despite great locations.

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2015-03-27
  9. "I feel so lucky to work for HRW!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Healthcare Research Worldwide

    Pros

    An extremely intelligent, hard-working team that truly looks out for each other. I truly love spending time at work. Promotions are merit-based, and there are real opportunities to grow and develop at your own pace, as well as get involved in things that really interest you. The working environment is motivating, innovative, dynamic, strengths-based, team-focused, and there is always a sense that you're moving forward. Market research by it's nature can be demanding, with long hours being an inevitable part of the job, but HRW places huge emphasis on a good work/life balance, and there are always opportunities to recoup time after long days - and this is constantly reinforced by senior management.

    Cons

    I have nothing but good things to say about HRW. Friends at other companies (and in the same industry) do not have nearly the same feelings on their companies as I do about mine.

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2015-02-27
  10. "A privilege to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Healthcare Research Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    HRW offers new starters (and new-comers to market research as I was when I joined) a truly excellent support network, brilliant training, management and opportunities to progress. Promotions are assessed on a case-by-case basis, with people promoted on merit. The atmosphere in the company is friendly, fun, supportive but the team also challenge each other and are truly passionate to produce the highest quality work possible. There is a strong emphasis on ensuring that resource is well-managed and individuals are able to work relatively flexibly after periods of working long hours (as is inevitable with market research). I genuinely love working for HRW - the company has set a precedent which will make it very hard to ever want to leave!

    Cons

    It's genuinely hard to think of the drawbacks of working at HRW - all reports I've heard about working for other market research companies suggest that the environment here is second to none!

    Continue reading
    Healthcare Research Worldwide2015-02-27
Found 11 reviews