Healthy Directions Reviews | Glassdoor

Healthy Directions Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Ben Teicher
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "work life balance, coworkers, learning opportunities from other departments are good(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great people enjoyed coming in every day(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Job security for new employees is very low(in 3 reviews)

  • "Tired, old office space (but moving to new office at the end of the year)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Healthy Directions full-time

    Pros

    Great people enjoyed coming in every day

    Cons

    None I have nothing negative to say

    Advice to Management

    None

    Healthy Directions2018-11-04
  2. "Great work emnvironment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Healthy Directions full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, great company culture

    Cons

    Not as diverse as I would like it to be

    Healthy Directions2019-03-05
  3. "Management thinks it is always right."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Healthy Directions full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are great to work with at HD. The benefits are fair.

    Cons

    The new owners are mostly hands off. Management really does not have a handle on what the staff does. Does not really care for disagreement. And manage more by edict than is wise. The approach to business solutions is the watch every dollar spent on minor stuff but they do not seem to go through true upfront requirements and definitions of what a success would be and do not do any true ROI analysis for systems and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't be scared to be wrong. Don't think that you know everything. These are limiting views and will kill you in the end. I hope the new owners get a handle on this.

    Healthy Directions2018-11-27
  4. "Nice, not perfect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Healthy Directions full-time

    Pros

    The people are nice. The office space is nice. The culture is great; people are very passionate about the business.

    Cons

    Pay is mediocre. People have a problem resetting expectations or adapting to changes. Lack of advancement opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent.

    Healthy Directions2018-09-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good People Good JOb"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Associate in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Healthy Directions full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    work life balance, coworkers, learning opportunities from other departments are good

    Cons

    Because it is a smaller company growth opportunity is more difficult.

    Healthy Directions2018-08-07
  6. "Healthy Directions Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Healthy Directions full-time

    Pros

    Nicely decorated and cheerful offices

    Cons

    The leadership team is not strategic

    Healthy Directions2018-06-28
  7. "Good Company Under Much Better Ownership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Healthy Directions full-time

    Pros

    Good mission and a company that walks their talk. With guidance from our new owners, the company is beginning to make much smarter decisions--cutting out unprofitable efforts and focusing on things that will move the dial forward. Our new owners are willing to invest to grow, allow for calculated risk taking and learning, without expecting everything to work the first time, and stand back and evaluate profitability and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication could be stronger--there should be more global sharing between departments; not just in smaller meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Current management needs to interact with and really listen to employees at all levels. There's too much talking in the executive room--and not enough collaborating and taking advantage of the expertise of employees at all levels.

    Healthy Directions2018-05-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Company has had it's up's and down's...this is a up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Healthy Directions full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great people Good leadership NOT associated with Helen of Troy ANYMORE

    Cons

    Trying to find themselves in a digital age

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Healthy Directions2018-04-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Healthy Directions full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Free products from customer returns; flexible hours for some employees; they try to engage employees with healthy events

    Cons

    Company is failing, just had big layoffs and was sold in December (75% less than it was sold for 3 years earlier). No growth opportunities. The marketing leaders that have been there for years don't seem to know how to move the company forward. They rolled out several reorgs and each time it gets worse and worse. Need better leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in someone who knows how to market to online customers and are able to move the company forward, not stuck in the past from 10 or 15 years ago. Quit laying off your best employees!

    Healthy Directions2018-05-05
  10. "Not a company who cares about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ex Director in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Healthy Directions full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good salary if you've been with the company a long time

    Cons

    Extremely low employee morale; no respect for employee opinions; years of hard work isn't recognized; recent layoff they got rid of so many fantastic employees.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with more respect. I realize a company needs to make money but you do so at the expense of your employees. There's no respect whatsoever.

    Healthy Directions2018-05-02
Found 54 reviews