Healthy Living Market Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
30%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Healthy Living Market Founder & Owner Katy Lesser (no image)
Katy Lesser
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "The angel food program and discounts were really great(in 12 reviews)

  • "some really nice coworkers, some good free food, and a select few really nice customers as well(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "HR works for upper management company, not for the individual(in 11 reviews)

  • "20 stop payment fee because HL forgot to hand me my check(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place

      Nov 3, 2020 - Beer and Wine Buyer in Burlington, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's room for career growth

      Cons

      The store is always open so you get almost no holidays off

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent job

      Feb 9, 2021 - Student in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Healthy living is a decent job and they pay you adequately.

      Cons

      Healthy living has some rude customers but the managers try to handle them without belittling the workers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Work here

      Nov 2, 2020 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved my coworkers and the company

      Cons

      Deal with some rude people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Do not recommend

      Oct 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent staff working hard and supporting each other and the store.

      Cons

      Everything to do with leadership. Owners are clueless about how to treat employees and should have no role in managing them.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company, Serious Workers` Rights Abuses

      Jun 6, 2020 - Dishwasher in South Burlington, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Facilities, Services And Products

      Cons

      Very Sinister Worker`s Rights Crisis

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Vibe, Better People

      Apr 30, 2020 - Bakery Manager in Saratoga Springs, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started with the company in 2013 with the opening of the Saratoga Springs location. Over my 5+ years of employment I saw a lot of changes, but one thing always remained the same: the environment and people. Both the people that shop there and the employees are on another level. Sure, there were bad apples but no place is perfect. After being away from there for over a year and a half, I can honestly tell you that I miss the people the most. Its a special place. There is a good amount of turnover because, well, its a grocery store at the end of the day. Sometimes upper management can be difficult. I worked hard, long hours (mostly by my own choosing) but it was rewarding and I was sad to go. I moved on to take a position in the west coast and have zero regrets leaving but HL will always have a warm place in my heart. The vibe in the store is like nothing I have encountered in my extensive travels out west. The product selection is fabulous. I always make it a point to stock up on essential items when I go back east. Service is always top notch. Katy built an empire and she is someone to truly admire as a woman in business. The store offers great benefits packages and very competitive pay. They hold their staff to a strict standard of excellence but I commend that. It would simply not be the company that it is without those standards. I consider my time there a paid education and who could complain about that!

      Cons

      It is a medium size company. They have had growing pains. I can say from experience that their ducks were not in a row when they expanded to the second store. I am however, proud to see that that have learned from a lot of those mistakes. Structure has changed significantly over the years and that can be a hard pill to swallow for those who knew what it once was, but it is part of growth and evolution. There is also just not enough room for upward growth. Once you reach the point that I did, I basically had no where to go except my boss' (the category manager) job. The other major issue I had was communication. Sometimes things just came down the line in all the wrong ways...or just not at all.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great store and staff. Horrible people with no values running it

      Aug 22, 2020 - Prefer Not to Say 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great products with 20% discount Fun staff Great AC in the summer

      Cons

      Pay is horrible You will not be respected as a human or individual at all while constantly being kicked around by rude guests. Owners act like they know everything but are completely clueless and continue to hire and put incompetent people into position of authority.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Better at Trader Joe’s

      Mar 9, 2020 - Stocker in South Burlington, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is on the bus line. Free expired food.

      Cons

      FWIW- most of the people in the pictures for this company have left to work for Trader Joe’s. It’s also hard to feel good about HL commitment to sustainability when the owners are such blatant consumer pigs. Car collections, Chevy suburban daily ride, private planes, they still use disposable water bottles.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No appreciation

      Feb 3, 2020 - Staff in Burlington, VT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits is the best part

      Cons

      Upper management lacks employee appreciation. Owners will shop in the store and not say hello to staff members working around them. Human Resources makes biased opinions and there is a strong since of favoritism between staff and upper management. Upper management is quick when discipline is involved but does not recognize/appreciate staff when deserved.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      run like a social club, not a business

      Oct 31, 2019 - Grocery Stocker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      some really nice coworkers, some good free food, and a select few really nice customers as well

      Cons

      pay is horrible, management only enforces the rules if they don't like you. if you are liked, you can show up drunk, be openly racist, be all kind of unprofessional, and no one cares. also there are a lot of creepy, sexual harassing dudes there, and the only ones who face disciplinary action are black.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 English Reviews

    Work at Healthy Living Market? Share Your Experiences

    Healthy Living Market logo
    or