Heart English School Reviews | Glassdoor

Heart English School Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.7
3%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "They leave you alone for the most part and are very nice if you forgot to send them something(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 13 reviews)

  • "Pay is low (No summer holiday pay, no paid holiday and weekend, no paid sick leave); you are only getting paid if you are in school(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Low Pay but Nice Area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head English Teacher in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Heart English School full-time

    Pros

    Countryside, nice students , safe area

    Cons

    low salary, low-level students, principals constantly change

    Continue reading
    Heart English School2019-10-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Never work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ALT in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Heart English School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None whatsoever....the companies lies about available positions. They say they have jobs for you...but they dont tell you its only if a current ALT leaves! So, You never have work-ever! They make you do multiple Skype interviews. Fill out insane amounts of paper work. Then, you have to get a medical check up at your expense!

    Cons

    All of them...half the people in orientation where from non-English speaking countries and could not even pronounce basic words in English

    Continue reading
    Heart English School2019-11-26
  3. "AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ALT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Heart English School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    can get you in Japan in no time

    Cons

    low pay low salary no benefit

    Heart English School2019-10-04
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Only if you’re rich and desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - ALT in Ibaraki
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Heart English School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will give you a visa promptly. They will also help set up housing and a car for you. All you have to do is sign. They leave you alone for the most part and are very nice if you forgot to send them something.

    Cons

    They won’t help with anything after you sign the paperwork. No reimbursement for traveling, gas, insurance, plane ticket, and bonuses. They will not help you sign up for a phone, Internet, and they will not help you figure out how to pay for your water, gas, and electricity. You will also have to survive the first two months without a paycheck as well as August, September and January because you will not get paid. You only get paid if you work. Also you have to watch out because they may give you extra work that is “mandatory”. For example, after school activities such as plays, sporting events, speeches, and performances. You will not be compensated for these. They call their salary a semi full time position. It’s a way to get out of paying full time benefits. There are also no get togethers with other ALT’s other than when we have meetings. Lack of training is another concern. We had just two days of “training”. We just learned about basic teaching techniques. We practiced a couple times and that was it.

    Continue reading
    Heart English School2019-08-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Heart English School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Will you working visa to Japan

    Cons

    will write soon still waiting for responses

    Heart English School2019-07-18
  6. "Working in a School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Library 

    I worked at Heart English School part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with young people and doing book club

    Cons

    No Money to buy books

    Heart English School2019-06-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "MEAGER SALARY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Language Teacher in Ibaraki
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Heart English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Less Micromanaging by the company.

    Cons

    Really Low salary especially during 1st Month ,August which has 0 and other months that has lots of vacations or holidays. NO WORK - NO PAY

    Continue reading
    Heart English School2019-02-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Easy to get hired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Assistant Language Teacher in Ibaraki
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Heart English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Will hire anyone Easy way to get into Japan

    Cons

    Lack of support settling into Japan Training is unpaid No pay during summer and winter vacation Lack of communication between the school and ALT

    Continue reading
    Heart English School2018-12-26
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Applicant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heart English School for less than a year

    Pros

    They will contact all applicants because they have to

    Cons

    No transportation pay, no training ( 3 days!) pays less than Social Welfare

    Continue reading
    Heart English School2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (7)

    "This Company is Scum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ALT in Ibaraki
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Heart English School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They will get you to Japan. They'll hire you even if your English isn't fluent.

    Cons

    This company seriously has no benefits, unless you are extremely desperate to get to Japan. Go apply for Interac. They will charge you for every little thing, and take it right out of your paycheck. I made the mistake of getting an apartment through them, they conveniently didn't tell me that they would charge me an additional 20,000 yen EVERY MONTH just because they "helped" me find the place. One of my fellow teachers has another apartment that is 2 bedrooms, but it's just her living there alone. They don't shop around for the cheapest apartments, they just give you what's available. They refuse to let her move, and just keep charging her extra for what she doesn't need or want. They don't give paid time off. They charge the school district for worked days even when you don't work, and say we get paid for days off. They lie to the school district about how they treat their employees. The "training/orientation" is a huge unpaid waste of time. Most of my training was spent listening to Kent (the senior teacher) ramble and complain about his personal life, and how he wished he had stayed in the U.S. to pursue an acting career. Very 'greasy car salesman' vibe. THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT THEIR FOREIGN EMPLOYEES AND THEY WILL TREAT YOU ACCORDINGLY. RUN FAR AWAY.

    Continue reading
    Heart English School2018-12-19
Found 49 reviews