Cover image for Heartland Dental
Logo
See All Photos

Heartland Dental

Heartland Dental

Add a Review

Heartland Dental Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,754 of over 2K reviews
3.6
70% Recommend to a Friend
Heartland Dental President and Chief Executive Officer Pat Bauer
84% Approve of CEO

Found 1,757 of over 2K reviews

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental President and Chief Executive Officer Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
1,000 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

85.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Heartland Dental~196086
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Heartland Dental offers great benefits and hours and are always willing to go the extra mile to be sure you are supported and appreciated!(in 120 reviews)
  • "Heartland has great training and CE offerings.(in 57 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and commitment to personal and professional growth(in 57 reviews)
  • "They have great doctors and team members(in 42 reviews)
  • "Growth Opportunities (Professionally and Personally)(in 36 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Heartland Dental and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years
    Featured Review

    Great Place to Work

    Jan 7, 2022 - Regional Manager of Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked for private practice and other DSO's, but this place takes the cake. I've been with the company almost 10 years and still love what I do. The opportunity to grow is continual and the culture is outstanding. I'm not saying all 10 years have been easy, but the ones who made it miserable didn't last long. The company truly does care about their employees. While it's unrealistic to think you'll never get a poor manager/doctor/team member/etc., the company uses an array of resources for you to reach out if it becomes unbearable. I've been under some poor management while employed here, but most of those individuals are gone and I'm still here. It's comforting to know the company has your back and truly wants to employ NICE people. The region I'm in now is absolutely amazing and I plan on being here at least another 10 years.

    Cons

    We have a competitive benefits package, but I wish we had matching 401k. The doctors have a great opportunity for investment, so I'd like to see something better for the individuals who've been here awhile and want to stay.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent patient care

    Nov 8, 2022 - Registered Dental Hygienist, RDH 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent pay and work environment

    Cons

    Appointment time short for the tasks needed to complete.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Heartland Dental Response

    HR

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience as a Heartland Dental team member. Thank you for helping patients get the care they need, we appreciate you!

  3. Join the Heartland Dental team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A tragic way to end a career

    Nov 13, 2022 - Business Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of posiitions available if you want to learn corporate.

    Cons

    Corporate mentality. All about numbers and meeting challenges that prevent quality patient care. Hire inept doctors that that do substandard work and diagnose unnecessary treatment to get production, and work crazy long days so you can get some kind of little treat. -A goodie box or tiny bonus.... Unless of course you're a provider. Watching endless hours of modules. Lack of training. Lack of IT support. Hiring friends with NO experience. PMO NEVER there. I was with a private practice for 13 years that sold to HD. Most the staff members had all been with this doctor for minimum of 5 years. A few of us 13+. HD took this multimillion dollar practice and ran it into the ground. One original staff remains. Even the doctor bailed. They promised so much to all of us and zero delivery. WORST practice manager I've ever experienced in my 30 years of dentistry. I have patients contacting me personally desperate for advice on how to get their records, and where they should go for care. I never imagined that I would have to retire early due to all the stress that HD created in my life. All I can say is, if your practice is purchased by Heartland Dental…run for the hills.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Heartland Dental Response

    HR

    We take feedback like yours seriously and are disappointed that your experience didn’t meet your expectations. If you're comfortable, please reach out to experience@heartland.com to continue the conversation.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    General overview

    Dec 7, 2022 - EDDA 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have improved employee work place Medical Ins can be expensive for family but coverage is good.

    Cons

    Sick days would be nice Hourly pay needs to be increased across the board due to cost of living has increased so much.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Typical Corporate Circus

    Sep 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free continuing education Free WiFi Everything else is mediocre, at best

    Cons

    Super Corporate structure, no one listens to the little guy if it means rocking the boat with a doctor. (Never even a slap on the wrist for proven unprofessional conduct). Highly production focused - teams are incentivized with monetary bonuses to achieve minimum "baselines" of high end treatments such as Invisalign, crowns and SRP with 2 day "challenges". Doesn't leave much room for QUALITY patient care since this pressures every exam into converted treatment. Don't bother packing lunch, there's no time to eat it. Workload expectations are highly unrealistic and the doctors couldn't care less, they just want more conversions so they can go to Mexico for "free" (off the backs of their teams who get nothing in return). Long gone are the days of collegial respect in the field of Dentistry - and Heartland is surely paving the way to a new era of greedy practitioners running turn and burn sweatshops.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Heartland Dental Response

    HR

    We appreciate your feedback, but we're concerned that it doesn't align with Heartland Dental’s mission, vision, and core values. Please reach out directly to experience@heartland.com to discuss further.

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Big layoffs

    Dec 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Do well with the doctors and hygienists hired. They treat both of them very well and have excellent training

    Cons

    The support side (recruiting, operations etc) just saw a bunch of big surprise layoffs out of the blue. No indication the company was struggling or anything. You’ll hear how they are all a “family” but it turns out it’s just another case of corporate greed where they layoff a bunch of workers to save a quick buck.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great organization!

    Dec 7, 2022 - Retired 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They continue to serve patients and teams through this dramatically changing world.

    Cons

    Economic challenges create an environment where tough decisions must be made.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent

    Dec 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee