Heartland Express Reviews | Glassdoor

Heartland Express Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Express Chairman & CEO Michael Gerdin
Michael Gerdin
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Home time seems not on issue when requested(in 17 reviews)

  • "Had the best dispatcher in the office I bet(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I had several moments that I had to threaten to leave the truck to get home, because they wouldn't meet my home time requests(in 17 reviews)

  • "That was because I had appointments, but I still had to hound the dispatch about it(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Best job I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm on a dedicated fleet and the pay is very competitive. Dispatch does their best to keep me busy and I am treated with respect.

    Cons

    Because it's a large company, there is extra Paperwork and formalities to deal with. But it's nothing unmanageable.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-05-10

    Heartland Express Response

    May 20, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review and time with us! We appreciate your insight and are glad to hear you're happy here.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Team driver OTR 48 states"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great cpm, knowledgable driver managers, newer trucks. Home time seems not on issue when requested.

    Cons

    Trucks are gutted with bare minimum features, drivers are not friendly with each other, nobody waves its weird, miles aren’t consistent, as a team we get on average 4000-4500 miles a week, when we do get 6000 miles one week we seem to get 3000 the week after. 64 mph trucks.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-04-29

    Heartland Express Response

    May 20, 2019Marketing Manager

    We greatly appreciate your efforts and your time devoted to write us a review. All suggestions go directly to Senior Management for review so it's important that we have current Drivers like yourself sharing your perspective with us. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  3. "Heartless Express"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice terminals. Showers could be cleaner

    Cons

    Low miles, low pay. Because of Heartless, I am now single. They can't get you home. I asked to be home last Wednesday, Feb. 12. It's now Monday, Feb. 17 and I won't get home until tomorrow. They totally dropped the ball. I had plans for Valentine's day, but now I'm single because of them. They have only gotten me home on time twice since working here. That was because I had appointments, but I still had to hound the dispatch about it. Definitely not a family oriented company. Too much down time when out on the road. Definitely looking for something better. Stay away from this company

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2020-02-18
  4. "Micro management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, well maintained trucks and fair amount of professionalism. Driver lounges are well maintained.

    Cons

    Speed controlled by idle time and top speed of 65. A good amount of night driving. They have several toll roads that you can't take. The routes are planned for you and very little freedom to move on your terms. Split shift driving. They care more about moving freight, than getting you home... I had several moments that I had to threaten to leave the truck to get home, because they wouldn't meet my home time requests. There's always a late night/loud TV listener in the driver's lounge.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2020-01-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had the best dispatcher in the office I bet . Gave the easiest drop offs except from time to time . Guarentee on home time (every weekend ) even some days of the week

    Cons

    The pay if you could pick up and drop off the same day u should get paid a bit extra.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-10-28
  6. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Wilsonville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treats employees very well

    Cons

    Could use more driving miles when already out.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-10-22
  7. "Overall a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am currently on a dedicated fleet. So home time is predicable and miles are good. OTR coverage is good. Focused on getting moving again ASAP.

    Cons

    Weekend and after hours DM coverage is thin, overworked, often uninformed, generally unable or unwilling to make a decision. Weather shutdowns are inconsistent and poorly followed up for release.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-05-01

    Heartland Express Response

    May 20, 2019Marketing Manager

    Thank you very much for your feedback and insight. We are always interested in learning how we can improve and grow for all of our Drivers!

    Continue reading
  8. "Heartland is a very good and fair company to Drive for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Truck Driver in Wilsonville, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We enjoy working with our Team Dispatchers and Planners; Julie and Roger. They take great care of us getting us the miles we seek and when we need to get home, we know we can count on them to get us there on time. We are set up weekly with consistent team runs so we know our paychecks will be reliable week after week.

    Cons

    We understand the need to run a tight ship to be profitable but often times we get stuck having to look for empty trailers for our next load, so it would benefit us as Drivers to have just a few extra trailers.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-04-25

    Heartland Express Response

    May 20, 2019Marketing Manager

    Your feedback is extremely valuable to the entire team here at Heartland so thank you for providing us a detailed review! We are aware of the current trailer inconvenience so the team is working diligently to develop a more efficient system. We greatly appreciate your patience during the process.

    Continue reading
  9. "Review of Heartland Express Inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally good miles, with decent pay. Generally good about detention or layover pay.

    Cons

    Getting home for sometime is a challenge as often as not. Some of the yards have issues such as sink faucets not conducive to shaving, TVs with poor acoustics (too much echo). Bathrooms often out of t/p, no paper towels available, selections from vending machines are very limited. Haven't seen my 401k match this year. Empty trailers are often hard to locate (too few of them)

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-04-25
  10. "Not to bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Athens, TN

    I have been working at Heartland Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Friendly dispatchers. New equipment.

    Cons

    Good pay but miles are not steady or consistent. Insurance is a joke. Trucks are stripped to the bare minimum. Have to get truck in shop every 7,000 miles (for a team this is ridiculous).

    Continue reading
    Heartland Express2019-04-24
Viewing 1 - 10 of 248 Reviews