Heartland Hospice Reviews | Glassdoor

Heartland Hospice Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Hospice CEO  (no image)
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "The field staff I work with are wonderful(in 8 reviews)

  • "Heartland hospice did what it took to assure that the comfort and dignity of a person end of life was the best that it could be(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Hospice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Felixible caring environment edith all the soft you need to do a though job.

    Cons

    Lots of hours.

    Heartland Hospice2019-09-03
  2. "Heartland Hospice is the best company I have ever worked for. would not work anywhere else!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Case Manager 

    I have been working at Heartland Hospice full-time

    Pros

    Caring,compassionate, fair,excellent benefits,excellent employees. This is the best hospice in our area

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here

    Heartland Hospice2019-10-18
  3. "Poor Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Green Bay, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Hospice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, good support, amazing medical directors.

    Cons

    Way too many hours to work. Expectation that staff should just keep working 10, 11,12 or more hours each day, especially with call.

    Heartland Hospice2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "RN Case Manager , Myrtle Beach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospice RN Case Manager in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Hospice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great money because lots and lots of call required.

    Cons

    Poor management, high turnover resulting in poor continuity of care. Administration only cares about getting more admissions instead of providing good care to existing patients.

    Advice to Management

    Stop bullying and berating staff.

    Heartland Hospice2019-10-03
  5. "Busy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Columbus, OH

    I worked at Heartland Hospice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a rewarding experience. My coworkers were nice

    Cons

    A lot of paperwork, high caseload. No time to complete paperwork due to caseload

    Heartland Hospice2019-09-16
  6. "Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - STNA in South Point, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Hospice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to know good people

    Cons

    Having to lose those people

    Advice to Management

    Get help staff makes a happy work life

    Heartland Hospice2019-08-29
  7. "Don't expect work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Bay City, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Hospice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can't really think of any

    Cons

    Demanding management, feeling badly for patients, lack of teamwork, just chasing medicare dollars, lack of certified staff

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees, they really want to do a good job, and it can't always be about money

    Heartland Hospice2019-10-01
  8. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Beltsville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Heartland Hospice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There was nothing positive

    Cons

    Toxic environment. Poor management

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive

    Heartland Hospice2019-10-01
  9. "So So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Liaison 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Hospice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great local office, with good leadership and full support.

    Cons

    Corporation does not value their employees and sees them as easily replaceable. From policy to appropriate support to the teams on the ground the company is severely lacking good vision and leadership, the bottom line is profit, even though the company is now a non-for profit.

    Heartland Hospice2019-08-19
  10. "Rewarding job. Stressful most of the time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Dayton, OH
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Hospice part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team really cares about our patients.

    Cons

    Office team is overworked, lack communication to field team.

    Heartland Hospice2019-08-09
Found 156 reviews