Heartland Payment Systems Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Payment Systems Chief Executive Officer Jeffrey S. Sloan (no image)
Jeffrey S. Sloan
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "HPS provides incredible business solutions to merchants worldwide (strategically partnered with Global Payment Systems who recently acquired HPS)(in 58 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is completely controlled by you(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "residuals only apply if the clients remain payroll customers, which is very unlikely(in 67 reviews)

  • "Merchants switch providers constantly and you are just another rep(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "For the right person, this can be a life changing opportunity!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to run it like it's your own business

    Cons

    Without proper and consistent activity, chances for success or low. Your ability to build out a trong referral network is key.

    Heartland Payment Systems2018-08-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not recommended"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Relationship Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known company sounded ok at first

    Cons

    Overbearing management, rude HR staff. Wanted me to go out in the community despite 'stay home' orders due to COVID 19. Micromanagement to the extreme. Disregarded my 25 years in Sales experience and wanted me to bully customers. Minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Payment Systems2020-05-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "poor leadership"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Division Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    can make good money if you are a recruiter and can figure things out on your own

    Cons

    bad leadership and trainers that don't care

    Continue reading
    Heartland Payment Systems2020-05-06
  4. "Relaxed environment but poor management/bad benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time

    Pros

    - Relaxed atmosphere - Decent pay

    Cons

    - Management is incompetent - Benefits are lacking

    Heartland Payment Systems2020-04-20
  5. "Used to be good to work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is decent. Co-workers care about each other.

    Cons

    Micromanagement under the guise of caring for employees, expected to learn too much. Changed policy from on site, relationship building training for customers to over the phone or videos only in the case of some products. Customers have been shifted from personalized treatment to the corporate drudgery of every other company.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Payment Systems2020-05-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pay lower than industry, work load higher"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the clients were nice sometimes.

    Cons

    management was horrible and inexperienced

    Heartland Payment Systems2020-04-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Exceeding my expectations"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Strategist in Edmond, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This team is incredible. Everyone is very friendly and hardworking and collaborative. I had never worked in a company where everyone truly believes they can make an impact and their voices are heard and respected until I came here. Leaders are transparent, honest, and open-minded. And they are very clear about expectations. If you're a sharp, talented, high achiever, we probably want to hire you right now. The company is growing nationwide, is very stable, provides awesome benefits and opportunity for advancement. Sounds cheesy, but I feel very at home at Heartland. No drama - everyone is truly trying to lift each other up for the good of the company and those we serve (especially small businesses that need technology systems and services.)

    Cons

    Not great for people who don't like a fast-paced, ever-changing, high-accountability environment or for anyone who isn't self-motivated. But they were honest about that in my interview - you'll be trusted to just get out there and do your best work every day. Lots of eyes on how you're contributing, but no hand-holding or micromanaging if you're used to that. (This is not usually a con for people who are "doers.")

    Heartland Payment Systems2020-02-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Run, don't walk"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lifetime residuals. Decent health insurance benefits.

    Cons

    No management support. Technology is not current. Behind the competitors. Poor customer service. Extremely high turnover.

    Continue reading
    Heartland Payment Systems2020-03-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Commission"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule Flexibility due to commission based work

    Cons

    No pay for your time and efforts if you have a slow month.

    Heartland Payment Systems2020-02-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ok if you like living paycheck to paycheck"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to plan your schedule

    Cons

    100% commission, no onboarding pay while training. You have to make hundreds of phone calls to book your appointments.

    Heartland Payment Systems2020-02-04
Found 742 reviews