Heartland Payment Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Heartland Payment Systems Reviews

Updated February 20, 2018
603 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jeffrey S. Sloan
2 Ratings

603 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good Work Life Balance; Nice Package (in 24 reviews)

  • Work from home, offers flexibility and ability to earn residual income ans signing bonus (not found in many industries) (in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • Con for most people is that it is 100% commission and starting without a book of business (in 27 reviews)

  • The profits to the sales force became smaller because Managment claimed our cost had increased (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good Place to work, good people

    Cons

    Small organization with limited upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thanks for leaving the great review, and mentioning the opportunity that is provided at Heartland.


  2. "Payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll
    Current Employee - Payroll
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Performance based compensation, you get what you put into it...good company culture

    Cons

    A little too informal ?

    Advice to Management

    Invest in a super bowl ad to get the name out there

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 21, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    We are so glad to hear you are happy. Thank you for the 5 star review and advice.

  3. "Love this company for what it does."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This company has given me everything I desire and more!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any.

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 19, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you!


  4. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance; Nice Package

    Cons

    No NO NO NO NO

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for the wonderful review. You're right, work life balance is a plus!


  5. "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Comp plan is rewarding, with vested residuals and signing bonuses. If you're good, you can make serious long-term money.

    Cons

    Comp is strictly performance based, and there are no leads. This is not an entry level gig for most candidates.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring mediocre reps. Keep rewarding top performers. Protect the brand before worrying about expanding headcount.

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! You couldn't be more right when you speak on the opportunity that Heartland provides.


  6. "So happy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I can't speak to other office locations, but the national sales office in Oklahoma City is great! Comfortable, casual environment and as long as you're making numbers they'll pretty much leave you alone to do your thing. Very few people were making more than about $60-$70K at my previous employer. Here, very few people are making less than $100K.

    Cons

    You eat what you kill. That can be intimidating for some people, but if you understand inside sales you'll do well here. It's a place for pros - no amateurs need apply!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on rocking. Focus your recruiting on people who have a proven track record in other industries.

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for the 5 star review and great feedback!


  7. "National Account Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Onsite amenities, fair pay, job security

    Cons

    Too many dead weight employees who management will not fire. No lower level employees understand how things work below surface level or care to learn ("I press the button because they told me to press the button").

    Advice to Management

    Learn to truly evaluate your talent and dispose of those who don't keep up.

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    We appreciate the feedback. Thanks, have a great day.

  8. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Payment Systems (More than a year)

    Pros

    none that I can think of

    Cons

    nothing in the first 90 days

    Advice to Management

    all employees should get benefits from the first day

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    Thanks for leaving a review, great to hear your recommendation regarding benefits.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Relationship Manager - Field Based"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Kailua Kona, HI
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Kailua Kona, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent compensation on accounts when properly and finally attained

    Cons

    Deplorable training and often inaccessible direct management

    Advice to Management

    Invest in formal training as opposed to self-directed. Those new to electronic payment equipment and related marketing products will make needless and costly mistakes as a result leading to lower productivity, decreases in morale, and negative confidence. Trial by fire learning is not a 21st century approach that leads to long-term loyalty/employment. Additionally, an accessible direct supervisor will ensure that large contracts are properly priced and implemented without months of corrections and delays.


  10. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Plano, TX
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Payment Systems full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Management doesn't come out of their offices to interact with the employeess

    Advice to Management

    focus on a strategy

    Heartland Payment Systems Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Social Media Strategist

    We are happy to hear that you enjoy your co-workers, and thank you for bringing the Management recommendation to our attention.


Showing 603 of 613 reviews
Reset Filters