KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Heartland Payment Systems

Engaged Employer

Heartland Payment Systems

Add a Review

Heartland Payment Systems Employee Reviews about "merchants"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 of over 975 reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Payment Systems Chief Executive Officer Jeffrey S. Sloan (no image)
Jeffrey S. Sloan
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "They do have some good programs for merchants(in 58 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is completely controlled by you(in 44 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "residuals only apply if the clients remain payroll customers, which is very unlikely(in 70 reviews)

  • "High PCI non-compliance fees for merchants(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    891

    87 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Heartland Payment Systems and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "merchants"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great company

      Jan 12, 2019 - Relationship Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HPS is the most reputable comp-any I have ever worked for

      Cons

      Merchant Services Industry sometimes has na bad reputation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Find another option

      Jun 29, 2020 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management comes across caring in corporate meetings

      Cons

      100% commission and you have to sell your ___ off to make any money - literally. It doesn't matter what you sell only what gets installed and when the merchant start processing an "average" ticket. I have to sell an insane amount in order to make even 5k a month. Incredibly stressful especially in the current COVID environment where businesses are just starting to open and many have gone out of business. Heartland goes after big businesses - multi-site locations. That is the only way you will make money. No micro merchants or businesses that make even 100k -150k a year - you won't make hardly anything on that type of sale. This is an exhausting experience. It only matters that you sell but this seems to be how corporations functions in general. Not asking for a free ride just fairness for my hard work.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cult like atmosphere

      Jan 20, 2021 - Relationship Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do have some good programs for merchants

      Cons

      Cult like atmosphere. It’s like working a multi-level marketing scheme. No support. Don’t care about employees. They churn people.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Solid and Consistent

      Sep 1, 2020 - Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great training, good incentives, consistent growth in technology

      Cons

      High PCI non-compliance fees for merchants

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      READ WHAT I WROTE/ KEEP AWAY AS FAR AS POSSIBLE

      Apr 4, 2019 - Relationship Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You learn for the rest of your life not to take a job that is W2, but 100% commission. Either you go 1099 and you are your own boss, or you are W2 so you do have a boss, but you are paid a salary to have a boss. 2. Good life experience to learn what not to do to yourself.

      Cons

      Do yourself a favor and keep as far away as possible from Heartland as possible. I tried to put together an organized way to summarize to make it easier for you. Things got drastically worse since they got bought out by Global, especially the HR part. All the positive reviews on this website about Heartland are usually from salaried people who get there fix paychecks on time and sit in a nice office. Not from the sales team like I was at. Hiring process: 1. Heartland found a legal loophole: It is 100% commission job, and they do your W2 and tax deductions, but they do not even pay you minimum wage. 2. They are not honest with you when hiring. turnover is so huge, that they have to hire on almost anybody, and they will tell you a beautiful story that is simply not true. 3. You will not succeed unless you have real experience already in merchant services, and a big book of business and connections and a network and a pipeline. They do not tell you that either. 4. One time a hiring supervisor called me from a totally different state to ask about a person who named me as a reference for the job interview. We started talking later on and he told me that while he was a relationship manger, he lost 20 K (20 Thousand) dollars of his savings while his wife was working, until he built enough connections that he was able to start turning things around with his residuals building up. I told him that from now on he should tell that honestly to people who he interviews and hires, that they can expect to lose 20K of their savings before they are able to “turn things around”, as most people just cannot afford that. I was obviously not told that wither when I was hired. On boarding: 1. So you get your offer at Heartland and you are starting on Friday and you quit your old job. You think you have a job??? No!!! for 2 weeks, you are not even legally hired. You need to set up 10 appointments. If you do not manage that, you do not have a job. They don't tell you, but they will send you a 400 dollar check for that 2 weeks either way. 2. My boss was more interested to doing his real estate business than coming to my 10 appointments, super unprofessional. At least they let him go a few months later. Benefits: 1. Benefits only start after 90 days for sales employees, but the regular employees in the offices who are on a nice base salary get it after 30 days. Very very sad.... 2. Sales employees do NOT get short term disability insurance, office employees do 3. not great health insurance anyways 4. When I was there, NO ROTH 401k option was offered, they just changed that recently There Payroll and HR for their employees: 1. - Truly sucks!!!! 2. - I moved so I changed my address in their HR system during my hiring process. But Heartland has a lot of problems with "feeding over data" , if you change your address at one spot in Heartland, don't expect that info to reach Payroll, 401k, or Health insurance providers . etc.. 3. -This "feeding over" is constantly a problem at Heartland. That is also what happened when I signed up for the 401K, and because It did not feed over I lost the employer match of my first eligible paycheck. 4. -Another example was when I never got the email to fill out the direct deposit form and they were sending my checks to the wrong place. The HR department takes weeks to get back with you, simply because payroll and HR is run by Global. 5. - Whole Sales Team has the HIGHEST TURNOVER IN THE INDUSTRY, SO OBVIOUSLY FOR THE PAYROLL HR PEOPLE ARE HARD TO KEEP UP WITH IT 6. - I cancelled my contribution to the Employee Stock Purchase Plan, but they still kept deducting. 7. -In one month they forgot to deduct the Health insurance, instead of fixing that next month they deduct double for the Employee Stock Purchase plan. 8. -Sometimes they expect you to pay business expenses from your own pocket, while you are on 100% commission anyways, no mileage reimbursement!! 9. - CONSTANT CHAOS WITH DIRECT DEPOSIT, HEALTH INSURANCE, 401K and EMPLOYEE STOCK PURCHASE PLAN Daily work: 1. LOT OF SALES PRESSURE WHEN YOU ARE ON 100 % COMMISSION. YOU HAVE A DAILY CALL WITH YOUR BOSS TO TELL HIM WHAT YOU DID THAT DAY. 2.NO LAPTOP OR PHONE PROVIDED, JUST A USELESS TABLET WITHOUT KEYBOARD. They will provide you with a sim card, but of course you have to buy the internet for it. Very sad.. -3.You need to use your own personal computer to get any real work done, cause the tablet provided by Heartland is completely useless. 4. CRM Atlas SUCKS TOO. COMPLETELY USELESS 5. I was told and yelled at multiple times for trying to reach out to fellow coworkers and team members. I was told that I can only talk to management up so to supervisors. So why don’t they want you to talk to others? You can figure that out yourself. 6. THE STRATEGY: They will hire on almost anybody because everybody will close a deal or two. (Family and Friends). After that you will leave Heartland as you are not making money. BUT: Since you are not vested, you will lose the residual income, while your supervisors will keep it and Heartland will keep it too and profit from the account. In worst case they got 10 contacts out of you from your first two weeks. 7. The very few people who are actually making any money will not tell you anything to help. 8. Bosses and those few people who are making it always have this disgusting little smile on their faces on any social event when the team meets, while measuring you up and thinking like “ How long will this guy last?” 9. One time a different supervisor called me from a totally different state to ask about a person who named me as a reference for the job interview. We started talking later on and he told me that while he was a relationship manger, he lost 20 K (20 Thousand) dollars of his savings while his wife was working, until he built enough connections that he was able to start turning things around with his residuals building up. I told him that from now on he should tell that honestly to people who he interviews and hires, that they can expect to lose 20K of their savings before they are able to “turn things around”, as most people just cannot afford that. 10. They have some warm leads, but they do not talk about it. They only give it to the favorite people. There is no set rules or transparency regarding who will receive it and what you need to do to achieving the status of getting leads. 11. The residual of 15% is very low, especially taking into consideration the facts that there is a long vesting period for owning the portfolio, no base salary and no warm leads. 12. The "signing bonus" is more of a loan, since you have to pay it back if they do not process enough. I could write a whole book, just do yourself a favor and keep as far as possible!!!!

      Continue reading
      41 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      This is the best career I have ever had and the opportunities here at Heartland are limitless!

      May 9, 2011 - Relationship Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The honesty and integrity of the company is unmatched in our industry today! The unlimited earning potential. Residual income that has portfolio equity at vesting. Long term financial security. The company truly cares about both the merchant and their sales people and it shows. Multiple product offerings. Technology leaders in all facets of the business. Sales support that can't be beat! Sales opportunities on every corner due to our rate structure (cost plus pricing) and our multiple product offerings. The E3 technology we offer. It is like working in one big family. The support is unlimited. Clear goals have been set and we know what is expected of us as sales people. The new training programs are the best I have ever seen. The sales methodologies and systems that the company now offers in training for the sales force is the best in the industry! I love the new direction in sales management! It is obvious that the company cares about their employees and our success.

      Cons

      It took the company too long to clear out the part time sales people that had been hired over the years. This has since been resolved and the current Team of sales professionals that I work with are much improved because of it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Opportunity as a Relationship Manager

      Sep 22, 2015 - Relationship Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heartland is a company of great integrity with a strong and rich culture. Heartland is the most honest and ethical company in the merchant services industry. They offer world-class services and products. Great compensation package. As an employee you will have the opportunity for unlimited earning potential. Nice balance between work and life. Work hard so you can play hard. Management always has your back and wants you to succeed. Tons of recognition and incentive programs to reward the individuals who bring value to the organization and deliver results. Lots of opportunities for advancement into a management role. Company is growing fast and is an innovator in technology.

      Cons

      There are no expense allowances, but you will have the ability to own your portfolio of business once you become vested with the company. Leads are only given to result driven performers, however there are no restrictions on where you can go to get your book of business. This is a 100% commission only job so you need to have a very strong work ethic. It is solely up to you on what you can make.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Too much stress.

      Oct 31, 2016 - Relationship Manager in Pelham, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Impressive company in not so impressive industry. They promote honesty and transparency in a dishonest business, which is cool. Met a lot of very nice people. I think the company tries to do what's right.

      Cons

      They sold themselves to me as a great place to make great money with a lot of freedom to make it happen. It is just too hard to make that money. Too many quotas and requirements and a lot of stress to make them. It seems like only the ones who have been selling merchant services for a while, either here or elsewhere, are making decent money. No base salary adds to the stress. When hired, I was told I would be making money and not worrying about making the minimums by the fourth month, but it is not happening often enough even now, many more months in. I liked that they have a system for success - 50 phone calls and face-to-face contacts a day didn't seem like that much originally - but it is really hard to keep up with it and everything else there is to do. You need a lot of small deals a month to keep afloat while the big deals are in the works but there is not enough time to do it all..

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Much better off after 2 years post Heartland!

      Jul 12, 2013 - Relationship Manager in North Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned about merchant services, good online training programs, good online information resources.

      Cons

      In a nutshell, they stole my residuals. I was let go because I didn't meet their draconian sales goals and no consideration was given for the area I live and work. It's a small town farming community in Northern CA and big business just does not exist here. I was told when I started with Heartland that it takes two years to build a good client base and I was willing to put the time and effort into that. But after finally signing some of our largest restaurants in town and a large RV sales 2 location business, I was told that my numbers were just not good enough and I was gone. No residuals at all. Don't let that happen to you. If you want to learn the business, work for them for a short time then look for a good company that pays good commission rates and lets you have control over the equipment you buy and sell to your merchants Heartland doesn't even allow you to purchase your own equipment and sell at a little profit. Also, look at their compensation...trust me you're better off taking little or nothing up front and getting 50 or 60 percent residual commission. Then make sure that you never lose those residuals no matter what. My current company even pays residuals to my heir (my daughter) in case of my death.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Know what you are getting in to!

      Apr 18, 2017 - Relationship Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heartland truly sets itself apart from other companies. Customer service is excellent, if all paperwork is in order, accounts can be converted very quickly through ipad enrollment. Atlas CRM tool can benefit you from a prospecting standpoint. You may do well if you can cut it, and find you are making good money, but you better be working all angles...referral partners, biz associations, networking, cold calling...haha! Good luck.

      Cons

      Wow. Know what industry you are getting into. You are selling a perceived commodity product in an extremely broken industry. Merchants switch providers constantly and you are just another rep. Do your best to convince them otherwise, preach the wholesome Heartland story, and they will tell you "that's what the last guy told me." Prep for constant rejection. Come out of the gate seeking referral partners immediately, demand help from TM or management. You will prospect and say "credit card processing" and eyes immediately glaze over. If you leave a proposal chances are they will leverage against current provider. You need to commit fully if you take job, just KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING INTO!!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Heartland Payment Systems Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Heartland Payment Systems? Share Your Experiences

    or