KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Heartland Payment Systems

Engaged Employer

Heartland Payment Systems

Add a Review

Heartland Payment Systems Employee Reviews about "residuals"

Updated Dec 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 of over 975 reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Payment Systems Chief Executive Officer Jeffrey S. Sloan (no image)
Jeffrey S. Sloan
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "They do have some good programs for merchants(in 58 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is completely controlled by you(in 44 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "residuals only apply if the clients remain payroll customers, which is very unlikely(in 70 reviews)

  • "High PCI non-compliance fees for merchants(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    891

    87 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Heartland Payment Systems and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "residuals"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't Be Fooled By The Negative Reviews...

      Jun 9, 2019 - Territory Sales Manager - Payroll in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top producers get rewarded here. If you sell, it is hard to beat the comp plan. Bonuses paid out within a week of the sale, monthly residuals paid out for life of the client, and those monthly residuals get vested and turn into 30X their face value. Work-life balance is completely controlled by you. You set your own schedule and can hit your targets in as little time as you decide, no office you have to "log" into every day. Heartland provides a foundation to sell but you can do whatever you want to obtain the sale and grow your book of business. (*as long as it's legal)

      Cons

      No expense account until you become a TM (Territory Manager). Not a good role if you do not know how to prospect for business.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid Commission Only Opportunity

      Dec 29, 2020 - Relationship Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Training and support. Great marketing materials.

      Cons

      Residual commission rate is low for the industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Be prepared to work and be patient to make money

      Aug 14, 2020 - Senior Product Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good flexibility, minimal micromanaging and quite a bit of freedom to run your business how you would like.

      Cons

      As the position is residual/bonus only, it can take a while to make good money. Training is primarily self taught with available resources. Be ready to set appointments to even get the job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      RUN! Total scam

      Sep 15, 2020 - Territory Manager/Senior Product Advisor in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Marketing spin is almost believable

      Cons

      Failing payroll systems + falsehoods regarding residuals

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      100% commission sales position

      Aug 24, 2020 - Senior Product Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heartland has uncapped commissions and residuals.

      Cons

      100% commission sales position with no sales leads.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Run, don't walk

      Mar 26, 2020 - Relationship Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lifetime residuals. Decent health insurance benefits.

      Cons

      No management support. Technology is not current. Behind the competitors. Poor customer service. Extremely high turnover.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don’t walk.... RUN away from this company!!

      Jan 16, 2020 - Payroll Specialist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, set own schedule

      Cons

      Terribly unstable payroll platform and poorly trained client support team. More concerned with adding new accounts instead of taking care of the ones who are already clients. Management/Leadership is laser focused on numbers instead of addressing sales and client concerns. Don’t drink the Koolaid you are offered during the interview. Even as a seasoned payroll sales rep, it is very difficult to sell a service that is far less robust and stable than its competitors. The “life-time” residuals only apply if the clients remain payroll customers, which is very unlikely.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great comp if you can sell

      Nov 16, 2019 - Product Senior Advisor in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are a consistent payroll rep, then 50% commission plus residuals is unmatched in the industry

      Cons

      No base salary, so be consistent or starve

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company overall for growing your income plus flexible schedule !

      Aug 28, 2019 - Relationship Manager in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good rewards through comp. plan, residuals, vesting and schedule is your own. Great income growth if able to meet and exceed minimums.

      Cons

      Window for new hires to get momentum to meet targets is steep. Same requirements for new hires and for seasoned sales people. Prior processor sales experience gives an extra head start to success. Already interested potential clients make a difference and an edge for longevity as a sales rep.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      READ WHAT I WROTE/ KEEP AWAY AS FAR AS POSSIBLE

      Apr 4, 2019 - Relationship Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You learn for the rest of your life not to take a job that is W2, but 100% commission. Either you go 1099 and you are your own boss, or you are W2 so you do have a boss, but you are paid a salary to have a boss. 2. Good life experience to learn what not to do to yourself.

      Cons

      Do yourself a favor and keep as far away as possible from Heartland as possible. I tried to put together an organized way to summarize to make it easier for you. Things got drastically worse since they got bought out by Global, especially the HR part. All the positive reviews on this website about Heartland are usually from salaried people who get there fix paychecks on time and sit in a nice office. Not from the sales team like I was at. Hiring process: 1. Heartland found a legal loophole: It is 100% commission job, and they do your W2 and tax deductions, but they do not even pay you minimum wage. 2. They are not honest with you when hiring. turnover is so huge, that they have to hire on almost anybody, and they will tell you a beautiful story that is simply not true. 3. You will not succeed unless you have real experience already in merchant services, and a big book of business and connections and a network and a pipeline. They do not tell you that either. 4. One time a hiring supervisor called me from a totally different state to ask about a person who named me as a reference for the job interview. We started talking later on and he told me that while he was a relationship manger, he lost 20 K (20 Thousand) dollars of his savings while his wife was working, until he built enough connections that he was able to start turning things around with his residuals building up. I told him that from now on he should tell that honestly to people who he interviews and hires, that they can expect to lose 20K of their savings before they are able to “turn things around”, as most people just cannot afford that. I was obviously not told that wither when I was hired. On boarding: 1. So you get your offer at Heartland and you are starting on Friday and you quit your old job. You think you have a job??? No!!! for 2 weeks, you are not even legally hired. You need to set up 10 appointments. If you do not manage that, you do not have a job. They don't tell you, but they will send you a 400 dollar check for that 2 weeks either way. 2. My boss was more interested to doing his real estate business than coming to my 10 appointments, super unprofessional. At least they let him go a few months later. Benefits: 1. Benefits only start after 90 days for sales employees, but the regular employees in the offices who are on a nice base salary get it after 30 days. Very very sad.... 2. Sales employees do NOT get short term disability insurance, office employees do 3. not great health insurance anyways 4. When I was there, NO ROTH 401k option was offered, they just changed that recently There Payroll and HR for their employees: 1. - Truly sucks!!!! 2. - I moved so I changed my address in their HR system during my hiring process. But Heartland has a lot of problems with "feeding over data" , if you change your address at one spot in Heartland, don't expect that info to reach Payroll, 401k, or Health insurance providers . etc.. 3. -This "feeding over" is constantly a problem at Heartland. That is also what happened when I signed up for the 401K, and because It did not feed over I lost the employer match of my first eligible paycheck. 4. -Another example was when I never got the email to fill out the direct deposit form and they were sending my checks to the wrong place. The HR department takes weeks to get back with you, simply because payroll and HR is run by Global. 5. - Whole Sales Team has the HIGHEST TURNOVER IN THE INDUSTRY, SO OBVIOUSLY FOR THE PAYROLL HR PEOPLE ARE HARD TO KEEP UP WITH IT 6. - I cancelled my contribution to the Employee Stock Purchase Plan, but they still kept deducting. 7. -In one month they forgot to deduct the Health insurance, instead of fixing that next month they deduct double for the Employee Stock Purchase plan. 8. -Sometimes they expect you to pay business expenses from your own pocket, while you are on 100% commission anyways, no mileage reimbursement!! 9. - CONSTANT CHAOS WITH DIRECT DEPOSIT, HEALTH INSURANCE, 401K and EMPLOYEE STOCK PURCHASE PLAN Daily work: 1. LOT OF SALES PRESSURE WHEN YOU ARE ON 100 % COMMISSION. YOU HAVE A DAILY CALL WITH YOUR BOSS TO TELL HIM WHAT YOU DID THAT DAY. 2.NO LAPTOP OR PHONE PROVIDED, JUST A USELESS TABLET WITHOUT KEYBOARD. They will provide you with a sim card, but of course you have to buy the internet for it. Very sad.. -3.You need to use your own personal computer to get any real work done, cause the tablet provided by Heartland is completely useless. 4. CRM Atlas SUCKS TOO. COMPLETELY USELESS 5. I was told and yelled at multiple times for trying to reach out to fellow coworkers and team members. I was told that I can only talk to management up so to supervisors. So why don’t they want you to talk to others? You can figure that out yourself. 6. THE STRATEGY: They will hire on almost anybody because everybody will close a deal or two. (Family and Friends). After that you will leave Heartland as you are not making money. BUT: Since you are not vested, you will lose the residual income, while your supervisors will keep it and Heartland will keep it too and profit from the account. In worst case they got 10 contacts out of you from your first two weeks. 7. The very few people who are actually making any money will not tell you anything to help. 8. Bosses and those few people who are making it always have this disgusting little smile on their faces on any social event when the team meets, while measuring you up and thinking like “ How long will this guy last?” 9. One time a different supervisor called me from a totally different state to ask about a person who named me as a reference for the job interview. We started talking later on and he told me that while he was a relationship manger, he lost 20 K (20 Thousand) dollars of his savings while his wife was working, until he built enough connections that he was able to start turning things around with his residuals building up. I told him that from now on he should tell that honestly to people who he interviews and hires, that they can expect to lose 20K of their savings before they are able to “turn things around”, as most people just cannot afford that. 10. They have some warm leads, but they do not talk about it. They only give it to the favorite people. There is no set rules or transparency regarding who will receive it and what you need to do to achieving the status of getting leads. 11. The residual of 15% is very low, especially taking into consideration the facts that there is a long vesting period for owning the portfolio, no base salary and no warm leads. 12. The "signing bonus" is more of a loan, since you have to pay it back if they do not process enough. I could write a whole book, just do yourself a favor and keep as far as possible!!!!

      Continue reading
      41 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Heartland Payment Systems Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Heartland Payment Systems? Share Your Experiences

    or