Heinens Reviews | Glassdoor

Heinens Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
J Jeffrey Heinen
73 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work for entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wellness Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heinens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Union job. - Excellent wages. - Good comraderie. - Employee centric.

    Cons

    - Prudent. (ie. slow to act on new ideas) - Too many Indian Chiefs and not enough Indians. In other words, too many managers.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the floor and work it next to your employees.

    Heinens2019-02-17
  2. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Rocky River, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heinens part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, relatively solid pay

    Cons

    Very difficult for deserving workers to advance to management due to special treatment given to friends/family. If you can reach the management-level, the compensation is great.

    Heinens2019-02-02
  3. "Front End Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible scheduling, competitive pay, tips from parcel

    Cons

    Discount may seem lacking to some

    Heinens2018-11-20
  4. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Heinens part-time

      Pros

      friendly people, off on holidays

      Cons

      nothing, it's a great company

      Heinens2018-09-21
    • "Highly Engaged Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I love working at Heinen's. This highly engaging workforce has made coming to work each day a complete joy. From my team to my work, I get to leave each day with a smile on my face. We have a very family-focused environment that is highly sensitive to the needs of the associates and customers.

      Cons

      I do not have any cons at this time.

      Heinens2018-05-29
    • "Best Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Warehouse Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free insurance easy work great environment

      Cons

      None great job and work life balance

      Advice to Management

      Good Job

      Heinens2018-02-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supervisor in Twinsburg, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Extremely flexible schedule, good hours, paid holidays. Heinen's treats their employees very well giving us holidays off but paying holidays, paid vacations and personal days every year,

      Cons

      There aren't very many cons to working at Heinen's, maybe except sometimes the people you could work with you may not get along with the best but as a company I have no complaints of working here.

      Advice to Management

      Management does a great job doing what they do, however sometimes they can't forget to recognize their employees, especially the ones who put in extra time and work extra hard. A personal thank you goes a very long way.

      Heinens2017-11-26
    • "Great Company to Work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Chagrin Falls, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great Staff. Paid Holidays. Work with schedules and requests. Nice to work for.

      Cons

      Lower pay. Have to ask for promotions. They are not given.

      Advice to Management

      Reward your associates and appreciate what they're doing for you.

      Heinens2017-10-24
    • "great part time position and company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Heinens part-time

      Pros

      friendly atmosphere, great benefits, flexible schedule

      Cons

      there were no cons. Great job for young professionals

      Heinens2017-10-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Heinen's workplace review, great job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Heinens full-time

      Pros

      Associates come first, above everything. Retail work schedule is fantastic - out by 9:00 every night.

      Cons

      Slow moving in terms of moving up in company

      Advice to Management

      Focus on having truly candid feedback.

      Heinens2017-09-14
    Found 137 reviews