Heinens Reviews | Glassdoor

Heinens Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
J Jeffrey Heinen
73 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work as a part time college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay Works around school classes Paid holidays (closed for major holidays) Most employees are nice

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours Management does not care about employees

    Heinens2018-06-03
  2. "Highly Engaged Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working at Heinen's. This highly engaging workforce has made coming to work each day a complete joy. From my team to my work, I get to leave each day with a smile on my face. We have a very family-focused environment that is highly sensitive to the needs of the associates and customers.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons at this time.

    Heinens2018-05-29
  3. "Decent establishment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Mayfield, OH

    I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Caring & involved management. School schedule flexibility

    Cons

    Low staff count/ minimal help

    Advice to Management

    Hire more mature, reliable front end associates (baggers)

    Heinens2018-04-26
  4. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and work environment

    Cons

    Management is hard to talk with but some managers are great.

    Heinens2018-04-22
  5. "Kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens full-time

    Pros

    Union Benefits Flexible schedule Culture Decent starting pay

    Cons

    Management poor communication Lack of raises

    Heinens2018-03-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "By far the worst company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heinens full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid vacation & benefits and a somewhat reasonable schedule (for retail) is the only thing this company has to offer. Also, they are good at keeping up the public misconception that it's a great place of employment.

    Cons

    The store level management are some of the most unqualified and incompetent people I have encountered in any business or "professional" setting. They micromanage and nitpick completely irrelevant nonsense while ignoring serous issues and major concerns, some of which are even dangerous to employees. I saw them make an 11 year old girl cry by kicking her out of the store for coming to say hi to her mom. I witnessed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to whom you put in your important and managerial roles, and consider whether or not they have the cognitive capacity to be there. The culture is being destroyed by store-level incompetence, and I'm not sure the owners are aware of how unbelievably terrible the management is at their jobs. The most important advice I have is this: by all means, stop trying to blame the workers for their low morale that...

    Show More
    Heinens2018-02-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Nothing positive about this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chagrin Falls, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a employee discount on almost everything.

    Cons

    There's a high amount of favoritism. Heinen's like to move up people that are lazy. They don't care at all about the people that work hard. Management gives vague reviews of how I am doing.

    Heinens2018-02-23
  8. "Best Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free insurance easy work great environment

    Cons

    None great job and work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Good Job

    Heinens2018-02-22
  9. "Great Customer Service Training with Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi Functional Employee in Mayfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Heinens part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get a lot of experience dealing with people face to face and develop many skills if your teachable and open to learn.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for upward movement in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Develop more long term benefits that will encourage employees to stay.

    Heinens2018-01-29
  10. "Great place for leaders to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Low pressure learning opportunities, collaborative work environment, great coworkers, great benefits and pay

    Cons

    Strict time/attendance policies, each store has power to operate the way they choose-inconsistancies

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up time/attendance- trust employees to make adult decisions, work on consistency

    Heinens2017-12-19
Found 137 reviews