Heinens Reviews | Glassdoor

Heinens Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
J Jeffrey Heinen
73 Ratings
  1. "Locally owned, quality run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Hudson, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heinens part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Positive experience overall. Great teamwork atmosphere. Management and owners are very encouraging & approachable. Comfortable & good looking uniform including fleeces since grocery stores are always cold. Nice customers with lots of loyal regulars. Easy employee parking and a clean, bright, spacious break room.

    Cons

    In my dept (deli) the schedule wasn't finalized until Friday for the following week. That's ridiculous. Very cold store. Occasional rich, snobby customers. Some lazy employees that didn't carry their weight.

    Advice to Management

    Heinens does a good job taking care of their employees, but please consider implement a scheduling system that is more realistic because people have lives (families, school, church, other jobs, plans, etc) outside of Heinens.

    Heinens2017-09-03
  2. "Great coworkers and even nicer customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative/Front End Associate in Chardon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, understanding and friendly managers, and the company loves to reward their employees. Also paid holidays, even for part time.

    Cons

    Customer service can be stressful at any job and there can be challenging customers but for the most part they're great!

    Advice to Management

    Keep treating your associates how you do! Most of us love working there!

    Heinens2017-09-01
  3. "Heinens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Clerk in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heinens full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Flexible working schedule Great coworkers

    Cons

    Management , pay, lack of growth

    Heinens2017-08-31
  4. "Feels like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Associate in Mentor, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heinens part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Employee discount, flexible scheduling, understanding management. Employees are all friendly. Emphasis on building customer relations.

    Cons

    Uneven work loads between similar positions.

    Advice to Management

    Store management can be a bit hard to communicate with at times.

    Heinens2017-08-18
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Heinens part-time

      Pros

      Great working environment, great company.

      Cons

      Not a lot of opportunity for growth.

      Heinens2017-08-13
    • "Meat department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Heinens full-time

      Pros

      Paid major holidays customers are very nice

      Cons

      Managements communication with other associates is difficult

      Heinens2017-06-23
    • "Decent job, Decent pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens

      Pros

      Coworker are down to earth, flexible with school and other work schedules, union.

      Cons

      Does not pay enough to make a true living.

      Heinens2017-06-08
    • "Outstanding"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front End Associate in Pepper Pike, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      - Great Pay - Great benefits - Associate discount - Great work environment - Work hours are outstanding - Flexible with schedule

      Cons

      Everything is great, keep it up Heinen's brothers. What a great place to work, it truly is spectacular.

      Heinens2017-05-30
    • "Highly recommend for Heinen's benefits, friendly work environment, and nice customers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Department Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      I have been working for Heinen's for 7 years now. I entered management a little over 3 years ago. There is always promotions available to hardworking employees. Pay raises are constant no matter what level of work you're at. Family-like work environment.

      Cons

      If you're in a manager, expect corporate to transfer you to another store location roughly every 1-3 years. As of recently, Tom & Jeff Heinen seem to have a hard time not expanding and building new stores. Building new stores very quickly results in hours being cut all across the company. For example, I have not hired a packer for the frontend dept in over five months. I've lost employees, but corporate won't allow...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I wish there was more communication between all the department managers. Also, I wish more managers would get out of the office and on the floor during busy hours.

      Heinens2017-05-26
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Barrington, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Friendly staff, flexible schedules, clean environment

      Cons

      There are no cons that come to mind!

      Advice to Management

      None

      Heinens2017-04-30
    Found 137 reviews