Heinens "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Heinens Employee Reviews about "work environment"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
J Jeffrey Heinen
73 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Required to work long hours on weekends(in 5 reviews)

  • "There's no room for advancement because there aren't enough openings(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales Floor Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, great customers, always something to do.

    Cons

    There aren't too many downsides. Long hours and a lot of time spent on your feet.

    Heinens2018-09-19
  2. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Heinens

      Pros

      Great work environment, accommodating to schedule

      Cons

      Struggles to keep up with current trends

      Heinens2018-09-10
    • "Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Cleveland, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great people and work environment

      Cons

      Management is hard to talk with but some managers are great.

      Heinens2018-04-22
    • "Great place for leaders to start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Heinens full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Low pressure learning opportunities, collaborative work environment, great coworkers, great benefits and pay

      Cons

      Strict time/attendance policies, each store has power to operate the way they choose-inconsistancies

      Advice to Management

      Loosen up time/attendance- trust employees to make adult decisions, work on consistency

      Heinens2017-12-19
    • "Front End Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front End Associate in Cleveland, OH
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Heinens part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good managerial staff Clean working environment

      Cons

      Staffed majorly by high school students

      Heinens2017-10-19
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Heinens part-time

        Pros

        Great working environment, great company.

        Cons

        Not a lot of opportunity for growth.

        Heinens2017-08-13
      • "Outstanding"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Front End Associate in Pepper Pike, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Heinens part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        - Great Pay - Great benefits - Associate discount - Great work environment - Work hours are outstanding - Flexible with schedule

        Cons

        Everything is great, keep it up Heinen's brothers. What a great place to work, it truly is spectacular.

        Heinens2017-05-30
      • "Highly recommend for Heinen's benefits, friendly work environment, and nice customers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Department Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Heinens full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        I have been working for Heinen's for 7 years now. I entered management a little over 3 years ago. There is always promotions available to hardworking employees. Pay raises are constant no matter what level of work you're at. Family-like work environment.

        Cons

        If you're in a manager, expect corporate to transfer you to another store location roughly every 1-3 years. As of recently, Tom & Jeff Heinen seem to have a hard time not expanding and building new stores. Building new stores very quickly results in hours being cut all across the company. For example, I have not hired a packer for the frontend dept in over five months. I've lost employees, but corporate won't allow...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        I wish there was more communication between all the department managers. Also, I wish more managers would get out of the office and on the floor during busy hours.

        Heinens2017-05-26
      • "stocker"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Heinens

        Pros

        clean work environment and good people

        Cons

        pay could be better and hours could be improved

        Heinens2016-10-04
      • "Good Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Front End Associate in Middleburg, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Heinens for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Nice work environment, closes early on Sunday's.

        Cons

        Union fees, not knowing schedule far in advance.

        Advice to Management

        Let employees know their schedules further in advance!

        Heinens2016-08-03
      Found 137 reviews