Helen of Troy Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Helen of Troy CEO Julien Mininberg
Julien Mininberg
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Small number of windows at the El Paso HQ(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are cliques, is this high school(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chambersburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant opportunities for growth, company cares about employees, great Covid-19 response

    Cons

    None, I love working for this company.

    Continue reading
  2. "Culture of mistrust"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities, reasonable work life balance.

    Cons

    Executive culture is terrible. CEO and CFO (but really all of GLT) mistrust everyone and spend much of their time trying to find out what you did wrong rather than trying to create a culture of empowerment.

    Continue reading

    Helen of Troy Response

    July 31, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Mutual Respect is one of our core Culture values, and across the company, associates are encouraged to share feedback and new ideas. Please contact your HR partners to discuss any challenges you're experiencing immediately.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, great people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, the environment, the leadership.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t great, but the overall experience including benefits is amazing.

  4. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Marlborough, MA

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, environment and culture

    Cons

    Bad product development and customer experience

    Helen of Troy Response

    April 28, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us

  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Investing in people, and proactive COVID-19 Response"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Bend, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helen of Troy has made a commitment to training and development for its associates - via online learning options and in person training. It's implementation of a company-wide culture training program encourages curiosity and a culture of respect and questioning how we've done things -- and is there a better way. The company has also been very proactive and considerate of employees during the COVID19 outbreak (as of 3/30/20), it's been impressive to see HR, IT and leadership coming together and drive business forward in these uncertain times.

    Cons

    In all large companies, change works at a slow pace, it is no different here.

    Continue reading

    Helen of Troy Response

    April 7, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, particularly on our efforts to respond to the COVID-19 outbreak. It's great to have your advice as we continue to navigate through uncertain times. We deeply value the collaboration and unity we've seen throughout the company during this time.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Best culture ever!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trainer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people in a fun culture that really cares about its people. NYC office has all the engagement practices one can imagine: from free food, bring your dog to work, super casual work attire, volunteer and social responsibility activites and many after work activities. Loved the diverse portfolio of #1 and #2 products, some of which were available at a discount from the company store in El Paso, Tx. Colleagues in the HQ office in Texas are some of the warmest, nicest people you'll ever meet. Loved my boss and the HR team, as well as the CEO!

    Cons

    Salary scale was not adjusted to regional differences; business units operated in silos for years making the introduction of shared services somewhat difficult to implement, but they were really working hard to overcome this.

    Continue reading

    Helen of Troy Response

    April 7, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    It's great to hear about your experience at Helen of Troy, particularly in our NYC location. We're continuing to invest in our cultural transformation through the Power of ONE. Thanks for taking the time to share with us!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lacks Strategy - Hydro Flask"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bend, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some great employees that are passionate about the outdoors. Living in Bend is nice. Company is still growing.

    Cons

    Lacks strategic focus and clarity. Inefficient process. Work harder not smarter mentality. Unachievable timelines. No growth development plan. Multiple restructures in short time. Result of the current environment is leading to disengagement and frustration.

    Continue reading

    Helen of Troy Response

    February 24, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to foster our Power of ONE culture that encourages associates to share new ideas and values their drive for continuous improvement.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture and leadership team

    Cons

    Slightly behind the times with product innovation

    Continue reading

    Helen of Troy Response

    April 7, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're continuing to strengthen our Power of ONE culture across the organization. We appreciate your advice.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "A disillusioning experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

    Pros

    Great health benefits, PTO, 401k, flexibility

    Cons

    You may or may not have a job from one month to the next regardless of seniority, performance, etc. I've watched more than my fair share of coworkers, from entry to upper management, get axed out of the blue over the past few years. Outsiders are regularly brought in to do what current employees aren't given the chance to do. The place is now infamous for its annual spontaneous mass firings. Gotta eat though, right? Just show up, do your duty, go home. Don't expect upward mobility nor reasonable raises no matter how hard you work. **Don't give more than you get.** Giving your heart and soul has no reward beyond personal satisfaction.

    Continue reading

    Helen of Troy Response

    January 7, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the feedback from current and former associates so we can continue to improve.

  10. "Get your chops here, then move on"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great ideas and great plans

    Cons

    non of the ideas get done

    Continue reading

    Helen of Troy Response

    April 7, 2020Talent Brand Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and advice with us.

Found 162 reviews