Helen of Troy Reviews | Glassdoor

Helen of Troy Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Helen of Troy CEO Julien Mininberg
Julien Mininberg
76 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free products Happy Hours Free food Sample Sale

    Cons

    Lack of structure Inauthentic culture Inauthentic people High turnover Long hours - 12 hr days Absentee Management- barely any room to grow and move up

    Advice to Management

    Be more present and flexible Groom people instead of disposing of them Get rid of cult-like culture Tell people the truth and create realistic expectations

    Helen of Troy2018-12-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Growth, progression, opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The company has gone (and is going) through a lot of positive changes over the last year since I joined. There is a lot of opportunity to add value and lead projects which also grow me professionally. The team is tight knit, intellectual, and fun! We genuinely enjoy spending time together in the office, at happy hours, and at company outings. Our sister brands (outside of OXO) seem to be just as fun as we are and we're...

    Show More

    Cons

    With rapid growth comes some ambiguity at times and you need to be comfortable with that.

    Advice to Management

    Don't underestimate how much the employees look up to you! Your talent and expertise is highly respected. Every time you're able to give a little bit of that to the team it's hugely appreciated.

    Helen of Troy2018-11-09

    Helen of Troy Response

    November 13, 2018HR Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback on your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share with us.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Company expanding its footprint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Growth opportunity as businesses are doing well

    Cons

    Tough competition and reliance on Chinese manufacturing could result in tougher sales environment.

    Helen of Troy2018-11-27

    Helen of Troy Response

    January 8, 2019HR Specialist

    Thank you for your review - we truly appreciate you sharing your experience.

  4. Helpful (11)

    "It's called OXO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

    Pros

    First of all, I'd like to clarify because the listing is super confusing - I don't work for Helen of Troy, I work for OXO. Helen of Troy is OXO's parent company based in El Paso, and they can often be very corporate and out of touch (eg: this Glassdoor page). However, OXO is completely based in New York City, has between 100-150 employees, operates fairly independently at the day-to-day level, and has a great company...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a pretty flat organization so there's not always a clear upward path, and the leadership of OXO no longer seems to trust the individual product teams to make their own decisions, resulting in bottlenecks, redesigns, and wasted time.

    Advice to Management

    Listen. Larry, I've sat in meeting after meeting with you where you talk more than you listen - please, please respect the people who work for you enough that you can listen to their opinion and trust in their expertise, rather than requiring them to check in with you for your decision on every single thing.

    Helen of Troy2018-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Helen of Troy has contributed to my career success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant to the President in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Ron Anderskow is an awesome leader! Top Quality People that support each other. Power OF ONE! Mutual Respect throughout the organization. Beauty Team is awesome and I am proud to be part of a team that helps create Beauty for the world!

    Cons

    None except I live on the East side, long drive - but worth every mile!

    Helen of Troy2018-10-26

    Helen of Troy Response

    November 1, 2018HR Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience with us. We value your comments and the time you took to share with us!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Buyer Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

    Pros

    Many Divisions under one umbrella. In an ideal world, would be a company with excellent cross-divisional promotion opportunities.

    Cons

    Corporate culture not consistent across divisions. New culture has "been adopted" by executive management. There is a feeling of being forced-fed the culture.

    Advice to Management

    One size many not fit all across divisions. Culture changes cannot happen overnight.

    Helen of Troy2018-11-26

    Helen of Troy Response

    November 27, 2018HR Specialist

    We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us. We truly value transparency and honesty with our current and former employees - through this, we can improve and continue to make Helen of Troy a great place to work!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best Employer in my Career Journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    There is a real dedication to improve the business culture. It's apparent that leaders don't just want the business to succeed, but for the employees to succeed as well.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take care of your employees, and they will take care of you and your business.

    Helen of Troy2018-10-16

    Helen of Troy Response

    November 1, 2018HR Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback on your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share with us.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Happy to work with all the teams and I liked all the company processes and policies. I liked company investing on employees with various programs like Power of One. We are going to have onsite Gym. I liked hotfit health program.

    Cons

    I am not seeing any cons.

    Helen of Troy2018-10-15

    Helen of Troy Response

    November 1, 2018HR Specialist

    Glad to hear that you're happy here! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

  9. "Consumer Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Service Representative in Chambersburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Company stands behind it's products and employees -Management

    Cons

    East Coast location, West Coast hours

    Helen of Troy2018-10-16

    Helen of Troy Response

    November 1, 2018HR Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience with us. We value your comments and the time you took to share with us!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at my fair share of companies but Helen of Troy is a wonderful balance of nice fun to work with people that are also passionate about their jobs. For those of us that have worked in companies with toxic people or people with bad intent, you know it can create a terrible working environment - even if the company is doing well the people are not. Similarly, if you're a in company where people just don't really...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is still learning how to go from good to great. If you want to come into a company where everything is already perfect this is not that company. If you get excited about fixing things, seeing the impact of your results and the results of those around you then this is a great place.

    Advice to Management

    Share talent across divisions more.

    Helen of Troy2018-10-12

    Helen of Troy Response

    November 1, 2018HR Specialist

    Really thrilled to hear of your great experience! Thank you for sharing!

Found 146 reviews