Helen of Troy "el paso" Reviews | Glassdoor

Helen of Troy Employee Reviews about "el paso"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Helen of Troy CEO Julien Mininberg
Julien Mininberg
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It's located in El Paso TX and is selling part of the company for which I work in MD(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are cliques, is this high school(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "el paso"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (11)

    "It's called OXO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

    Pros

    First of all, I'd like to clarify because the listing is super confusing - I don't work for Helen of Troy, I work for OXO. Helen of Troy is OXO's parent company based in El Paso, and they can often be very corporate and out of touch (eg: this Glassdoor page). However, OXO is completely based in New York City, has between 100-150 employees, operates fairly independently at the day-to-day level, and has a great company...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a pretty flat organization so there's not always a clear upward path, and the leadership of OXO no longer seems to trust the individual product teams to make their own decisions, resulting in bottlenecks, redesigns, and wasted time.

    Advice to Management

    Listen. Larry, I've sat in meeting after meeting with you where you talk more than you listen - please, please respect the people who work for you enough that you can listen to their opinion and trust in their expertise, rather than requiring them to check in with you for your decision on every single thing.

    Helen of Troy2018-10-17
  2. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Company is very active with employees. There are several activities that are offered such as Lunch with the CEO, Town Hall Meetings, HOT Talks with people from El Paso.

    Cons

    Wish there was more family oriented activities.

    Advice to Management

    Communication in Key!

    Helen of Troy2018-03-20

    Helen of Troy Response

    April 25, 2018HR Specialist

    Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback and experience with us. We value your comments and the time you took to share with us!

  3. "Senior Oracle Database & Apps DBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Oracle Applications Database Administrator in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

    Pros

    It's a huge company with lot's new technologies in use

    Cons

    It's located in El Paso TX and is selling part of the company for which I work in MD

    Advice to Management

    I am starting to look for a new job becuase Healthy Directions, a subsidiary of Helen of Troy in MD, has recently been sold

    Helen of Troy2018-01-12

    Helen of Troy Response

    February 5, 2018Senior Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  4. "P&G style being used now that Gerald Rubin was turned ways as CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Promotions from within and room to grow with the company. Knowledge of more than just your job, you will learn- warehouse , customer service , marketing, along with forecasting and accounting and and product design you'll get a great education and also the billing department. It well rounded for a regional or territory or of course the director. Learn the systems and take it upon yourself to take classes which I'm...

    Show More

    Cons

    Absolutely ridiculous budgets, where not showing a percentage increase based off of your account, it's done sku level. For example you have a spreadsheet that probably 120 lines he is include all of the new items coming out. The budget the requires gustimates of planogram changing the web for any sort of confirmation. Not only is this a waste of time but The poor people in forecasting use this number with your make-believe,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Micromanagement is horrific, sales rep group are in most cases a complete waste of money, selling beauty product never a reason to have 70-year-old man with you selling a Revlon straightener and hairdryer or shampoo

    Helen of Troy2017-05-14
  5. "I loved working at HOT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demand Analyst in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They really take care of their employees, great benefits. The pay is good if you consider you're in El Paso, it is bad if you're coming from a big city and you compare, but if you're a local you'll find out that they pay actually above average from current wages in the area.

    Cons

    It isn't as easy to go up on the employment ladder, but, isn't it like that everywhere else? :)

    Helen of Troy2016-10-19
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Keep Looking...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy

    Pros

    This company has the potential and groundwork to be AMAZING. The size, physical work environment and type of work should be fun and rewarding.

    Cons

    Disorganized management makes it impossible to do a good job, regardless of strong work ethic. Directions you are given one day can be completely reversed the next day. They are more focused on putting out memos about culture than they are at actually correcting the culture. Independent, intelligent discourse is not encouraged. Try to have an independent thought and you are ostracized for not following leadership...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Someone (hire an outside firm, HR has too much to lose) needs to take a look at the actual unethical, often illegal, employee treatment practices in certain departments, THEN take action, not excuse it and ignore it.

    Helen of Troy2016-08-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Too cut throat & lots of drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy for more than 20 years

    Pros

    It used to have a great family environment and mentality among the working staff and management. Took care of the employees and they had a voice that was heard. Employees and their families used to be a priority, now it's just for shareholders.

    Cons

    New management is a dictatorship out to impress themselves and the shareholders often unfortunately at the expense of the hardest working employees. Employee turn over has never been so high. Not the once great company El Paso was proud to embrace as a major employer. May as well just relocate to the north east where management all hail from anyway. Just a matter of time.

    Advice to Management

    Resign

    Helen of Troy2016-02-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Company could have potential with new leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    (Mostly) nice people, nice building/facility

    Cons

    Poor leadership, no strategy, not a lot going on in El Paso

    Advice to Management

    Hire new senior level management to set the vision and strategy and then hire some mid level managers with great experience (and MBA's) to activate the strategy.

    Helen of Troy2015-03-17
  9. "Great Company in El Paso"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Enterprise Applications in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Fast Growing, Opportunities within the company. Great Treatment of employees.

    Cons

    El Paso not conducive to career growth

    Helen of Troy2013-05-20
Found 146 reviews