Helen of Troy "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Helen of Troy Employee Reviews about "great people"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Helen of Troy CEO Julien Mininberg
Julien Mininberg
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It's located in El Paso TX and is selling part of the company for which I work in MD(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are cliques, is this high school(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fun, Rewarding Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great people Lots of creativity Plenty of opportunity for growth but you must seek it out yourself Flexible and laid back environment

    Cons

    A bit disorganized, however this is improving as of late

    Helen of Troy2019-02-10

    Helen of Troy Response

    February 19, 2019HR Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback on your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share with us.

  2. Helpful (11)

    "It's called OXO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

    Pros

    First of all, I'd like to clarify because the listing is super confusing - I don't work for Helen of Troy, I work for OXO. Helen of Troy is OXO's parent company based in El Paso, and they can often be very corporate and out of touch (eg: this Glassdoor page). However, OXO is completely based in New York City, has between 100-150 employees, operates fairly independently at the day-to-day level, and has a great company...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a pretty flat organization so there's not always a clear upward path, and the leadership of OXO no longer seems to trust the individual product teams to make their own decisions, resulting in bottlenecks, redesigns, and wasted time.

    Advice to Management

    Listen. Larry, I've sat in meeting after meeting with you where you talk more than you listen - please, please respect the people who work for you enough that you can listen to their opinion and trust in their expertise, rather than requiring them to check in with you for your decision on every single thing.

    Helen of Troy2018-10-17
  3. "Marketing Coordinator - Personal Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Danbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great People, good culture, great benefits

    Cons

    No cons to comment on at this time

    Helen of Troy2018-09-30

    Helen of Troy Response

    October 3, 2018HR Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share with us.

  4. "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great people and consumer brands

    Cons

    Limited opportunities in some areas due to the size of the company

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in the business and the people.

    Helen of Troy2018-02-04

    Helen of Troy Response

    February 5, 2018Senior Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to share it.

  5. "Its OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

      Pros

      Great People, location and city

      Cons

      poor management, people skills and project management

      Advice to Management

      Get Training

      Helen of Troy2017-02-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "None"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlborough, MA
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Helen of Troy for more than 20 years

      Pros

      I work with great people, some of the greatest minds in Engineering and Innovation. This company is soaring & can't be stopped.

      Cons

      The cons I'll keep to myself.

      Helen of Troy2017-01-18
    • Helpful (6)

      "OXO is too good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Helen of Troy full-time

      Pros

      Great Culture, Great People, Great Learning

      Cons

      It's boring working on different skus of the same product year after year. Contributions are hard to evaluate. And so people are often not rewarded when they make a great contribution, while others are rewarded greatly for things like personality. New Process implementations are hurting the culture, innovation, schedules, and profits.

      Advice to Management

      Assign different skus of the same product to different people. This spreads the learning out, which can be redundant, but that is the point. So if anyone leaves, then there is a safety net. Plus it gives people more variety and keeps them interested, and allows more freshness in their ideas to innovate. Evaluate contributions more concretely, such as dollars of sales, or delays. Go back to the free atmosphere...

      Show More
      Helen of Troy2013-02-05
    Found 146 reviews