Helium Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

Helium Consulting Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Helium Consulting CEO Tri Vo
Tri Vo
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Lead Account Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Leader in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helium Consulting for less than a year

    Pros

    Definitely not the place for lazy people looking for handouts Control your own paycheck. Performance based -every company has a basis of sales so you have to know how to do it also -opportunity comes from other avenus as well (teaching others/learning itself) energetic office keeps the blood pumping totally different style so it keeps it interesting

    Cons

    Hours are a little longer but i would probably just waste on tv or sleeping

    Advice to Management

    i know the schedule keeps everyone busy but try and spend a little more time with the people in the mornings

    Helium Consulting2016-03-20
  2. "Please don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Helium Consulting

    Pros

    None. None. None. None. None

    Cons

    Waste of time. No money.

    Advice to Management

    Glad your company went down.

    Helium Consulting2017-03-15
  3. "Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Intern in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Helium Consulting for less than a year

    Pros

    None unfortunately I wish there was at least one to say

    Cons

    They are scammers. I have been looking for summer internship in my area of studies and applied for "business intern" position that they advertised on website specified only for internships. So I went on three different interviews three different days - what a waist of time. They tell you you're accepted and than actually everything starts looking weird. At the second round interview they tell you that salary is... based on minimum wage for hours + your sales commission, so you gonna make over $2500 monthly. I was kinda suspicious at that point but didn't say anything. Than actual work starts and it's a joke. Yes, I'm serious, you would stay there and laugh, or maybe cry when you realize that this is company that waists your morning (every single one), by "putting motivation up", with meetings where they want you to dress professionally and play stupid games where people are forced to screem and sing and if you look around you'll see very desperate people. I spoke with lot of them, and there were people working every day and basically waiting Friday just to buy anything to eat, anything. One guy lived in his car. So at 1pm every day, you wear Centry Link shirt and they give you neighborhood or complex address and your job is to go door-to-door and bother people. If someone does not respond,you have to come back at list three more times. And the craziest thing is that they don't send you at the address where people don't have any provider, they specifically send you to the houses that have Cox. And you have to convince people to switch to Centry Link, and if you're lucky to get them to switch you get $70 per job. Also, they're lying when they said minimum wage hours plus commission. NO. Only if you make less than $300 in commissions every week, they pay you, but you can expect to be fired immediately, because they don't want to pay you anything. So, think how many people you need to make to switch from Cox to Century Link to make any money if you get $70 for TV&internet. And most of the households have two year contract with Cox, and they not gonna break it and pay fees just to switch to the Centry Link. Also, potential customers have to provide SSN and would you give it yours to some stranger that shows up on your door offering cheap internet? Most of them would just say no and there's nothing you can do, same if they have contract with Cox. And most of people like Cox better than CL and your sales are gonna be 1-2 per a week realistically. Also, once it happened they sent us to the neighborhood where was only Cox supported, so people would look at us like we're idiots. And company DOES not do background check, one day I was working with dude who got kicked out of high school because of the drugs, spent couple years in jail later on and got that job, same as me with BBA now with 3.3 GPA. And you would work every day from 11 from 9pm even Saturday you have to work, and it wouldn't be a big deal id they would actually pay you. Also, expect that they would send you to the gated community and you have to wait until someone is getting in, as legally you shouldn't be there because most of them have "no soliciting" policy. And that's exactly what you do. So expect to have police called on you, security of community yelling at you, asking you to leave property and if that happens you just waist your day. It's sad how company is lying to you at the interviews. I have stayed only for three weeks as I wasn't getting any money from them. And you could see new people coming in every day to work. I finished my college and luckily got a full time job at MGM, but feel so embarrassed to even tell anybody how my summer literally got ruined with those three weeks in this company

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If someone asks you specifically in interview process if this is door-to-door sales, tell th about truth, don't lie Brandon! Also don't be greedy and use those poor desperate people. I'm so happy to see that your office is permanently closed and that your scammed business failed

    Helium Consulting2016-11-12
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Helium Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    To be honest I don't have one positive thing to say about the company.

    Cons

    If you want a job going door to door then this is definitely for you and not even getting paid minimum wage. If you want a job that will brainwash you this is definitely it. And most importantly a boss that steals from his employees this would be the right career.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie so much.

    Helium Consulting2016-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "An honest review from a current employee."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helium Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Motivating environment, merit-based promotions, the ability to make as much money as you want as long as you put in the work, AWESOME people to work with!!! Business trips and conferences are fun, too. The work itself is not hard, but we work very hard. The opportunities to make money are endless as long as you have the motivation.

    Cons

    Face to face marketing can be stressful and mentally taxing. Long hours. No paid vacation time, no paid sick days, and no health benefits.

    Advice to Management

    You could be a little more selective during your first round interview process. I know the point is for us leaders to gain interview experience by conducting 2nd rounds, but don't give us 110's intentionally for "practice".

    Helium Consulting2015-12-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't consider working here if you aren't motivated at all!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helium Consulting

    Pros

    This company has so much room for one to grow into. Don't expect the opportunity to be handed to you or for it to happen over night though. Like anything else you have to work hard for what you want. I think the best thing about the company is the managers open door policies. It doesn't matter what the situation is Tri is always there to listen for you. Whether it is tough love or not, he is there for your best... interest. If you aren't motivated though to get off your butt and do something which may include a lot of walking, this job def isn't for you! Getting into shape def is a bonus though.

    Show More

    Cons

    One con I would say is that the hours are a bit long. Again if you are a couch potato, this isn't the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Only advice or suggestion that I have is that a coffee machine def would be a nice touch for the office. Again though stay away if you are lazy, unmotivated or just want an "easy" 9 to 5 job. Nothing in life worth your wild is just handed to you!

    Helium Consulting2015-10-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Don't work here if you're lazy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Helium Consulting part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From personal experience, I can easily say that if you're looking for a handout than this is not the job for you. I've learned a lot of skills from the short time I have worked with this company that other employers don't even care to try to implement in their employees.

    Cons

    I'm not a morning person, so that's my only con is waking up in the morning to work a normal 9-5. I've seen a high turnover rate, but that's only because the company can't afford to be paying people that don't work. Time and money is valuable people!!

    Advice to Management

    We could use a coffee maker, but otherwise this advice isn't for management, but for the people who like to do "research". Don't be lazy because that's not how you become successful.

    Helium Consulting2015-10-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Everyday is a new day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Promoting Leader 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Helium Consulting full-time

    Pros

    The people- I have worked in several industries working with different people, doing different tasks and I have never met a more passionate and driven group of people. It is inspiring to come into work everyday and work side by side with young professionals who want the same things in life as i do, which is financial freedom and the power to help others succeed as well. The growth- the growth opportunities are... endless and there is no ceiling to what we can achieve in this company. All it takes is hard work and great attitude. The day to day- because we work doing sales, everyday is a new day and a new challenge. I love this. A day at Helium is never mundane, it is always a challenge because we have goals and everyday we hit them and just create more. The other side of the day to day is even more exciting. Each day, I get to help someone develop their communication skills, professionalism, public speaking and more. Needless to say, at the end of each work day, I feel very accomplished for hitting my goals and extremely rewarded to see the people around me grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    This job is strawberry ice cream. Most people like chocolate or vanilla, some people really love strawberry.

    Advice to Management

    Take your goals seriously, but not yourself too seriously. It is supposed to be hard work, and it's supposed to be really fun.

    Helium Consulting2015-07-28
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Work 60 hours a week, get paid 20 hours Minimum Wage! woo!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helium Consulting

    Pros

    They have gatherings on Thursdays to try to boost morale and allow people to think they're having fun to make up for their absence of a paycheck.

    Cons

    Company prides itself on success and integrity, yet they'll lie through their teeth to their workers promising them a bright future, and high pay while working them 60 hours a week for 20 hour minimum wage. Workers drop like fly's as soon as they get their paychecks...

    Advice to Management

    Have some actual integrity like you say you value on your site. Stop lying to your workers, and consider success is a little more than not taking bathroom breaks. Seriously?

    Helium Consulting2015-07-24

    Helium Consulting Response

    March 14, 2016Social Media Director

    Thank you for your review. You are right we are a company that prides integrity as well as transparency. With that in mind we would like to clarify a few of the points you made. If someone works full time and doesn’t miss any days they are guaranteed to make at least $330 in a week ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (9)

    "No, no and no again!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Helium Consulting

    Pros

    Most of the people there are very nice.

    Cons

    All it is is door to door sales. That's it. Then once you advance enough, you still do the sales but start to "grow your team" by interviewing so the end result is opening up your own office that will do the exact same thing. If you don't want to open your own business doing door to door sales, do not take this job. They also have a system in place that is supposed to produce 2-3 apps a day... never had it happen.... Saw it one day while I was training but then no apps after that. The atmosphere in the office is supposed to be fun but everyone is yelling and chanting... feels like a dumb summer camp. Apparently it builds morale, but I just found it immature and incredibly annoying. Personally, I feel there are much more stable, better (in general and in pay) jobs out here.

    Show More
    Helium Consulting2015-06-03

    Helium Consulting Response

    March 14, 2016Social Media Director

    Thank you for the compliment. I agree the people are very nice. I’m sorry for the experience you had with our company. If all you thought was that we were simply a door to door sales company then we let you down. Sales are a big part of our business just like any other company. ...

    Show More
Found 18 reviews