Helix Electric Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Helix Electric President Gary Shekhter (no image)
Gary Shekhter
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very fast paced organization with lots of autonomy and not a ton of red tape(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great Company to gain valuable trade experience(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management only seems concerned with getting it done, don't put a lot of emphasis on quality training(in 4 reviews)

  • "Little to no Quality Control Program, responsibility for QC is up to the Project Superintendent(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "One of the best, perhaps the best, electrical contractor in the United States"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BIM Designer in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture, employee-centric philosophy, promoting excellence and integrity

    Cons

    None come to mind at the moment.

    Continue reading

    Helix Electric Response

    January 8, 2021Vice President, Talent

    Thanks for your raving review! We concur with you all the way.

  2. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Structure, room to grow, great environment, excellent training and benefits

    Cons

    Top end clients so the projects can be demanding, however, this is great for building experience and furthering trade knowledge.

    Helix Electric Response

    January 8, 2021Vice President, Talent

    We appreciate your kindness to write about us!


  3. "Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time

    Pros

    Family oriented, open minded, good people

    Cons

    Long hours, bonus structure discretionary

    Helix Electric Response

    January 7, 2021Vice President, Talent

    Thanks for your review!

  4. "Warehouse"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time

    Pros

    Consistent work, driving, work with tools

    Cons

    Slow work during holiday season

    Helix Electric Response

    January 8, 2021Vice President, Talent

    Thanks for your review!

  5. "Not Good"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CX Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time

    Pros

    I cant say that I have any Pros for this company

    Cons

    Very Unfair Company to work for.

    Helix Electric Response

    January 7, 2021Vice President, Talent

    We can only get better and we're working hard at it.

  6. "Ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helix Electric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company with improving benefits

    Cons

    Big company so they treat you like a number

    Continue reading

    Helix Electric Response

    January 8, 2021Vice President, Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

  7. "Negative Culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Fort Meade, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Helix Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, 100% employer-paid health insurance for employee

    Cons

    Negative culture, unorganized management, treat employees like numbers, not people

    Continue reading

    Helix Electric Response

    January 7, 2021Vice President, Talent

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are working to get better in the areas you referenced.

  8. "Former Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Web Developer in Westminster, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time

    Pros

    Very big company with good pay.

    Cons

    It is a good company to work for.

    Continue reading

    Helix Electric Response

    January 8, 2021Vice President, Talent

    Thanks for your feedback!

  9. "Friendly environment, realistic expectations"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer Intern in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly environment, especially as I was working outside my field

    Cons

    Sometimes tasks were assigned with little to no information beforehand Occasionally a lot of busy work

    Helix Electric Response

    September 28, 2020Vice President, Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our program is continuing to get better with feedback like yours. Thanks again!

  10. "Good Work + Good Money"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Electrician in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helix Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you get on a job and are able to stay due to your hard work they will keep you working which is a really good thing.

    Cons

    Depending on who you are paired with as an apprentice you may or may not receive great training.

    Helix Electric Response

    September 28, 2020Vice President, Talent

    Thanks for the feedback!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 100 English Reviews