Hella Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Hella Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Hella President and CEO  Rolf Breidenbach
Rolf Breidenbach
129 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "reas es muy pobre ya que no hay un apoyo para proyectar y cumplir todos los objetivos y b(in 9 reviews)

  • "n Gente sin experiencia en puestos importantes Falta de compromiso de los jefes(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent Germany owned company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Plymouth, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hella full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are very friendly and helpful, Germany owned company. A lot opportunity to work globally.

    Cons

    Sometime dictated by Central Corporates, not only from management side but also from technical side.

    Advice to Management

    Have to hear the voice of employee better. To be open-minded.

    Hella2019-08-14
  2. "Very strong technology on electrical module"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Plymouth, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hella full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good business strategy on electrical components.

    Cons

    Lighting business was one of the best in the world. Unfortunately the leadership change the direction.

    Hella2020-01-11
  3. "Bureaucratic Company with poor employee facing technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Quality Manager in Northville, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hella full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with industry leading products and advancement opportunities for those that can navigate this old German company.

    Cons

    Employee facing technology is horrible and slow. Everything is very restrictive and inhibits getting things done efficiently. Quality is not the number 1 focus as finance/purchasing controls the ultimate decision.

    Hella2019-11-05
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic culture / difficult work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Northville Township, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hella full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mostly good people to work with. Good product portfolio.

    Cons

    Very , very high employee turnover due to poor Management and lack of reacting to labor market conditions. ( > 50% employee turnover in some departments) No apparent long term business strategy. Cumbersome systems and processes. Was a good place to work , but recent decisions by mgt have changed that entirely.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging the workforce. Trust your employees. Work to improve the processes. listen to your employees. Get rid of the poor managers/ directors /VPs including Senior management . Keep the good ones! ( using 360 reviews as a tool) Germany should allow regional management to make decisions. See other comments on this site.

    Hella2019-10-12
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Man this place needs help!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Northville, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hella full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people work here. Pleasant Environment.

    Cons

    Not my assessment, but spot on! Could not have said it more succinct! "Severely micromanaged by Germany. More focus on reporting to Germany than US customer deliverables. Fires staff when workloads are low. Overbearing processes bring creativity and development to a standstill. Always announces record profits but the employees get none of it in terms of raises and bonuses." Huge turn over rate should send alarm bells, but upper management in US is powerless.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Decentralize and keep the focus to retaining talent.

    Hella2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Red tape and layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Plymouth, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hella full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A few pockets of talented individuals

    Cons

    Severely micromanaged by Germany. More focus on reporting to Germany than US customer deliverables. Fires staff when workloads are low. Overbearing processes bring creativity and development to a standstill. Always announces record profits but the employees get none of it in terms of raises and bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Hire talent and TRUST them.

    Hella2019-08-20
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Decent place to work for the long term minded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Northville, MI
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hella full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability/security, PTO, majority down to earth ppl

    Cons

    Slow paced. Work with a lot of guys that drag out projects. This problem is compounded by the amount of processes that need to be jumped through to execute a task. All directives comes from HQ in Germany. Heavily depend on auto industry with limited diversification.

    Advice to Management

    Consolidate the amount of processes required to complete a task. Better compensate high performance & self motivated employees vs autopilot ppl.

    Hella2019-07-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worked at Flora, ILL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineering in Flora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hella full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of, just an awful place. OK, there is one good thing or should I say, person, Brian Walker.

    Cons

    Worst place I ever worked for in forty years. They demand perfection without any real support or training. By perfection, I mean 99.7% efficiency, 99.7+.03% for real failures = 100%. Almost no downtime to fix, repair, troubleshoot test equipment. Against management wishes, I had built secondary fixtures by the machine shop, to give me time to repair the broken ones. They told me if I didn't do six things I would be fired in three months, three of them depended upon getting equipment back from an estranged German company that Hella didn't pay for a job they did. An engineer there agreed to send our equipment back via their shipper. Hella said it'd be cheaper to use their shipper. Consequently, I didn't get the equipment and was fired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your culture. The problem stems from little town thinking. If you don't live there then you're out.

    Hella2019-06-24
  9. "Making strides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance 

    I have been working at Hella full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vision and good reputation within industry

    Cons

    Lack of leadership and openness

    Hella2019-04-04
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Apply anywhere else but here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plymouth, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hella full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible work options

    Cons

    Germany micromanages everyone to the point where it doesn't even make sense that the US has any managers at all. Some of the senior leadership team is morally bankrupt.

    Hella2019-02-08
Found 355 reviews