KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Heller Consulting

Is this your company?

Heller Consulting

Add a Review

Heller Consulting Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 16 reviews

4.1
94%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Heller Consulting Management Keith Heller & Jeffrey Appell (no image)
Keith Heller & Jeffrey Appell
11 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

5m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Truly a team

    Feb 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Heller Consulting is by far and away the best place I've been employed. They were incredibly supportive throughout COVID-19 and have been flexible and accommodating for parents. Everyone comes from a nonprofit background, so we all share a collective passion for the organizations we work with every day.

    Cons

    As with any consulting firm, there are ebbs and flows in work with some times being more busy. But overall, the work is steady and the work/life balance is kept in check by management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Misguided and Anxious Work Environment

    Jul 18, 2022 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work on seemingly flexible hours. An amazing Director of Services and previous VP who is no longer there.

    Cons

    Poor management that doesn't understand their direct report's wheelhouse. - Demeaning, condescending staff personalities. - Gaslighting when you're asked to execute clearly communicated weaknesses. - Disregard of personal time-off. - Minimal support to execute work. - No opportunity to do the work that you shine in. - Unauthentic personalities. - Management and peers do just enough to get a "pass" on their performance. - You're thrown into doing work you clearly weren't hired for and gaslighted Honestly the list goes on, but this is all that I can think of at the present moment. I had some of my worst panic attacks here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Transparent and growth driven culture

    Sep 24, 2020 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    encourages continuous learning and very supporting colleagues! Company is also very transparent.

    Cons

    consulting work can be challenging

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Encouraging Coworkers

    Aug 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've never worked for such an encouraging company. Throughout my time working here, I've been given the opportunity to take on new roles and responsibilities. But I have never taken something on without support, whether that's been extra classes to learn a new skill, a mentor within the company, or just general encouragement to try something (and being told it's ok to fail). Management is positive and that trickles down. Overall, it's an excellent company culture. Other big plus is flexibility of schedule and location. Almost everyone works from home and is encouraged to have a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Working within the overall nonprofit industry can mean there are ebbs and flows with projects, so consultants will go through occasional times of work being busy or slow. Not necessarily a con, but something to keep in mind - working from home means you are responsible for managing your time and you also don't have an office full of coworkers. It works for me, but it's not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Amazing People, Great Work

    Apr 15, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a company that cares deeply about the people who work there and challenges them to grow not only in their particular job skills, but as people. Cultivating respect and self-awareness are required and paying attention to how you work with others leads to exceptional teamwork for clients. I worked at Heller for nine years and had the opportunity to learn just about every aspect of running a small consulting business. My ideas and concerns were always listened to, even if they weren't always acted on. I've never worked at a place with such a well-cultivated sense of teamwork.

    Cons

    The industry changes quickly and the business changes with it. Heller is very good at evaluating its options, but if you're someone who is uncomfortable with changing roles and sometimes quickly evolving structures, it can be tough.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I love my job!

    Oct 12, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are high expectations at our firm in terms of how many hours we are to bill and how much work we need to contribute to each project. However, the pay-off is a super flexible work-schedule, being able to own your work and contribute to your job in ways that are authentic to you as a working professional. The people are great and all have these distinctive qualities; motivated; eager; creative; authentic; hard-working; flexible, diligent; personal; transparent and unique! I have great support from my managers and my Executive team, even in trying and challenging times.

    Cons

    The work load can be very challenging and it tends to fluctuate during the year. This is all dependent on our project load and Non-profits/Fundraising seasons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work.

    Apr 4, 2010 - Client Representative in Berkeley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The owner, Keith Heller is probably the best manager I ever worked for. His time management skills are incredible. He focuses on what is important and is open to everyone learning and growing. He takes care of himself and his family and encourages you to do the same. There is continuous communication, feedback and improvement in processes. Continuous creativity in expanding business opportunities and you are doing it all to help non profits improve their fundraising. Wish I still worked there.

    Cons

    Can't think of any. I left for personal reasons. I do know that if you are a consultant it does require extensive travel which may be difficult for many people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A fun company that sincerely cares about its employees and its clients.

    Nov 3, 2014 - Consultant in Oakland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Heller cares about its employees. Consultants are encouraged to pursue professional development opportunities and given resources to do so. This is a place where you can learn a lot of technical and other skills. This is a place will you will get to use your brain and work out interesting and complex problems on a daily basis. The office culture is wonderful. Heller employs a group of really smart, fun, and hard-working people. You will love your coworkers! You will also get to work with some amazing organizations and help further the great work that they do.

    Cons

    Working on numerous projects in tandem can lead to an imbalanced workload. Sometimes you are insanely busy and other times you have a lot less to do.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great boutique firm. Fantastic colleagues and nonprofit clients.

    Dec 16, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Heller for a few years. The work is very challenging, but can be extremely rewarding. Almost cliche to say, but my colleagues are the best part of coming to work each day. A close second is the opportunity to work with amazing nonprofit organizations across North America.

    Cons

    Work can be very challenging. Project-based work is typically very deadline-driven. There are certainly lower-impact jobs out there. This is a job you have to love to do well.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company dedicated to employee growth

    Jul 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    dedication to employee growth & professional development wonderful team of employees that support and care for each other the company cares about our clients and adding value to the nonprofit sector smart, hard working, creative, and ambitious co-workers

    Cons

    it's a crowded space and sometimes hard to see the unique value that Heller offers

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with Heller Consulting Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Heller Consulting? Share Your Experiences

or