Hello Design Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Hello Design CEO David Lai
David Lai
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will meet and work alongside amazing and talented people(in 5 reviews)

  • "Nice people, centrally located, dog friendly, some good clients(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "As with most agencies, this job can have fairly long hours(in 5 reviews)

  • "He will then yell at you because he hasn't seen the creative or feels out of the loop or feels like "no one is pushing the project forward"(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Learning a lot

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like being part of a team here—people work together collaboratively, are smart, and care about each other and the creative output. I was drawn to Hello’s values, the great clients and projects, and I have found all to be true here. It’s a creatively stimulating environment with opportunities to grow in your expertise and get exposure to learn new things.

      Cons

      Fake negative reviews on Glassdoor. My former employer had this problem on Glassdoor, and those bad reviews did not reflect the company. So I know to take these with a grain of salt. In my time here I have not personally encountered negativity like what these Glassdoor reviews say at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Rewarding Experience

      Mar 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having worked at Hello for several years, reading some of the negative reviews here is interesting. It seems many are from people with personal gripes with the company. I’ve had a rewarding and positive experience, so I wanted to share some insights on what I’ve enjoyed the most at Hello: - High quality people who you can learn from and enjoy collaborating with. I consider myself fortunate to have met and worked with many of the people here, and still keep in touch with many. - Big impactful brands and cool projects. There are projects I’m really proud both of working on and putting on my resume. - Control and leadership opportunity. For me, this was a benefit because I tend to be hands-on and proactive. I was able to shape my career in terms of my role and the projects I worked on.

      Cons

      Leadership can sometimes be busy and preoccupied with overseeing work and new business. However this can be expected at any company- and if you take time to seek advice, they do find the time to provide it.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Talented Team and Cool Projects

      Feb 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As mentioned in most of these reviews, there are smart and talented people and I enjoy working with all of them. I am proud of the work I’ve done here for some pretty cool brands. One of the things I enjoy the most is working on different projects for all kinds of clients so there are always new challenges and opportunities.

      Cons

      I think people are smart enough to see for themselves that a lot of these super negative comments are just not true and are more attacks from someone disgruntled. No place is perfect but I can say Hello is always trying to get better. They do listen to feedback and I’ve seen a lot of positive change personally. Like everything else in life, if it’s too positive or too negative, it’s probably neither extreme. Just talk to different people who work here during the interview process (which is what I did) and I can say after being here for a while a lot of it was unfounded.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      embarrassingly bad leadership and work environment

      May 13, 2021 - Employee At Hello Design in Culver City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free water -Coworkers are cool; you bond together in misery and celebrate as people move on to new jobs eventually.

      Cons

      -Utter lack of regard for your time and personal life. Expect to work nights/weekends. -Pay is below industry avg. Really stingy w/ PTO. -You will be left alone if you're valued (i.e. talented designer or developer). Everyone else, good luck. -Grown men and women literally cry here after being berated and belittled by the CEO and management. And for what? A website or an email? bahaha

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place for Stockholm Syndrome

      Mar 17, 2021 - Creative in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's fun to compare the real reviews from the fake ones. The reason Hello has notable work is not because of the CEO or higher-up leaders, but because of the interns and entry level employees who though of everything and did all the work.

      Cons

      Funny How these 4 or 5 star reviews dismiss the verbal abuse from CEO. "I think people are smart enough to see for themselves that a lot of these super negative comments are just not true" should be a red flag in itself and is gaslighting. Anyone who labels people as "disgruntled" either benefit from a system that takes advantage of employees or have low self-esteem, they would rather preserve a destructive office environment That all stems from CEO. Shame on the COO for enabling such disorganization, toxic energy, and lack of guidance for entry-level employees. The rest of the leadership are not necessarily bad in nature, but are bad for not sticking up for employees when CEO because they are complacent and don't bother to change the work culture.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fake reviews, Fake creative, Fake CEO

      Feb 8, 2021 - Creative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - a good foot in the door and a job to cover the basics of living life - you will meet great people and bond with them over the miserable life and job you have in this company

      Cons

      - CEO creates a toxic environment for employees including management. Very top-bottom and does not respect or appreciate anyone else's time but himself. - Clearly takes on project for cheap to appease clients and underpays all the employees. Churn is real here. - When a review starts with "A REAL REVIEW of"... let's be real, you know its fake. - Just run the other way because its a waste of time

      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Freelance Designer

      Dec 15, 2020 - Freelance Designer in Culver City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has great culture and great teamwork

      Cons

      There was nothing bad about Hello

      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The Low Hanging Fruit™ of workplaces.

      Oct 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will meet and work alongside amazing and talented people. You will form lasting bonds with these people through a joint sense of suffering and despair. Like another reviewer said, you'll learn that Glassdoor Reviews reveal extreme truths about a place, do not ignore them.

      Cons

      - CEO/CCO shoots down ideas from larger group and usually only proceeds with his own. He'll call your ideas "Low Hanging Fruit" - the "obvious" "easy" stuff not worth pursuing. - With this unchecked power running the place, you will most likely waste your time here. Every project will end up looking the same, the ideas are regurgitated from often times YEARS ago. The web design elements, repeated for every client - all at the direction of the CEO/CCO. - This agency may have a "cool" client roster, but you'll rarely do work you're proud of for those clients. As previously mentioned, you'll do what the CEO/CCO wants to do. (Are you seeing a pattern here? You are merely a machine, taking something from point A to point B at breakneck speeds. Don't think, just do.) - CEO is also an ego maniac who values his time above all else. He will ignore a project + check ins until the very last minute where he proceeds to blow everything up 2 days before a presentation, quite literally, every single time. - You're encouraged to speak up about what's upsetting you or project roadblocks, but face retaliation if you do. - Upper management operates in fear, no one there has your back or best interest at heart. The name of the game is self-preservation. - The turnover is remarkable. Someone will leave every month. It hurts morale, but you're always happy to see people find freedom. - On top of all this, you're paid poorly and chastised for taking PTO–what little of it you have.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Don't work here

      Jan 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None - wouldn't recommend to anyone

      Cons

      Long hours, bad executive management

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Still Recovering

      Aug 28, 2020 - Project Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You start to find yourself again after you decide to leave and you trust Glassdoor Reviews in a way you never did before.

      Cons

      Truly where to begin? The CEO is a textbook narcissistic bully and the upper management entirely enables him. They are never fully staffed because most people don't want to suffer through the indignity of working there. Turnover like you wouldn't believe. The emphasis is not on coming to a solution you are proud of but instead appeasing the CEO at a breakneck pace. Genuinely an ASTONISHINGLY bad workplace. I promise you- you deserve better. I wish I had believed the reviews before I started.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hello Design Job Seekers

    Copywriter
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hello Design? Share Your Experiences

    Hello Design logo
    or