Hello Labs Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Hello Labs Co-founders Sean Biganski & Steve McIntosh (no image)
Sean Biganski & Steve McIntosh
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work

    Aug 3, 2020 - Director of Product Development 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's amazing what can do done when good people focus on the right things (customer support & product building). Hello Labs has changed a lot over the years. It has settled into a mature, profitable company with virtually no workplace drama.

    Cons

    Nothing consequential. Telecom can be a little jargony.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jan 5, 2019 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Seeks to implement best practices • Teammates are friendly and very smart • Boss is easy to get along with and very smart • From what I've gathered from my peers who are engineers in other companies, the codebase is in good shape

    Cons

    None really. A great place to work.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Hello Labs Response

    CTO

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It's always great to hear that the environment is both friendly and technically sound.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Life at BeQuick

    Jul 2, 2014 - Director of the Borg in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Projects! Projects! Projects! You always have something to do, every day is like leading a tiny fleet of ships into the world. You always have a new course to take or rewrite the course you were on before with new information. Your ability to work takes priority in all aspects. They respect you as a person not as a number, sometimes you can't control life and BeQuick knows that. Car problems, kid problems or basic life problems they are always ready to move things around to make sure you are comforatble to work. We don't carry badges to walk around our own building which makes you feel like cattle being tagged in a range, we are treated as human beings and most importantly like family.

    Cons

    I only have one con after working at BeQuick for so long. We like to hand out titles to make people feel important, we are such a small company that sometimes those titles make certain people think they have power and forget we are still a small company and all work together on everything. We also need to upgrade and get some ps4's.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I'm never leaving.

    Mar 4, 2015 - Project Manager in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company culture is fantastic. There is a true sense of "team" here unlike any other place I've worked. We all genuinely like spending time together both at work and extracurricularly. There is an emphasis on health, fitness, work/life balance, family, good food and just general positivity. I am always challenged. I am always learning new things and solving new puzzles. There are endless ways to contribute. Training and attending conferences is encouraged. Need a supply of some kind? Just ask, you'll get it. I seriously don't want to have to work anywhere else... ever.

    Cons

    The products we develop and support are extremely complex. We are extremely agile and therefore tend to change our approach frequently which can be frustrating to some. There's room for improvement. We are growing into working well with our remote teams - also room for improvement.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Startup culture with established company stability.

    Feb 18, 2016 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great work life balance, unlimited days off, and overtime is not encouraged. -Great co-workers, they really follow the "No a**hole" rule when it comes to hiring. -Work from home, the majority of the team is remote. (can be a con to some people) -It's a family business and employees are treated like so. Management is very reasonable and flexible. -Current team of developers cares about their craft, and are constantly making improvements to the products and processes. -Good benefits (health, dental, 401k) for a small company. -It's a small team and you can make significant impact on the company and product.

    Cons

    -It's a niche industry and it takes a while to understand all the different players, regulations, acronyms, etc... -The existing (legacy) product consists of millions of lines of Perl using a mix of different conventions, standards, and ideologies. It's is a huge pain to understand and maintain. -The legacy product is still buggy which leads to weekly "fire drills". -The legacy development team is relatively new to the code base, and there is little to no documentation. Very few people understand how the entire system is supposed to work.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Growing company with a great attitude.

    Feb 17, 2015 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very forward facing company with a strong desire to do right by employees, stay on top of new technologies, apply best practices, and build a better workplace. Down to earth ownership and management that gives and promotes feedback on policies and decisions.

    Cons

    Established in the industry (10 years) but growing quickly so some processes, including onboarding, are still being roughed out. This could be a pro as well depending on your perspective.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Hello Labs Response

    CTO

    Thanks for the advice regarding onboarding and obtaining feedback. Both of these are hot topics for us. We recently created a new position in the company that will oversee all things Training and Education. For both employees and our clients. The plan is take what we do for new hires and make it consistent and documented. Then, it should be easier to expand on. Touching base with each person more consistently is definitely something we need to improve on. As a growing, flat organization, this is something we need to figure out. Thanks for putting this on our radar.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Small company with big plans and progressive ideas

    Mar 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home - over half of the employees are remote (within US, not outsourced). Small company atmosphere. There is always work to be done and ideas for improvement are encouraged. Very good benefits package that includes unlimited PTO and workers are encouraged to take as much as they need. Ownership is always looking to innovate not just their products but also how the company is run and the tools used daily.

    Cons

    It can be hard to keep up and will require someone that is capable of knowing their limits and when to take a step back. A lot of stressful situations working in a fast paced business. Customers aren't always the most understanding.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    One developers story on working at BeQuick

    Jun 11, 2014 - Senõr Developer in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership. The key to having a strong army is strong leadership. Understanding. New projects are always full of unknowns. BeQuick knows this and support all efforts. Perks. Fun company events, great people and the entertainment never runs out. Family. While there are many employees who are related to each other, we all feel like family.

    Cons

    Deadlines, but who doesn't have deadlines? Nobody plays ping pong anymore :( And we still haven't upgraded to PS4's.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Lead Software Developer

    Jan 13, 2016 - Lead Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote. Flexible schedule. Management knows and understands our systems, and the complexity that they involve. They have been very willing to listen to the teams desire to fix or rework problem areas, and at times have surprised me by actually requesting it even when it means features must be delayed. Everybody has been fun and nice to work with. The Ruby team, of which I'm a part of, is very senior and very good.

    Cons

    If you work on the legacy product, you are in for a difficult time. The company is still somewhat inexperienced at running a remote team, but they have committed to a remote team.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Needs Improvement

    Jul 18, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in North Palm Beach, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to learn and hone skills. Fast paced tech savvy team. Flexible job, "not career" type place to work.

    Cons

    No HR, no plans to get one. High turnover rate. Not many stay long. 1-3 years at best. No employer loyalty. Benefits were nice gestures. Beer and movies instead of benefits that matter. No acceptance of different personalities types except their own, hence the reason for no HR I guess. Weird environment between management and employees outside of the clique. Small company. No employee growth. Promotion only between the clique club.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Hello Labs Response

    CTO

    Thank you for the honest feedback. Excluding employees hired within the past 12 months, our average tenure is 4.5 years. As a testament to employee happiness and longevity, it should be noted that 1/3 of employees have been referred by an existing employee. Also, within the last 12 months alone, nearly 50% of all employees have received some kind of promotion or title change. As for Benefits, although we are a small company, we have always offered competitive benefits. We offered healthcare coverage 10 years before it was required by law. In addition to offering the choice of two health care plans, we also have free Life Insurance, Short Term Disability and Vision coverage. In addition to free beer and movies of course ;)

Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hello Labs Job Seekers

Customer Success Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hello Labs? Share Your Experiences

Hello Labs logo
or