Helmut Lang Reviews | Glassdoor

Helmut Lang Reviews

Updated 5 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
Helmut Lang CEO Andrew Rosen
Andrew Rosen
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Intern Under Trim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Helmut Lang

    Pros

    Great brand and environment, wonderful people and positive outlook

    Cons

    Sometimes a bit disorganized and had downsizing

    Helmut Lang2016-12-06
  2. "Gray cloud everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helmut Lang full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I appreciate the history and the qualities of the products

    Cons

    Everything else you can think of

    Advice to Management

    Train management teams, a bunch of old people running around doing nothing will do no good for the company

    Helmut Lang2019-08-05
  3. "Pattern Maker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Helmut Lang full-time

    Pros

    Is a good and very progressive Company, Very high quality merchandise. open main with all employee. Opportunity to made employment growing

    Cons

    the Company try to reduce costing, and some of the employee sending out by layoff

    Helmut Lang2018-11-15
  4. Helpful (6)

    "false promises."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Helmut Lang full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good discount on the product.

    Cons

    Failing business. No designer. No brand identity. A lot of uncertainty and constant changes. False promises of promotions. Many left or were fired and never replaced, adding more roles and bigger pressure on remaining employees. I worked weekends with no overtime pay or comp days. Most divisions are stretched so thin that there is no coverage when you are out sick or on vacation so you end up bringing your... laptop to the beach (or just not taking any trips since you won't be making much here).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire a designer who can build the brand's identity. By hiring expensive agencies and disrespectful consultants, you are only adding cost and workload. Showing appreciation to loyal employees goes a long way.

    Helmut Lang2017-06-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Fabric Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Helmut Lang full-time

    Pros

    Hours are normal. Insurance provided. Great location. Kind employees. Facilities are nice. Kitchen space and coffee provided.

    Cons

    No training. Blind leading the blind. Processes are confusing and too complicated. A lot of time is wasted by following old processes. Poor management. Toxic environment. Lots of hires and fires.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the value of your employees. Keep a closer eye on the day to day. Especially on upper management. Many of employees are unhappy here.

    Helmut Lang2017-05-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Has potential, but fails to deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Helmut Lang full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Creative environment, Interesting Designs, Constantly challenged on a technical level, Great boss. Some great coworkers. Gained a lot of experience.

    Cons

    Terrible HR department, Young entitled designers with too high titles. Unstable design direction. Toxic environment for part of my time working there. Unsupportive upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Build a stronger and dependable HR department. Trust your employees and treat them more respectfully. Acknowledge and credit everyones hard work. Focus more on finding good personality types with experience than just creative talent and well known names.

    Helmut Lang2017-04-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Buyer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Helmut Lang full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Promote from within, room to grow

    Cons

    Step-child to Theory, branding issues

    Helmut Lang2017-02-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Key Holder in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Helmut Lang

    Pros

    I worked as a keyholder at several Los Angeles locations and found the company to have a real community feel. Everyone was supportive, encouraging of each other's strengths and open-minded. The company is small and you get to work closely with the corporate team.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover in management. The brand itself has been in an interesting flux for the past several years as well and has lost a lot of its base clientele.

    Advice to Management

    Look to hire team members who are planning to stick around for a while. Losing managers regularly is difficult for morale.

    Helmut Lang2016-11-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Helmut Lang

    Pros

    It was great! Everybody was so nice, I got a lot of free things! The office was beautiful.

    Cons

    There wasn't an opening to hire full time sadly during my term. That's the only con.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for being amazing human beings.

    Helmut Lang2016-09-22
  10. "Menswear Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Helmut Lang

    Pros

    Awesome team while I was there. Everyone is very friendly and there's always a fun vibe since most of the team is young. They are really accommodating and patient while you learn. Easy to become efficient after you learn the basics. Just ask a lot of questions.

    Cons

    It's a part of a huge company so it's a little hard to learn everyone's names and figure out who does what.

    Helmut Lang2016-05-28
Found 20 reviews