Helping Hand Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Helping Hand Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
Bill Dwyer
0 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Teaching Assistant in Countryside, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Helping Hand Center full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You're really making a difference in the lives of kids and families. You can see the progress the kids are making.

    Cons

    It's a hard job; I won't lie. It's a challenge. It requires a lot of patience.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to show staff at all levels how important they are.

    Helping Hand Center2017-03-16
  2. "It takes a special person to handle this population. A big heart is not enough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - One-on-one Instructional Assistant in Countryside, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Helping Hand Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When you helped a child get that "lightbulb" moment.

    Cons

    Got beat up daily. I have pictures of bite marks. If a child's plan requires a 2 person pick up, it was hard to find another person on a moment's notice to help. Seriously consider how much patience you have before working with this population, it takes a special person to get beat up daily yet still help these students with profound autism. I have a big heart but that wasn't enough.

    Advice to Management

    If your employees are dealing with profound/severe needs, do you really think $10.50/ hour is enough? For that amount of physical outbursts and emotional needs, I think deserves like $15/hr.

    Helping Hand Center2019-01-24
  3. "Old School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Helping Hand Center full-time

      Pros

      Working with the students during the day

      Cons

      Old school and not looking out for employees, favorites, HIGH turn over

      Helping Hand Center2018-03-16
    • "QIDP"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Helping Hand Center full-time

      Pros

      Working with ID/DD patients is a passion of mine, and caring for others is the pathway to success.

      Cons

      Constantly busy via phone, email, home visits, etc. Can ultimately become mentally draining.

      Advice to Management

      None, the agency maintains a high level of professionalism

      Helping Hand Center2018-02-05
    • "Meaningful work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Helping Hand Center full-time

        Pros

        The clients were fun to work with.

        Cons

        There is no room for advancement

        Helping Hand Center2017-11-24
      • "Awful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Helping Hand Center full-time

        Pros

        Helping people and casual enviornment

        Cons

        Horrible pay, incompetent management, catty workers, low staff morale

        Advice to Management

        Clean out management

        Helping Hand Center2017-09-01
      • Helpful (1)

        "Keep on looking"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Helping Hand Center full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Very rewarding job. Co workers are amazing.

        Cons

        Management is nonexistent and stucked in old ways of thinking. Has been on a pay freeze for over 2 years. No room for advancement. Since July 2015 over 80% of staff left

        Advice to Management

        Bring in new management to the school, stuck in old ways.

        Helping Hand Center2016-10-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "dsp"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - CNA/DSP/DD-Aid in Countryside, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Helping Hand Center full-time

        Pros

        There was nothing good about working at helping hand, they don't listen to their employees and they have no respect for the staff. The staff are the most important people at the company because they work with the clients. If there is no staff, there is no company.

        Cons

        There are no career opportunities and it's horrible horrible, horrible, horrible, horrible.

        Advice to Management

        Respect your staff , and you may be able to keep them , and the pay suck

        Helping Hand Center2016-10-16
      • Helpful (2)

        "It's terrible when the vets start leaving."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Helping Hand Center

        Pros

        Client experience is priceless.

        Cons

        Pay is significantly low. My niece made more money working at McDonald's and here I am maintaining the quality of people's lives.

        Advice to Management

        Quality of service is directly related to the investments and employer makes into their employees. Not just HR/upper level management. Definitely a shared feeling that employees aren't valued here.

        Helping Hand Center2016-01-29
      • "HH Center"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Countryside, IL

          I have been working at Helping Hand Center for more than a year

          Pros

          Rewarding job giving back to the community to disabled clients.

          Cons

          The future direction is questionable.

          Advice to Management

          Watch management spending.

          Helping Hand Center2016-01-04
        Found 14 reviews