Hendrick Automotive Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Hendrick Automotive Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 284 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Hendrick Automotive Group CEO Edward J. (Ed) Brown III
Edward J. (Ed) Brown III
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, friendly environment, over all great place to work(in 20 reviews)

  • "From free health insurance to incredible income potential, I can honestly say that this is by far the best automotive group on the planet(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours , outdated lead sheets(in 33 reviews)

  • "Commission structure is nothing like any other dealership, you could make the(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automotive Technician in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Health care is provided to you at no cost, monthly bonuses. there is no limit to how far you can make it with the company. if you have a good read on your shoulders and aren't a negative Nancy you can grow within the company. I work with some really great people and have talked to Mr.H several times and he is a great guy. I recommend this company to anyone who knows the industry and wants to achieve great things

    Cons

    Some of the management can be difficult to work with but I will say this. the ones that are difficult never stay around. where I work I don't have any bad managers but I know a few and they have all left and there are some really good people there now.

    Advice to Management

    I think the only thing that would make this a better place is if we didn't take vacation days we could get them paid to us at the end of the year like our sick days. that would be awesome. I very rarely like to take time off but it would be nice to to receive a check for that.

    Hendrick Automotive Group2018-08-28
  2. "GREAT WORK ATMOSPHERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    This is a very friendly work place and lots of benefits for employees.

    Cons

    Pay is not as good as other places

    Hendrick Automotive Group2019-05-13
  3. "Car Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, free healthcare, genuine fun at times

    Cons

    Its Sales lots of hours

    Hendrick Automotive Group2019-05-16
  4. "Awful work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - BDC 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time

      Pros

      hours retirement plan health care direct deposit pay

      Cons

      biased/poor management poor work culture inability to go to HR entitled employees misleading pay

      Advice to Management

      Don't play favorites. It's too obvious. If you're going to have rules, enforce them for EVERYONE. Don't let employees who have been there for a few years have complete control when they are not managers. Listen to what your employees are saying. Don't sugarcoat bonuses/commissions. That is misleading-especially since certain employees cheat the system. Aim to solve issues and problems instead of giving them more fuel....

      Show More
      Hendrick Automotive Group2019-05-18
    • "My Experience as a Service Porter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Service Porter in Pleasanton, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good hours, flexible schedule, and competitive pay here at Hendrick. The environment is friendly and interaction from management to entry level workers is very transparent, and just great experience.

      Cons

      Sometimes the workload can be very tiring due to low staff for Porters. You have to juggle multiple objectives at once and always stay alert. There is tension when work or the service drive gets really heavy to keep up with.

      Advice to Management

      Make sure to tell a difference between people who really want to work and those who clock out as soon as closing hours are stated.

      Hendrick Automotive Group2019-04-10
    • "Absolute joke of a dealer group"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Buford, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Met some really cool people in my time there. Pretty decent benefits, but you need to be there an entire year to get any of them besides health insurance. (Average salesperson lasted 2-3 months tops). You usually work every other Sunday and they're short shifts. It seems like the service technicians are actually taken care of.

      Cons

      Pitiful base salary compared to other dealer groups that use a base+commission structure. Commission structure is nothing like any other dealership, you could make the dealership several tens of thousands of dollars but if you didn't make enough phone calls or get enough reviews back from customers then they'll shame you and not pay you a dime. I've sold 15 cars (this would usually pay around $5,000-7,000 in commission...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      If you're going to drag the entire staff into a meeting at 8:30am just to pitch a fit about how were lazy and unmotivated, don't expect us to be excited and cheery about sitting in an empty showroom until 10:30pm. Especially if that's the schedule for 4+ days straight. Double that when I'm doing a $60,000+/yr job for less than half that.

      Hendrick Automotive Group2019-05-11
    • "Great Team Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Service Porter 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Team Environment Learning and Growth Opportunities

      Cons

      Often have longer days than expected

      Hendrick Automotive Group2019-03-11
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Accounting Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great working environment at Hendrick Automotive

      Cons

      I dont have any cons

      Advice to Management

      There is no advice at this time

      Hendrick Automotive Group2019-03-11
    • "5 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Pay was great for a time. Pay plans are slashed each year

      Cons

      Management is unqualified and unresponsive

      Advice to Management

      Hire from within

      Hendrick Automotive Group2019-03-12

      Hendrick Automotive Group Response

      March 20, 2019Social Media Manager

      Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at reviews@hendrickauto.com

    • "Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time

      Pros

      They offered me terrific benefits

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say about the benefits

      Hendrick Automotive Group2019-02-20
    Found 284 reviews