Hendrick Automotive Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Hendrick Automotive Group Reviews

Updated February 20, 2017
32 reviews

Filter

Filter


1.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hendrick Automotive Group President and CEO Edward J. (Ed) Brown III
Edward J. (Ed) Brown III
15 Ratings

32 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great company great benefits, dominates the marketplace (in 13 reviews)

  • Free health insurance, good 401K option, better benefits after three years of employment, company discourages management from firing people (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • long hours, little vacation time, very little flexibility with hours (in 19 reviews)

  • The pay plan here compared to other dealerships within Hendrick, is DISRESPECTFUL (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (8)

    "One of the worst companies I've ever worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Driven, profitable company, high expectations, good benefits

    Cons

    Employees are treated as consumables. Given the pristine reputation of this company I do not think that has always been the case. It is certainly the norm now.

    The best comparison I have heard is that the company is a cult. Every real issue is given 2 replies. One is that Hendrick is the greatest company ever and you should be thankful to work for the (cult) greatest company in the world. The second reply is to paint a picture of a utopian future where these problems won't exist anymore once the company reaches a certain benchmark. None of those benchmarks are ever met so issues are never resolved.

    Real example: Management explains that they value their employees and therefore respect the employees personal time and schedule by keeping it consistent and not forcing long hours or extra days. Management then changes your schedule every 3 weeks on average and expects you to come in early and stay late doing work you often don't get paid for and on short notice (see 30 minutes).

    The stress level is unbelievable. Employees who work there for a year start greying. Seriously. Instead of taking in a reasonable amount of work they overload everyone and pressure them to work extra to get it all done. The employees end their days with zero energy left for anything else. If you work for this company your job is your life. Employees look like zombies and talk about their next vacation.

    Management is deaf. They came from another car line and have zero experience with a brand that the employees have years with. The people at the last car line produced a certain quota and so should this one, no excuses. There is no amount of evidence, logic or reason to convince management otherwise.

    Until Hendrick I never worked for a company that so consistently pitted its actions and words against each other, or that expected so much of its employees while maintaining an attitude that its employees are worthless and unproductive no matter the degree of productivity or sacrifice the employees achieve for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people who have experience.

    Notice and appreciate the men and women who are sacrificing personal time and producing above average work. Not by spinning a wheel for money once a month, but by raising their pay rate.

    Have the same integrity toward employees as you do toward customers.

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Duluth, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Duluth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Sales training. You do also get a first-hand view on how not to treat a customer

    Cons

    zero respect for employees- even less for customers. Customer surveys (sales consultants have to get customers to write positive review and score all perfect --- or lose substantial portion of commissions). This is used primarily to protect Hendrick from customer complaints. Educated consumers would NEVER purchase a vehicle from Hendrick

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  3. Helpful (3)

    "manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    horrible place to work long hours, no appreciation, work life balance is a joke

    Cons

    nothing run run run run

    Advice to Management

    treat people better.

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Dec 5, 2016 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "don't"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    monthly lunches were alright I suppose

    Cons

    pay and benefits are bad

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Oct 19, 2016 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  6. Helpful (13)

    "Stay clear of this company."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in North Charleston, SC
    Current Employee - Sales in North Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Clean facility. Free health care if you are single. The older crew is very helpful to those new in the industry. Not as cut throat as other places.

    Cons

    -Cut our pay and now we only make $7.20 with NO COMMISSION. We were lied too when it happened and told it would be a pay plan change but better for us. Now many of us can not pay our bills and are losing everything.
    -They have us scheduled to work over 60 hours a week. We do not get overtime on the $7.20
    -Management lacks compassion as they ask how we are doing and trying to persuade us to stay when we have been placed into poverty.
    -They hire people and lie to them about the nature of the job and the potential pay...those people then quit so very high turn over.
    -No general concern about the employees well being and happiness.

    Morale is very low here and from what I can read nationwide. Be wary of the positive reviews from "current employees". Especially when all of the negative reviews are addressing the same thing. Money. Most of us work to live and not live to work. You work for money and this place is not PAYING.

    Advice to Management

    You're ruining lives of people for the sake of greed.

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Sep 19, 2016 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  7. Helpful (10)

    "Not what it was!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Merriam, KS
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Merriam, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits,nice working facilities, easy to transfer between dealerships. Employee gets free medical insurance, life insurance and after 3 years, glass & dental

    Cons

    Before 2013 it was a great atmosphere, most employees very happy. Very proud to say I work for Hendrick. Mr. Hendrick wants servant leadership, which is fantastic BUT management in my store do not follow it. Most have never been on halo!!!
    Major salary cuts to everyone. Most don't feel valued or appreciated. We are losing fantastic employees because of pay plan cuts. Some have been here over 20 years that have left or planning on leaving soon. I have been here 10 years

    Advice to Management

    Please wake up! All the changes in culture are back firing. Make people feel valued again. People don't leave companies, they leave managers. Pay people what they are worth!!

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Sep 14, 2016 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  8. Helpful (4)

    "Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Former Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Paid health care for the employee. Great brands and nice facilities. Many locations across the south eastern part of the country.

    Cons

    Executive Management and Market Area Vp's have destroyed what was once a great company. Major pay cuts. Core values replaced by greed of a few Vp's @ the top.


  9. Helpful (8)

    "I work in the trenches of the service department earning pennies on the millions I've produced for The Man."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Technician in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Working for this company will teach you many things, and your will meet many like minded, struggling, blue collar people.

    Cons

    The John Desmond/Ed Brown Reich. Under their reign the pyramid of producers has a wide base while the pyramid of earners is inverted.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the employee, and the employee with take care of the customer, the satisfied customer will take care of the profits.

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Aug 26, 2016 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  10. Helpful (8)

    "BDC"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - North Carolina in Charlotte, NC
    Former Employee - North Carolina in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    1 hour lunch breaks. Once a month you can 'earn' a spin on the wheel and u get cash and prizes.

    Cons

    Where to start. You can never fully grasp what you are suppose to do because upper management is constantly changing everything. They make you stand up at luncheons and recite a BDC Creed which is cult like. Management is all over the place and do not expect anyone to be able to help you. You make a 'base' pay of like $750 after taxes every 2 weeks and if your customer shows up to the dealership you get $10/show. So you are lucky to make $700-$800 in commission. They talk about opportunities for advancement but it's just really what you want to hear in the moment with no real follow through. Turn over is a huge problem and expect to be yelled at on a daily basis. The Director comes around with his assistant to do 'field day' to ensure there is absolutely nothing on your desk or cubicle when obviously there's better things he could be doing.

    Advice to Management

    Get off your high horse and understand that the BDC is a fraction of what the Hendrick Corp is and if you ever want it to be something then invest in your employees. What a waste.

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More


  11. Helpful (10)

    "compliance-audit"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hendrick Automotive Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    good benefits..ability to transfer interco..ability to purchase cars at discounted price

    Cons

    don't drink the juice... mgmt...do as I say not as we do....paycuts...mgmt favorites....was not the company by far as what I heard about years ago...very sad...bad reputation - huge turnover.

    Advice to Management

    get back to basics....remove/replace top mgmt

    Hendrick Automotive Group Response

    Aug 23, 2016 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your experience didn’t go as you hoped or expected. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in more detail, please contact us at ... More



Showing 32 of 155 reviews
Reset Filters