Henkel Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Henkel CEO Carsten Knobel
Carsten Knobel
127 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (14)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Rocky Hill, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henkel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. It is encouraged/acceptable to move around to different positions to broaden your experience. Passionate about talent development. There is a lot of training out there that you can take to improve upon certain skills. Company is flexible and allows employees to work from home and gives employees great work-life balance. Competitive pay and excellent retirement benefits.

    Cons

    Like any company (and not unusual), there is pressure to see the business perform well.

    Henkel Response

    May 8, 2020North America Talent Acquisition Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always strive to create a work environment in which our employees feel valued and supported in accomplishing their career goals.

  2. COVID-19

    "Excellent Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henkel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am new to the company but wanted to share my experience so far. Everyone I interacted with throughout the interview process and my first couple weeks was friendly, helpful, and professional. The company has an internal reputation of taking excellent care of its employees even in challenging times such as the current pandemic. They also seem legitimately interested in professional growth and development. I enjoy the fact the company stresses sustainability and other globally-conscious initiatives.

    Cons

    I have not had any negative experiences so far.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Compensation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing Intern in Rocky Hill, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Henkel part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I pay you very well

    Cons

    I did not have any negativity with them

    Henkel Response

    August 5, 2020North America Talent Acquisition Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope you are enjoying your internship experience at Henkel!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for! Frequent global job opportunities for those who deliver results and are mobile"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henkel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1) Company based on family business tradition - good working atmosphere (friendly co-workers globally) - strong employee benefits (not salary!) incl. fair work-life balance options - Henkel puts priorities on "good things" like Sustainability or Diversity&Inclusion - many career growth opportunities globally (if you show results and mobility) 2) Diverse business unit setup (Industrial B2B business and CPG) - opportunities for employees to experience both (markets, customers, processes) - challenge e.g. for functions like Finance/HR/IT to drive synergies across 3) Growth & transformation agenda in North & Latin America for last 5 years (and continuing) - multiple M&As resulting in business growth - many opportunities - stronger footprint (many more locations, offices) - more locations to work from - opportunities to impact (improve efficiency after integration AND grow business further through synergies/cross-selling)

    Cons

    1) Company late in putting true focus on Digital Business transformation (recently started in Q1 2020) 2) As (hiring) manager in US: - Company"Henkel" is not known in US ("is that the knife company"...NO!) - difficulties to attract top talents - Salary levels not really competitive to attract top talents (although this is needed) 3) Not many growth opportunities in the US beyond Director level - many expats taking senior leadership positions - Henkel's talent mgt program requires senior managers to work abroad for career progression but expats from US are rarely sent due to high costs

    Continue reading

    Henkel Response

    July 29, 2020North America Talent Acquisition Team

    We agree that Henkel is a great company for which to work and appreciate you providing such detailed feedback to help our candidates get a better look into the diverse opportunities offered to our employees. Thank you, Your Henkel HR Team

  5. COVID-19

    "Onboarding during Covid19"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henkel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Henkel maintained a high level of communication throughout the hiring and onboarding process. That communication and support has continued throughout the organization with training and meetings. They are very proactive in their approach to Covid19 and safety. This environment requires individuals who demonstrate a high level of initiative, ownership and good judgement.

    Cons

    In the current environment of remote work and limited human interaction, individuals need to be proactive in reaching out and building relationships - especially in a new job. Like any organization, you also need to learn how to navigate the politics.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good People - Disorganized"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Cost Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henkel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, helpful people Allow you to specify your hours as long as you're available for meetings and get your work done

    Cons

    Unorganized in some respects, vastly understaffed

    Continue reading

    Henkel Response

    July 29, 2020North America Talent Acquisition Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Henkel, flexibility and a positive work life balance are key parts of our employee experience. We encourage you to share your advice which your HR Business Partner as providing our employees with the resources and opportunities need to develop is critically important to us. Best regards, Your Henkel HR Team

  7. "Good"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Intern in Germany, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Henkel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    had a good time, respectable

    Cons

    can not think of any

    Henkel Response

    July 28, 2020HR Specialist @Henkel

    Thank you for reviewing your internship in Digital Marketing. We are glad that you look back positively on your time and have awarded Henkel 5 stars for it. All our employees, including interns, receive the respect they deserve as an important part of our team. We are pleased that you were also a part of this team and would look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Your Henkel Team

  8. "Diverse and well established Corporate with forward thinking strategy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henkel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of technologies; Personal touch and care for each employee;

    Cons

    I don't have any negatives to mention

    Henkel Response

    July 17, 2020HR Specialist @Henkel

    We are pleased that you have rated your experience with 5 stars and that you already recognize the innovative technologies and the appreciation of each individual employee in our company. Here, we offer more than just jobs and will hopefully continue to do so for you for many more years. Best regards, Your Henkel Team

  9. "Great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henkel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people with minimal resources

    Cons

    Lack of budget and research

    Henkel Response

    July 17, 2020HR Specialist @Henkel

    Thank you for awarding the previous 3 years in our company with the best possible rating. At Henkel, we play as a team where the diversity of backgrounds, skills, and knowledge of our employees complement each other perfectly. We hope that you, as a Team Lead, will continue to have a positive influence on this unity in the years to come. Best regards, Your Henkel Team

  10. "NOT WORTH THE ABUSE"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Operator in Seabrook, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Henkel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good and supervisors are usually willing to give you the time off you request.

    Cons

    There is no room for growth unless you are considered a favorite. No AC in production and forced to wear long sleeve heavy clothes...many people have fainted or suffered from heat stroke. If you have used all of you OA time (one week) and call out you will get a verbal warning, then a written warning, unpaid suspension and then they will fire you. No HR at Seabrook site which makes supervisors get away with a lot of unprofessional behavior. Favoritism is the key to growth at Seabrook and the new plant manager has not hired a single person since being promoted in 2019....many have left though. I have seen a supervisors sexually harass many girls, throw chairs against walls when angry, tell employees they are easily replaceable and of course play favorites. HR has been told countless times and nothing has been done.

    Continue reading

    Henkel Response

    July 10, 2020North America Talent Acquisition Team

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience and take these matters extremely seriously. Our employees’ health and well-being are our top priorities, and we are committed to providing a safe, comfortable work environment for everyone even more so in this exceptional Covid-19 situation. We would appreciate you providing more details around these concerns, so the facility’s SHE Manager, HR manager, and Site Lead can further investigate. If you want to report your concerns anonymously, please call our Henkel Compliance Line at 1 (888) 662-7878. Best regards, Your Henkel HR Team

Found 1492 reviews