KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Henley Enterprises

Part of Valvoline
Is this your company?

Henley Enterprises

Add a Review

Henley Enterprises Employee Reviews about "cars"

Updated Oct 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 188 reviews

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Henley Enterprises CEO Don Smith
Don Smith
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits with a large company(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great for learning on working on cars without no experience needed(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Takes years to advance beyond SCM, long hours, not enough pay(in 14 reviews)

  • "They have there "core values" that the upper management break on a daily basis(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "cars"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best job to move up in!

      Feb 14, 2018 - Assistant Service Center Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Move up fast within the company. In-store training provided. Don’t have to know anything about cars just join and they teach you!

      Cons

      There is no pay off commission.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Henley Enterprises Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for the feedback! Rapid career advancement and on-the-job training are both are both essential and vital to our business. If you’re willing to learn, we will teach you! We do not believe that commission programs are consistent with our customer approach at the service center. We have however recently increased our base wages to ensure they are fair and competitive with the market. Feel free to reach out to recruiting@vioc.net if you have any questions on this - and thank you again!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Work

      Oct 8, 2020 - Technician in Corona, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn about cars and how to do your own

      Cons

      People were really stubborn to help new employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Henley Enterprises Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your work experience with Henley. We are happy you were able to learn about cars, gaining valuable skills that will stay with you. We also appreciate you making us aware of your experience. Henley is committed to a work environment that is positive and safe, and where new team members feel welcomed and supported by fellow team members. We’d like to understand more about your situation to help improve the work environment. If you’d like to share more insights, please reach out to your HR business partner.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Learn Basic Automotive Maintenance

      Sep 7, 2020 - Assistant Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great for learning on working on cars without no experience needed

      Cons

      Can be stressful with the amount of cars that are serviced every day.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      good enough

      Feb 19, 2019 - Senior Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pays decent enough, train you on everything, and can learn about cars

      Cons

      physically demanding, and sales-oriented.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Henley Enterprises Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      We appreciate you leaving a candid review!

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Working as a Top Tech, Service Technician

      Apr 8, 2018 - Field Service Technician in Newton, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Lots of opportunity for overtime - Learn a lot about cars - Most of the guys you work with are down to earth and chill

      Cons

      - Management was slow to respond to complaints. Water cooler was putting out yellow water and employees had to buy water from the store. - Not much opportunity in terms of career. Even once you get certified for top ad bottom technician, your pay goes up minimally. -Working in the summer was brutal, 90 degree car garage working over 200 degree car engines.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Henley Enterprises Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed learning about cars alongside your team members. However, we are disappointed to hear about your negative experience with management and the water coolers. To address these issues, please reach out to recruiting@vioc.net. Additionally, we understand working in extreme weather conditions can be difficult, but are elements that come with our work environment. Again – thanks for leaving a review. We appreciate your feedback!

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Rodney's Glassdoor Rate

      Mar 18, 2018 - Auto Technician in Everett, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working on cars and helping the customer

      Cons

      Need better training courses, and certification methods. Employees with seniority and experience should be a priority in every store.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Henley Enterprises Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear you are not satisfied with the current training and certification programs we have in place. Our training program is intended to foster rapid career advancement -become a Certified Technician within 60 days, a Certified Senior Technician within 4-6 months, and train for Assistant Manager and Service Center Manager shortly after. If this is not your experience or you would like to reach out to inquire further, please email recruiting@vioc.net. Thank you!

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Opportunities Here

      Mar 8, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get hands-on experience with lots of different cars. Excellent safety protocols.Shops are well maintained. Interact with a lot of different people and can build good sales experience. you can float between locations and there is excellent transferability within the company. The health care is good and cheap. Can be very "Corporate"

      Cons

      The pay is very low relative to the amount of work required locations are called "stores" instead of shops or service centers You're probably going to work a lot of hours. Can be very "Corporate"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      not worth it

      Jul 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will hire anyone (which can also be a con) No experience required. They will train you. If you like cars, it's fun.

      Cons

      Upper management plays favorites. They risk their employees safety by having them drive to the shop to shovel during snow storms. They are hypocritical when it comes to policies and definitely do not lead by example. You are expected to be come in on your days off (if they are short staffed which is almost always) and if you don't, they hold it against you. They keep jacking the prices to ridiculous heights and their reasoning isn't good enough. You won't feel comfortable trying to convince a customer that it's worth the price. When the heat doesn't work, you'll still be working even if it's 10 degrees inside the building. Health insurance is pretty expensive through them as well. Pay is not enough for the work being done. Long hours (10-12 hour shifts at times). No set schedule. Less ands less holidays off. You get vacation time but often are given a hard time when you use it

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Corporate Greed Strikes Again

      Dec 24, 2015 - Senior Technician in Lansing, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vacation Time, works with school schedule, good way to learn basics on cars and fluids in them other than that nothing

      Cons

      Pay, hours, work most holidays, greedy higher ups. I would never recommend this job to anybody, we are the only ones that are open on holidays such as Labor Day which is the one day we should have off since this is a labor job. Also until you make your up to Senior Technician, the McDonalds brand new burger flipper makes more an hour than you, and only 50 cents less than a senior technician, someone where if they mess up its only a $5 burger, we mess up someone's car we are talking about hundreds to thousands of dollars, you'd think we may get paid a little more with that added responsibility. And don't even get me started on how many labor laws have been broken here myself alone have worked numerous 12+ hour days with no break. Do not apply for this greedy company..

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good job

      Jul 31, 2015 - Certified Technician in Newton Highlands, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good people. friendly environment. easy to learn if you enjoy cars.

      Cons

      the workplace was always in need of a fresh clean.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Henley Enterprises Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Henley Enterprises? Share Your Experiences

    Henley Enterprises logo
    or