KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Henley Enterprises

Part of Valvoline
Is this your company?

Henley Enterprises

Add a Review

Henley Enterprises Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 188 reviews

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Henley Enterprises CEO Don Smith
Don Smith
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits with a large company(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great for learning on working on cars without no experience needed(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Takes years to advance beyond SCM, long hours, not enough pay(in 14 reviews)

  • "They have there "core values" that the upper management break on a daily basis(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company!!

      Oct 5, 2018 - Service Center Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth with in the company, cares about your family, good upper management, great stepping stone into management and learning how to run a business. Lots of resources to help you become a better leader. Great benefits for the employees and there families.

      Cons

      Long hours, no big incentive, for technicians or even management anymore, managers could be paid a little more for all we do and the long hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Henley Enterprises Response

      Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for your leadership as a Service Center Manager and for your thoughtful review here. We appreciate the callout of career growth as this is a top priority at Henley. By providing our team members with the resources to learn and opportunity to advance, we hope all team members will take advantage and can get where they want to be! We do not believe that commission programs are consistent with our customer approach at the service center. We have however recently increased our base wages to ensure they are fair and competitive with the market. If you have any specific questions or concerns, please reach out to us at recruiting@vioc.net – and thanks again for your hard work out in the field!

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company, some bad apples

      Oct 12, 2019 - Manager in Wilmington, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, decent wages, constant training.

      Cons

      Long hours, no AC or Heat in stores, Company overall is great, unfortunately, there is always a manager that ruins the good atmosphere.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good job

      Aug 29, 2019 - Service Center Manager in Pueblo, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Steady employment. Improvement made a way of life

      Cons

      Takes years to advance beyond SCM, long hours, not enough pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      not worth it

      Jul 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They will hire anyone (which can also be a con) No experience required. They will train you. If you like cars, it's fun.

      Cons

      Upper management plays favorites. They risk their employees safety by having them drive to the shop to shovel during snow storms. They are hypocritical when it comes to policies and definitely do not lead by example. You are expected to be come in on your days off (if they are short staffed which is almost always) and if you don't, they hold it against you. They keep jacking the prices to ridiculous heights and their reasoning isn't good enough. You won't feel comfortable trying to convince a customer that it's worth the price. When the heat doesn't work, you'll still be working even if it's 10 degrees inside the building. Health insurance is pretty expensive through them as well. Pay is not enough for the work being done. Long hours (10-12 hour shifts at times). No set schedule. Less ands less holidays off. You get vacation time but often are given a hard time when you use it

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      To me, they're family.

      Feb 15, 2017 - Service Center Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Been with the company 3 years, current service center manager. Started as a CSA and worked my way up in about 2.5 years (with a break in training because I had a baby). I feel that my bosses genuinely care about me as a person. I had serious health issues after my child was born. Worked with me to accommodate my needs for doctor's visits but wanting to work full time as well as needing a somewhat more consistent schedule as a parent of a small child. For lower level employees overtime is almost always available if you're willing to work at another location with mileage reimbursement paid out. Company is driven to promote from within versus hiring externally for management positions. Never had a hassle about taking a vacation day or even a full week, on the rare occasion I had to leave early due to my child being sick it wasn't an issue. Pay is good, even with most expensive healthcare plan, 401k contribution and max taxes taken out of my check. Lots of employee resources such as an assistance hotline, excellent benefits at a decent price. Really enjoy the training structure, lots of paid classes on management, customer service, leadership, etc. An excellent foundation for marketable job skills. I plan to stay with the company as long as possible. I genuinely like my job. Owner of of the company as well as other high level people are genuinely kind, friendly and invested in success of their people.

      Cons

      Store managers are required to work 50 hours a week, so long hours (but the pay makes up for that in my opinion). Hot in summer and cold in the winter but that's a garage environment for you. Not intolerable. Maintenance on service centers is slow to be done unless it's an equipment issue that would cause a loss of business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Henley Enterprises VIOC

      May 26, 2015 - Senior Technician in Keene, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great plays to start an automotive career, aquier aditional licenses and receive compensation to reflect the work you do. I'm a 3+ year employee and for the most part it's a rather nice place to work. Friends with everyone I work with!

      Cons

      You may work long hours if you're not fully staffed. Sometimes you can get your fair share of rude people but thats about the worst of it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Apr 8, 2016 - Service Center Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities for advancement. Well structured. Hard work is recognized and rewarded. I worked for other VIOC franchises and the level of commitment from Henley is above and beyond others.

      Cons

      Not many. It does require lots of hard work and long hours, but it is worth it if you put in the time.

      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to start

      Aug 31, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're looking to gain automotive knowledge and love a fast paced work environment, this is the place for you.

      Cons

      You may have to work long hours in the heat of the day while working over hot cars, but as long as the AC is working, mine wasn't, you will be ok.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      service center manager

      Aug 7, 2017 - Service Center Manager in Sterling Heights, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay, Bonus structure, hourly pay, added perks to the job, Upper management is very approachable and easy to talk to all the way up to the president and CEO

      Cons

      Long hours. Not much for a work/life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst company to work for .

      Aug 15, 2016 - Certified Technician in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You accelerate through the company very fast if you put yourself to learning the checklists. The salary was appropriate. The work is very easy and they train you on site.

      Cons

      They are a cliquey company. All upper management are good friends so if you have a problem it's very difficult to get it solved. The men don't know how to treat the women who work there. They give you long hours with very few chances to step away for refreshments. The bay's are VERY hot. If you are not in with the clique at the shop, you will be treated poorly and be given the tasks that everyone else don't want to do.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Henley Enterprises Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Henley Enterprises? Share Your Experiences

    Henley Enterprises logo
    or