Henry Davis York Lawyers Reviews | Glassdoor

Henry Davis York Lawyers Reviews

Updated 31 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Henry Davis York Lawyers

    Pros

    Good benefits offered in company

    Cons

    Work hours are sometimes dependent on task

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2018-11-08
  2. "Shame it merged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Henry Davis York Lawyers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good culture, with friendly and nice people and interesting cases. Though they have merged since then so....

    Cons

    Perhaps the offices weren't that nice, and were quite dated.

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2019-08-01
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Henry Davis York Lawyers

    Pros

    Most of the people really care about the people

    Cons

    Leadership lacks experience and conviction

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2017-08-31
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Henry Davis York Lawyers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, was sad to leave.

    Cons

    Needed to take the next step in my own career.

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2017-06-22
  5. "Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Henry Davis York Lawyers full-time

    Pros

    great location - building close to shops

    Cons

    don't pay enough for what they want

    Advice to Management

    appreciate your staff a bit more - maybe they won't leave

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2017-07-10
  6. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Temporary Legal Secretary in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Henry Davis York Lawyers for less than a year

    Pros

    This firm does not have the usual competitive and aggressive culture of other firms I have worked at. For the short time I temped at the firm I never encountered any bullying.

    Cons

    Only the need for an office refurb. Office move in 2019.

    Advice to Management

    Continue investments in diversity and inclusion and pro bono work.

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2016-10-11
  7. "Great little firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Henry Davis York Lawyers for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing collegiate culture Wonderful people who are really generous in sharing their knowledge Some really interesting and challenging matters, especially from government sector clients Wonderful, talented lawyers Under the leadership of Michael Greene, the firm is striving to modernise and grow

    Cons

    Workload is very erratic - is far too much downtime for some staff Clunky, outdated IT infrastructure Daggy old office fitout (but again, this is going to change) Slow-moving, with pockets of staff who are highly resistant to change and modernisation

    Advice to Management

    As the firm grows, try to retain its wonderful culture. Don't just invest in technology - invest in the right technology that is aligned with a genuine business need, not just flashy toys that are riddled with problems (ie. Surface Pros) Try to come to a consensus as to firm's identity, and where it wants to go Don't resist change

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2016-08-04
  8. "Good place to work, always room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henry Davis York Lawyers for more than a year

    Pros

    Look after staff such at wellbeing, lunches, monthly drinks. Everyone is really nice and helpful from partners to secretaries. Great location

    Cons

    The firm is behind on initiatives in comparison to other firms. The firm is hesitant to change. There aren't clear processes in place, too many people involved to make a decision.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace change and set clear process

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2016-06-09
  9. "Great culture - don't lose it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Henry Davis York Lawyers

    Pros

    Staff are fun and interesting Good work / life balance Partners are approachable Early exposure to large matters

    Cons

    Gradual culture change for the worse Some in-fighting among partners which can be disruptive Too tightly defined around financial services - it has a lot else to offer

    Advice to Management

    Tighten up. You're a team!

    Henry Davis York Lawyers2013-09-21
Found 9 reviews