Henry Ford Health System "detroit" Reviews | Glassdoor

Henry Ford Health System Employee Reviews about "detroit"

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Henry Ford Health System CEO Barbara Rossmann
Barbara Rossmann
244 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "lowest paying hospital in the Detroit MI area(in 21 reviews)

  • "Low pay and benefits could be better(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "detroit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I ever worked with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Rochester Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Henry Ford Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful work culture! Everyone is polite and very helpful when needed.

    Cons

    Even though the people are wonderful, there’s A LOT of people in this division that are MUCH older and has been with the company for 10-20 plus years and that makes the atmosphere a little stale. This is absolutely the most quiet and relaxed call center I ever worked at. Also, the IT center is located in Rochester Hills and I live in Detroit so the commute coming home is the worst I’ve ever experienced and I’ve worked in Ann Arbor. It literally use to take me an hour or an hour and a half to get home due to the traffic when the center was only 30 minutes away from my home.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire some more youthful people to lighten the atmosphere.

    Henry Ford Health System2019-12-26
  2. "Great place for learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sterile Processing Technician in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Henry Ford Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent patient care given from employees

    Cons

    lowest paying hospital in the Detroit MI area

    Henry Ford Health System2018-06-12
  3. "registered respiratory therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henry Ford Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at a large hospital our department primarily focuses in the critical care areas of the icu, ER, operation rooms, nicu, and were treated with respect and as a valued part of the patients team

    Cons

    There are often language barriers working in Detroit, very close to the airport and Canada

    Henry Ford Health System2017-12-20
  4. "HFWB is great place to work, minus one thing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Henry Ford Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at a few hospitals in the metro Detroit area, but at never felt happy at those companies. however, working at HFWB (West Bloomfield) was everything I was looking for, minus the low pay compared to other hospitals. Great management, wonderful patients, beautiful environment, fun employee actives, benefits are a little pricey, but overall I love it at wb, but the pay is very low.

    Cons

    HF is known to be the lowest paying hospital. example: I make $4 less then a friend who does the same job at a different hospital. so food for thought: inner city (busy )hospital, but higher pay or great hospital but lower pay?

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay other then the bonus they give us. (other then cents, dollars would be better)

    Henry Ford Health System2017-10-13
  5. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Henry Ford Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and the atmosphere throughout the hospital is warm and friendly. After completing one year in your new position, it is easy to acquire other positions throughout the hospital.

    Cons

    The salary is not compatible with other institutions. Parking for employees at the Detroit site may hinder one from reporting on time due to employees required to take a shuttle to work. There is always a long line of people. The wait time can not be calculated. Employees get docked and written up due to unreliable transportation services.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to address the parking solutions and transportation issues. There should be access to more time clocks so employees are not subjected to disciplinary measures by managerial staff due to long wait line or clocks not performing to code.

    Henry Ford Health System2017-10-11
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Henry Ford Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Henry Ford lives it's mission; a great anchor institution in Detroit.

    Cons

    Like a hometown hero, better regarded outside the region than inside.

    Advice to Management

    Toot your own horn louder.

    Henry Ford Health System2017-02-06
  7. "Henry Ford Hospital, Excellent care for patients, not so great to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Henry Ford Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Active partner in Detroit and area community programs, lots of opportunity to work with underserved populations.

    Cons

    Lower than average industry pay, inconsistent values/leadership displayed at division and system level

    Henry Ford Health System2017-02-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Never enough help!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Jackson, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Henry Ford Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who I work with are incredible! The pay is decent. Those are the only two pros I can think of right now.

    Cons

    We are always understaffed and expected to provide care as though we are fully staffed. Management is constantly telling us how we are not doing a good enough job, hardly any positives to help boost our morale. Managers drink and use personal phones in patient care areas while telling us we cannot. New benefits under Henry Ford are terrible. Can't see long time PCP because not in their network. Must drive to Detroit for specialist in their network when my current specialist is a 10 minute drive. The list goes on and on!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the "do as I say not as I do" attitude. Hire some help. Say something positive now and then.

    Henry Ford Health System2017-02-01
  9. "Great hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Henry Ford Health System full-time

    Pros

    Top of the line care- follows and sets standards

    Cons

    Downtown Detroit, traffic is busy, busy

    Advice to Management

    D

    Henry Ford Health System2017-01-12
  10. "Weirdest bunch of people I ever worked with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clerical in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Henry Ford Health System

    Pros

    Pay and really nothing else

    Cons

    The culture there is very weird, it's like every misfit in the Detroit area all gathered together in their buildings. No fun atmosphere, just very strange and creepy.

    Advice to Management

    The management is just as odd as the employees, so I don't know how to improve the culture mix there.

    Henry Ford Health System2016-11-10
Found 30 reviews