Henry Schein Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Henry Schein Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Henry Schein CEO Stanley M. Bergman
Stanley M. Bergman
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "I've enjoyed learning many cutting edge technologies that were fairly new to me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henry Schein full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Financial stability Employee friendly culture Friendly people

    Cons

    Large number of developers in the Ukraine - language and timezone pain

    Advice to Management

    More focus on sufficient feature set, quality, stability

    Henry Schein2012-10-07
  2. "Software QA Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henry Schein full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given time to study and develop new skills to help growth in career

    Cons

    Have to take ISTQB tests to advance in career. I feel like there is better certification options that would be more beneficial.

    Henry Schein2018-03-20
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Henry Schein full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Generally low stress Good People Modern Technological Practices

    Cons

    Unwilling to change in some areas that need it Don't really reward based on merit

    Advice to Management

    A more meritocratic environment, with real quarterly reviews based on actual results and outcomes, and real rewards for those who excel, not just giving every employee the same rewards regardless of their work.

    Henry Schein2017-12-14
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Engineer 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Henry Schein full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work Life is hard to beat

      Cons

      lower on the pay scale

      Henry Schein2017-12-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Project Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Melville, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Henry Schein full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good Company and great benefits

      Cons

      Too much politics. I was bullied by my supervisor however since I do not have the proofs to go to HR.

      Advice to Management

      Please train your management how to deal with the Female staff

      Henry Schein2017-12-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great Home life work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in American Fork, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Henry Schein full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazing home work life balance.

      Cons

      Lower pay than other companies in the area.

      Henry Schein2017-06-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good starting point for SW development career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in American Fork, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Henry Schein full-time

      Pros

      Good job security, regular raises, reasonably good corporate family environment, especially for a company this large.

      Cons

      Very difficult to advance, lots of red tape. Any and all promotions/etc seem to have to sit on someones desk in New york for at least a month before anything is done. Very low pay for SW Engineers.

      Advice to Management

      Train HR to respond to emails, and consider paying developers more.

      Henry Schein2016-08-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in American Fork, UT
      Recommends

      I worked at Henry Schein

      Pros

      Great benefits Very professional Great opportunity to learn new skills but not in depth

      Cons

      More times that not there are unreasonable deadlines that do not allow time for refining skills. Heavy political games

      Advice to Management

      Provide better feedback to individuals that work hard. Give credit where credit is due.

      Henry Schein2010-08-08
    Found 8 reviews