Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Compliance Caseworker Reviews | Glassdoor

Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Compliance Caseworker Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
52%
Recommend to a Friend
Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Interim Chief Executive Jim Harra (no image)
Jim Harra
0 Rating
  1. "work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Caseworker in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work Friendly staff

    Cons

    having to work on the weekends

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-11-15
  2. "Undervalued and overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Caseworker in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexi-time and pay is decent

    Cons

    Overworked and undervalued, I just feel like another number rather than a valuable part of the team. Little to no support and I am quite new into the role

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-10-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Compliance Officer - Hidden Economy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Caseworker in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great for flexi-time and holidays. Wages higher than average in Somerset and Devon but low in places where their regional centres are being built! Good support for those with health issues. Very strict in terms of taking computer breaks and health and safety. Loved being in control of my working day.

    Cons

    Some of the teams do very repetitive boring jobs. Management style can be very good or very lacking. No 360 degree feedback.

    Advice to Management

    There seemed to be many "expression of interest" opportunities at higher levels but after working above grade for nearly 10 years without promotion was a bit mean. It saved the revenue £50k in wages but not good for morale. Promotions were available in other areas but a change in working contract would have been required to do that and I would have needed to pay £5000 per annum for a season ticket. Great to work for in the right team.

    Show More
    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2017-02-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "HMRC on reflection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Compliance Caseworker 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs

    Pros

    Very Supportive front line management If you can gain entry onto the right development program training is fantastic and you can shoot up the grades in a short space of time. I like the moves of the new CEO. I look forward to what he can achieve. its a shame staff automatically look to critisise however years of mismanagement causes this. I am proud to be a compliance caseworker as I it is important to ensure people pay the right level of tax. In my day to day work I look to educate individuals as not respecting the tax system only works against you in the end.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication within the department is very poor. Staff motivation is very low. It is very hard to stay positive partly due to the constant skepticism from fellow employees. The organisation s full of people I would term as deadwood. They constantly complain about how bad it is yet they have been here for 35 years and wont be leaving soon. The PMR system is awful. They should focus on tax knowledge by training and not on the speed of working cases which seems to be the way its going. The positive culture is often thrown out the door due to unrealistic targets put on staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve training to people not on a program to ensure people who want to get on are not left behind.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2016-09-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Tax Caseworker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Compliance Caseworker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs

    Pros

    Very flexible working, good pension and good exposure to other departments. Friendly staff and laid back way of working.

    Cons

    Low renumeration, silly promotion system not based on merit. Best staff are not looked after and ageing management structure.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2016-02-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible, pay freeze for 5 years expecting more for nothin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Caseworker in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They do flexi time, so you can work an extra hour a day and build up some extra leave, but this could change of course

    Cons

    You can build up the leave, but then they don't let you take it, in a staff survey HMRC came 104 out of a 104 gov depts they are the worst yo work for

    Advice to Management

    Start listening, stop having meetings about meetings, be visible, try communicating with staff give them a pay rise 5 years is long enough

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2015-03-21
  7. "Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Caseworker in Leeds, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lot of training opportunities, technical qualification paid for, Hotel travel and subsistence fully paid. Can work any 8 hours between 7 am to 7 pm. Free parking.

    Cons

    Comparatively less wages than private sector. Promotion depends on the opportunities which could take on average 3-6 yrs. ( That is for some one who is good)

    Advice to Management

    Quick promotion would help retain young talent.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2014-12-21
Found 7 reviews