Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Reviews | Glassdoor

Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Interim Chief Executive Jim Harra (no image)
Jim Harra
21 Ratings
  1. "Good for some terrible for others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very accommodating to people with special/particular needs.

    Cons

    Pay (national scales don't reflect local needs), clumsy approach to change, disinterested in most staff, try to short change staff whenever possible.

    Continue reading
    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-24
  2. "There's better Government Departments to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Line Manager in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexi time. Good progression if your face fits.

    Cons

    There is a terrible bullying culture within HMRC. Quite a bit of corruption that gets covered up. Below inflation pay rise for the last 10 years.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-22
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive and friendly staff.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-21
  4. "Work is great, career civil servants ruin it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs

    Pros

    Interesting work You really see an impact in the press Pension Flexible working

    Cons

    Too many staff don’t care about their work. The bureaucracy is ridiculous, this has led to a very entitled culture where teams are incredibly juvenile and lazy.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-20
  5. "Avoid at all possible costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to build and use flexi

    Cons

    Micromanaged to the second in all duties

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-19

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 20, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are taking your feedback into account

    Continue reading
  6. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Officer 

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits Secure job Union representatives

    Cons

    Poor training Poor management Poor Human resources

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-17

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sorry that your experience at HMRC didn’t quite match your expectations.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great people, producing innovative, market leading technical solutions on a shoestring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, technology, experience, work life balance, pension

    Cons

    Pay, career progression, senior management are disconnected from workers

    Continue reading
    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-16

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback helps us get better.

    Continue reading
  8. "Interesting subject matter for an economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of data, close to policy makers

    Cons

    Department is very slow to change

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-15

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had a good experience.

    Continue reading
  9. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Secure job, flexible working, people.

    Cons

    Secure job for people who don't deserve it

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-13

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review.

    Continue reading
  10. "HO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Agile working, flexible work hours

    Cons

    Poor management and poor leadership

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-12

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    We are sorry that your experience at HMRC didn’t quite match your expectations. We would love to know why so that we can improve things next time. You may reach us at recruitmentmarketingandattraction@hmrc.gov.uk

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 500 reviews