Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs "hmrc" Reviews | Glassdoor

Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Employee Reviews about "hmrc"

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Interim Chief Executive Jim Harra (no image)
Jim Harra
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Have not had a proper pay rise in years(in 26 reviews)

  • "There are to cons to working at HMRC(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hmrc"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Line Support 

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    relaxed working, decent wage plenty of opportunities

    Cons

    second line is more first line. HMRC entitlement, i dont have to do this i dont have to do that because... offers flexible working but not remote.. infrastructure is not fit for purpose. second line are expected to do first lines job when they cant and you cant park on site unless you have been working for a certain length

    Advice to Management

    make changes, fight to change the HMRC culture of thats not my job

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-10-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Invest in their people, great work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Compliance Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs

    Pros

    -They invest in your training. -Lots of opportunities for development if you are proactive. -Supportive and friendly atmosphere -Helps you develop good transferable skills -Flexitime allows employees to work shift patterns which suit them

    Cons

    -Recruitment process was painful for myself, lack of communication from recruitment team and lack of clear recruitment timeline. I believe HMRC is losing potentially valuable employees who get frustrated with the length and nature of recruitment process. -The issue of pay rise/reform is affecting workplace morale and needs to be addressed if they want to keep staff motivated and keep the new trainees they are... appointing

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When recruiting people, lay out a timeline so people can plan. I know people have individual circumstances which can affect their security checks but a basic timeline and better communication between checks teams and vacancy holders would go a long way. Pay rise issue needs to be addressed effectively and sensitively in the coming months , especially with senior civil servants being recently awarded a 2% pay rise.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing flexibility and development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HMRC is very supportive of it's staff's development and gives them so many opportunities to progress and learn in a supportive environment

    Cons

    There are to cons to working at HMRC

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-06-18
  4. "Taxes pays for a Great Britain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Manager 

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Virtuous, Flexibility, friendly atmosphere, local

    Cons

    You can earn more money outside of HMRC doing a similar role

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-05-18
  5. "Nice but slow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Tax Intern in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs for less than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant people, gentle working culture, some travel, structured progression and training programmes

    Cons

    Slow working culture, and a little confused as to whether HMRC is a more technical or academic place of work

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AO Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comes with benefits like flexi time and a pension. The aim of the organisation is good and working in public service can be satisfying. Diverse organisation

    Cons

    Pay is ridiculously low for the responsibility that you have. The jobs are advertised on a pay scale but however long you’re there you’ll be stuck at the bottom. The training is inadequate and HMRC make zero effort develop their staff. You are usually treated like cattle and moved around by area and shift pattern. You will be given no notice and your needs are not considered. Pay restraint and the bad way... they recruit and the difficulty of feting rid of staff mean that may of coworkers are incompetent and have a bad attitude. Managers are not at all well trained and often not fit for purpose. Leave allowance is bad for a govt. job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff better. Allow Clear ways to develop and totally overhaul recruitment so you hire based on merit and experience not ability to game the system And ‘your face fits’.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-03-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Officer in Bathgate, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My team mates were the best thing about this job.

    Cons

    Timed when you went to the toilet. Bullying rife, I witnessed the Mental Health advocate bullying and belittling an employee on numerous occasions. Lack of support in terms of work and just to say you will be tied to the phones with no reprieve whatsoever. Hostile environment. Any concerns I raised were never investigated. Sickness and attitude absolutely shocking even to staff who have terminal cancer, the attitude... was to get rid of them instead of trying to offer reasonable adjustments and even then you will still be penalised. Also other HMRC offices refer to Bathgate as the ‘Prison Camp’ I think that says it all really.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When bullying or discrimination is brought to your attention don’t close ranks and pass it off as ‘banter’. I would if I was head of HMRC have a massive restructuring as middle management absolutely incompetent.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-02-23
  8. "Debt Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time

    Pros

    lots of promotional opportunities in HMRC

    Cons

    There are no cons in DM

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2018-10-29
  9. "Awesome in the Corparate/Transformation areas, less so in Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is based on the corporate areas within HMRC (transformation, policy, CDIO, etc): Decent pay/pension, very flexible, you get to make a real impact/a lot more responsibility than in the private sector. Great promotion/career progression.

    Cons

    No real bonuses. The operational areas (contact centres, processing, and compliance) can be horrific, almost a different organisation, they are micro managed, staff have little freedom/flexibility, and very little chance of quickly moving up the ladder.

    Advice to Management

    Work on bringing the culture in the corporate areas to the operational areas, including full flexi (where possible), less micromanagement, more first, etc.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2018-08-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "On paper sounds an ok job , in reality not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative Debt Management in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Erm no pros at all

    Cons

    Not everyone has the chance for Full Flex contracts, like a call centre environment which are stat based, if you are doing the job and hitting target you wont make management as promotions are if your face fits and team leaders are very good at looking busy doing nothing. Micromanaged . Sifting for job applications within hmrc is only good depending on the person who does the sift as its based on opinion not a set... fair matrix. If a team leader doesnt like you they will do what they can to make you want to leave. Management dont know their rear from their elbow and pretend to listen to staff when in reality you are just a number on a seat.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. Promote on merit and sort your team leaders out who are all mouth and no trousers.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2018-09-24
Found 35 reviews