Herbein + Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Herbein + Company Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
53%
Recommend to a Friend
Herbein + Company COO Michael J. Rowley (no image)
Michael J. Rowley
0 Rating
  1. "Great people and invaluable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Audit Intern in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Herbein + Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind and welcoming people, good pay for a summer internship, great opportunities for experience both inside and outside the office

    Cons

    Sometimes there wasn't enough work for me to do

    Herbein + Company2019-02-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "ignore the positive reviews, most likely written by you know who"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Herbein + Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    umm, nice office, free bagels

    Cons

    they will work you like a dog, so the partners can live like kings, ok salary at best, no overtime pay, boys club, huge egos

    Advice to Management

    just keep being greedy and working people to death

    Herbein + Company2019-06-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best Decision Yet!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herbein + Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Herbein is the way to go! The employees are friendly and show that they care, the working environment is great, and you will definitely be welcomed with a warm smile when you walk into the building! Herbein is definitely the place to intern and you will not regret it at all! During my internship, everybody was very helpful and wanted me to succeed.

    Cons

    Herbein is a fantastic firm and there are no cons!

    Advice to Management

    Please continue this fantastic experience!

    Herbein + Company2018-08-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herbein + Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits start on first day of employment! Unlimited sick time with pay. Fun employee events! Family focused work culture! Excellent salaries offered! The Partners take pride in offering a respectful, kind and fun work environment focused on treating everyone fairly which makes me proud to be there every day!

    Cons

    All the free food during tax season can be hard on the waistline!

    Advice to Management

    Keep communication strong and transparent as possible and your employees will stay dedicated towards continued success and growth! Thank you for treating all employees with respect and kindness! Those are characteristics that everyone needs from their employer and we will not take that for granted. It is what makes us dedicated to the company! Thank you!

    Herbein + Company2018-07-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "FOS Staff Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Consultant in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Herbein + Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Half day Friday from April 15 to Labor Day. Mileage reimbursement when you can actually drive. BlueCross Blue Shield health insurance.

    Cons

    They offer absolutely no training to new employees. The auditor in charge will just tell you to do the same thing as last year. When senior auditors are asked questions by clients, for example something on SOX, they guess at the answer. They make you carpool because the company cannot afford to reimburse everyone for driving. The other auditors won't pick you up at your home and make you leave your car in a random parking lot. Not to mention that they all drive with radar detectors because they excessively speed. Management plays favorites. Sometimes getting management to email you back seemes like it was asking for a lot. My advice, just save yourself a headache and find a real accounting firm to work for. One that does not give clients guesses for answers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Training to start. Not play favorites. Work on employee morale.

    Herbein + Company2017-03-29
  6. "Internal Audit FOS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herbein + Company full-time

    Pros

    Half day fridays, certification reimbursement, flexibility

    Cons

    Pay is below industry averages, lots of favoritism, upper management dumps most work on others.

    Herbein + Company2016-07-25
  7. "Tax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Herbein + Company full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment, great tax department, gain vast skills in all areas.

    Cons

    Lacks public and international experience.

    Herbein + Company2015-09-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Provides opportunities for driven employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior in Reading, PA

    I worked at Herbein + Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, open door policy, variety of clients, corporate events

    Cons

    Firm hiring new employees at higher rates than current employees are earning, low employee morale

    Herbein + Company2014-10-09
Found 8 reviews