Hercules Living Reviews | Glassdoor

Hercules Living Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The place for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hercules Living full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I have had the immense pleasure of working at Hercules Living in the corporate office for over 10 years. Once out of college, I didn’t think I would stay with one company more than 2-5 years. My thought was there’s advancement opportunities in moving around. But once here, I decided this was the place for me. Working at a family owned business, where the owners are truly invested in their employees, has afforded me...

    Show More

    Cons

    Always remember, no one person or company is perfect...

    Hercules Living2019-03-29
  2. "Wolves in Sheeps Clothing - Condescending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hercules Living full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Gym onsite, Treats for Birthdays, etc. Sometimes near holidays, you're given a half day off on the day before.

    Cons

    Quite literally, each person that works here is a hit or miss. Some are some of the nicest people I've met in my career, and I still keep in touch with them. Others are downright cruel to others. It felt like high school, watching grown men and women gossip and talk about each other, and then smile in their face. Everyone that has been fired didn't see it coming, and there were a lot. And when I heard about how they talked...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either you can be a family, or be a corporate business. Don't give initiatives that you don't even believe in, and expect us to run with them. No one wants to hear lip service and jazzy quotes that belong on a 90s inspirational poster. Practice what you preach.

    Hercules Living2019-02-11
  3. "Leasing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hercules Living full-time

    Pros

    bonuses are great in comparison to other PM companies.

    Cons

    residents need to held more accountable

    Advice to Management

    need formal training

    Hercules Living2018-04-12
  4. "Sterile feel, but willing to train"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hercules Living full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Team atmosphere, willing to train new employees for various rolls. Very few items for the Pro list, as the company is sterile

    Cons

    Extremely poor pay, poor benefits, terrible morale, upper management is completely disinterested, overworked staff, very high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Hercules makes a tremendous amount of money, offer better benefits or pay. Invest in employees, and you'll have lower turn-over and better results

    Hercules Living2018-03-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Actions Speak Louder Than Words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hercules Living full-time

    Pros

    Most of the regional managers are supportive and helpful. I enjoyed meeting Mr. Copeland at the annual conference.

    Cons

    Lack of support from corporate office. Some of the corporate employees were very rude and talked down to those of us in the field. There was a lot of talk about collaboration and team work but some of the people preaching it the loudest were the first to point fingers when things didn't go well. There was a lot of CYA going on in order to avoid being yelled at and threatened by certain managers. The negativity became...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. The cards you gave us with the core values and stuff on them were nice and it was kind of cool to get a gift card for having it on me. But it would have been better if the people in the corporate office actually believed in that stuff enough to act like it and not just talk about it. The culture is toxic and you are not going to be able to keep good employees unless it changes.

    Hercules Living2018-02-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Drama, like high school, with a few good eggs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hercules Living full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Some of the people there are fantastic. Like family.

    Cons

    There's a bit of drama and back-biting, and it affects your work. Also, many people have ulterior motives, and have a way of treating people at the various properties, and in the corporate office like mules.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the work, and get out of the drama.

    Hercules Living2018-01-29
  7. "Hercules Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hercules Living full-time

    Pros

    Lots of resources at the corporate office.

    Cons

    Regional Management needs to micro manage less.

    Hercules Living2017-11-08
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hercules Living full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The company has a lot of great bonuses, awards and rewards! Some of the people that work here have been here for a very long time and you can learn so much from them!

    Cons

    The tools they use are old and outdated. It is sometimes harder to do your job because of this. There are groups that look out for one another. Some "policies" are not correct.

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure people are going with the policies of the company no matter how long they have been here. Please try to update some of they systems we use. Over all keep the company moral and recognize the smaller properties.

    Hercules Living2017-10-08
  9. "A great place; a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hercules Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love being able to work with the people here. I work at the corporate office and it's like a family. We all pitch in and help each other and the company culture is awesome, better than any other company I've ever worked with.

    Cons

    Sometimes, in working as a team, you'll be pulled into jobs that are outside your job description. However, when everyone puts the group over themselves, you can really count on your co-workers to go that extra mile for you too.

    Hercules Living2016-08-22
  10. "Very great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hercules Living

    Pros

    I have worked for Hercules real estate for almost a year now and it has been a very great and rewarding experience. This company really does care about their employees.

    Cons

    There are none I can find

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Hercules Living2016-01-09
Found 13 reviews