Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC Reviews | Glassdoor

Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Brian Recatto
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, competive salary and they treat employees with repect(in 10 reviews)

  • "strong growth, decent pay, good benefits(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and high expectations(in 7 reviews)

  • "Employees that are terminated are made fun of by upper management for(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growing company, great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth! Great teams, benefits, and environment.

    Cons

    A cultural change to some

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening what our to our Sales team out in the field and Corporate employees have in mind as far as support, training ideas, and new initiatives.

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2019-02-27
  2. "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time

    Pros

    The people are the best part. If you can get past the politics, everyone works together.

    Cons

    Lots of competition for advancement, and it is all about who ypu know.

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2019-02-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "It's a shame..was the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, work freedom, great products

    Cons

    Regional manager threatens the local branch manager's job if they do not make quota. Regional managers do not know how to run the branches, but yell at you like they do. Company has no sales technology. They are stuck in the 90s. Was pushed out of a $140k a year job for something one of my employees did. Branch manager responsible for everything even if they are on vacation.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of regional management and get out of the 90s. Do not allow upper management to manage by threats.

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2019-01-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Could be Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and a great business to be involved with. Benefits are great.

    Cons

    Upper management No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Start to worry about more than top line revenue! Bring your IT department into at least the year 2000.

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2019-01-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "VSSR, run a vacuum sales route while taking care of current customers and gaining new customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC

    Pros

    401k Vacation time Home daily Good benefits Only 50 hours a week

    Cons

    Sales Inconsistent pay Low base pay Quota driven Vacation blackout periods

    Advice to Management

    Pay more, get rid of vacation blackout periods, more support for growing a route, actually pay attention to what branch managers are doing

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2018-12-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Beware of this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time

    Pros

    -The pay structure is good as long as you're able to make quota, but don't calculate your hourly rate! -Health insurance is OK and economical. (for now) -Some other good benefits if you have the opportunity to take advantage of them.

    Cons

    -I have never worked so hard for a company that did nothing to help me. -Operating like it is 1990 does not lead to an employee or customer friendly experience. -Everything is performed second rate,transportation, disposal methods, billing, HR, IT etc. -Using vacation is not an option in most branches. -The HR dept is unable to assist with anything above basic information. -Employees that are terminated...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Treat your employees with respect and dignity. -Don't push your employees till they are broken, then pin your mistakes on them.

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2018-11-06
  7. "IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elgin, IL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High growth company, good pay

    Cons

    No formal process for employee review. IT department and individual goals are not clearly communicated. Often projects are ad-hoc based on immediate need. Corporate culture is at times toxic.

    Advice to Management

    Create a formal process for aligning individual and department goals with the strategic corporate initiatives.

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2018-09-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for and pays is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time

    Pros

    Rare to work any weekends. Benefits package is good, 401k managed by Vanguard. Room to advance quickly especially if willing to move. New CEO hopefully will make changes in upper management , Not sure if this is a pro but it seems almost impossible for someone to get fired nowadays , not sure why that is the case but it seems to be ,

    Cons

    very poor training and support, branches are left to fend for themselves more or less. Always chasing that number at all costs to make quotas. Branches run with very little support staff or back up. Corporate office seems like they have a single person doing 3 peoples jobs not far from the branch level. New blood is desperately needed at the very top, promotions should be based on merit and not on who you know.

    Advice to Management

    company has lots of management and vice presidents , what are they doing day to day? we need to innovate and evolve , not just raise prices. every vp or ceo cfo should get on a box truck and ride with the service reps for a bit . try a full day of running services and using the systems we have in place as well as cold calling at some customers and trying to place some part washers. Also i get we have corporate accounts...

    Show More
    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2018-09-02
  9. "SSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC

    Pros

    good pay and lot's of autonomy

    Cons

    long hours that require long routes

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2018-08-20
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Work hard still not enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Driver 

    I worked at Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work hard put in over 50 hours a week. Bring in the majority of the quota and still not happy.

    Cons

    Pay isn't good. You won't make what they say in the interview. Service priced way over competition

    Heritage-Crystal Clean LLC2018-07-20
Found 76 reviews