Hermes Delivery Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Hermes Delivery Driver Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
33%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Hermes CEO Martijn De Lange
Martijn De Lange
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Don't Waste Your Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Courier/Delivery Driver in Huddersfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros with Hermes

    Cons

    Don't Get paid for collections Don't get paid for delivering catalogues Expect you to work all your waking hours Field managers will bad mouth you when they think you can't hear them Expect you to cover other peoples rounds as well as do your own Need to deliver 1,200+ parcels a week in order to make a wage Classed as self employed but expected to work when they say so No days off / no holidays

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-11-13

    Hermes Response

    November 13, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    It's very disappointing to read about your experience of working with Hermes, you might already know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. We'd really like the opportunity to look into some of the points you make, please can you email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk with the details so we can look into it? We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  2. "Very golf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and well paid for job done

    Cons

    Very laborious And can mean working on special occasions

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-11-28

    Hermes Response

    November 29, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Hermes, it's great that you enjoy the flexibility and pay of your role. We've noted your other comments, if you'd like to discuss your experience in more detail, you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk, thank you and we wish you all the best throughout the peak season.

    Continue reading
  3. "Let employees know the full details of self employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Winsford, North West England, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hermes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work around your commitments

    Cons

    If you have holidays.. you have to find your own cover.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-11-21

    Hermes Response

    November 25, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it's great to read that enjoyed the flexibility of the being a courier. However, it's very disappointing to read that you feel the employment status wasn't explained clearly. You might already know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Once holiday is approved, we'll also find cover for your round. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. If you'd like to share any more details with us, please can you email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk and we'll get back to you as soon as we can. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE. SAVE YOURSELF. "HERMES", MORE LIKE "HERPES"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Courier/Delivery Driver in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Taught me respect for people working as slaves

    Cons

    EXETER, DEVON -Website advertises £10 / hour -Get hired despite showing up late and telling manager I have disability. Clearly they're desperate for vulnerable people to make their victims/slaves. -Told insurance costing ~£1 per day that you work IS compulsory & that pay is 60p-£1.30 per package. NOT £10/hour as advertised on their website. -Worked from 11am til 9pm on Saturday 14th September. 10 hours of my life. -Spent £10 on fuel, £5 on beer because the whole thing was so depressing. -As of writing 4 Dec 19, 2 months later! HAVE NOT BEEN PAID! NOTHING! ZERO! NADA! Conclusion: Lost £15 and 10 hours of my life being a modern slave for Hermes. Question: Do you want to do the same? -Looking into formal complaint processes within Herpes and with the UK GOV.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-12-04

    Hermes Response

    December 6, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for getting in touch, really sorry to read about your thoughts and experience of working with Hermes. We'd like the opportunity to investigate some of your claims, please could you email glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk with all the details? You might also know that Hermes has launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current status. Finally, if you are still waiting for outstanding pay, please email courierpay@hermes-europe.co.uk with the details so we can look into this. We wish you all the best for your future career and hope you find something you enjoy, thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Courier/Delivery Driver in Dover, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Don't know any to be honest

    Cons

    Very poor preparation and communication.

    Hermes2019-10-10

    Hermes Response

    October 14, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of what it is like to work at Hermes, however, it is incredibly disappointing to read your comments. We've recently launched SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy a guaranteed rate of pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current employment status. We are always looking for ways to improve, if you would like to share any feedback you can email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  6. "Been working for 1 year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Beckton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy communication decent number of parcels can complete within 3-4 hrs

    Cons

    not enough shifts need to have better website

    Hermes2019-08-28

    Hermes Response

    August 29, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for sharing a review of Hermes, it's really great to read that you enjoy your role. We are working on a new customer website at new.myhermes.co.uk as well as a new recruitment site, if you would like to provide any more feedback, please email glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk and we'll pass this on to the right team. We hope you continue to enjoy in your role with Hermes!

    Continue reading
  7. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Self Empolyed Delivery Driver in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Your left alone to do your job as a rule

    Cons

    Pay could be better Parcels can be late, so don’t expect to turn up and go straight away

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-07-01

    Hermes Response

    August 2, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for sharing a review of Hermes. It's nice to read that you enjoy the freedom and flexibility of being a self employed courier. You should now be aware that Hermes is launching SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy guaranteed pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current employment status. If you would like to know more about the different opportunities open to you, please speak to your Field Manager who will be able to help, you can also email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk, thank you.

    Continue reading
  8. "I wasted my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Corby, Northamptonshire, East Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    Was good for a new challenge

    Cons

    From first day they will give me a full training,even this wasn’t true. Supposed to be Competitive salary 10-15 £hour .They put me all the stuff inside the car and the gave me a number to call if you need something. I got 25£ From 50 parcels in that day . You use your own car, they don’t contribute to petrol which mean 15£ a day from your pocket. constantly stopping starting engine and going through pothole roads. + Clutch pedal it was needed to get repaired . I don’t recommend this job.

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-07-30

    Hermes Response

    August 2, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of what it is like to work at Hermes. It's nice to read that you enjoyed a new challenge but disappointing to read your other comments. You should now be aware that Hermes is launching SE+, a new employment model which allows couriers to enjoy guaranteed pay, holiday pay and other benefits. Alternatively, couriers can choose to keep the flexibility of their current employment status. If you would like to know more about the different opportunities open to you, please speak to your Field Manager who will be able to help, you can also email us on glassdoor@hermes-europe.co.uk to discuss your comments above. Thank you and we wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  9. "Not been paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Delivery Driver in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hermes for less than a year

    Pros

    None. I have nothing positive to say.

    Cons

    No pay. No training. No respect. Very poor treatment

    Continue reading
    Hermes2019-01-27

    Hermes Response

    February 5, 2019PR & Social Media Executive

    Thanks for sharing your review of Hermes, it's disappointing to read that you've had such a poor experience. We'd like to understand more about what happened on your first day, please get in touch with us to discuss this and any outstanding payment. Thank you and best of luck for your future career.

    Continue reading
  10. "Life as a Hermes Courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Courier/Delivery Driver in West Drayton, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hermes for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hours and pay are good once you have learned route

    Cons

    Car is wrecked and no time off allowed

    Continue reading
    Hermes2018-09-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews