KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Hermitage Hotel

Is this your company?

Hermitage Hotel

Add a Review

Hermitage Hotel Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 of over 58 reviews

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Hermitage Hotel Managing Director Dee Patel
Dee Patel
16 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Hermitage Hotel and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Team comradery

    Oct 4, 2021 - Front Office 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone seems so happy to help and support each other. Positive energy and drive.

    Cons

    Unfortunate COVID circumstances and staff shortages across the board makes it hard.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awful experience

    Oct 18, 2021 - Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The place is historic and very pretty.

    Cons

    The hotel's high level managers is one of the worst group I have ever experienced. In my limited time at this property at least 5 executive members quit because of the leadership from the top. All that is cared about is how the property and GM look to the outside. The well being of staff and guests is the least of this properties concern. Employees are made to feel less than and treated so poorly. When tough times happen, like COVID or the bombing downtown you can really see the true colors of leaders and it was not good. Not one person asked if anyone was ok or needed a break. Someone felt it was unsafe to come in and this person was made fun of for asking if it was safe. You are called out and belittled in large manager meetings if you don't have the right answer or ask a question someone is unaware of the answer. The GM needs to look like the smartest and best in room, if she's made to feel otherwise she will make you feel awful. Be very careful! Once you work here other properties in the area hesitant to hire you do to the bad reputation it has in town.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    These fake positive reviews are hilarious

    Sep 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits if I’m being honest. Decent pay but be sure to negotiate, otherwise they’ll have you working alongside someone doing the same exact thing you’re doing (or less) for more money. Beautiful hotel with stunning architecture and lots of history. Some standout colleagues and middle managers that you get to build a deep sense of camaraderie with.

    Cons

    Upper management will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat if a guest so much as raises an eyebrow at their experience. They are not open to feedback, especially not from a line level so you might as well keep your opinions to yourself. No team-building, no employee motivation, I guess occasionally they will buy us food and give a generic “thanks for all you do” if you’re into that. Complete lack of transparency between upper management and line level. This place is a revolving door and the work environment here has driven away many star contributors.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Totally worth it!

    Oct 4, 2021 - Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got hired when others had freezes. I work hard and am not lazy; And they pay you for it! I also got a pay bump months after joining plus two unexpected bonuses! The negative reviews on here have me questioning as to whether they're even true... Anyways, It was a pleasure working with the team. I gained a TON of experience, overcame a lot of challenges and looking back really glad I took the plunge. Unfortunately, I had to relocate due to a family matter but very grateful to have been part of the team!

    Cons

    Have to be on your feet. Fast-pace, can be stressful at times depending on situations that come up

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Best in hospitality

    Sep 7, 2021 - Office Administrative in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The guests are treated wonderfully - the products, service, and guest experience always the focus of all the employee team. It is wonderfully rewarding to know we've done our best and our guests are delighted. Employees working hard with a smile on their face every day - that's the way it is. A big family.

    Cons

    None really - operating 24/7 makes the operation non-stop, which is both exciting, interesting, and sometimes a variety of work shifts. It's kind of amazing - all the moving parts and how well it runs. A superbowl team on the field every day - wow it's a big responsibility but very rewarding.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Missing the mark in every way possible

    Oct 1, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You form a strong bond with other talent that got duped into thinking they would make a difference at this hotel.

    Cons

    The leadership is the most dreadful I have experienced in my entire Hospitality career. These 5 star reviews that have popped up on Glassdoor recently have truly made me and others who have worked here laugh. You don't have to work here too long to know the two individuals that contributed those remarks. The people who have worked at this place for 15+ years would not last a day at any other hotel. It's sad that such a pillar in the community has lost its appeal and reputation due to poor mismanagement.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    High Quality Experience

    Sep 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you like being part of something special and take some joy in seeing guests have a lovely experience visiting Nashville this is a wonderful life changing place to be. At the end of the day you can feel like you were empowered to do good and made a quality contribution to a complex and finely tuned operation. The mutual respect of your team and also the leadership who puts this structure in place is simply a great thing. No sour grapes from me, exquisite fine wine is more like it.

    Cons

    Anyone knocking this place needs a shrink or to go home to mommy.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Benefits, happy at my job

    Sep 16, 2021 - Guest Services 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working at the Hermitage. In the last few months several employees with bad attitudes have left. The culture has improved significantly. I feel like I'm part of a team and I am supported by a strong management team. Ms. Dee and Mr. Mahmoud truly care about us. Benefits are very good. We never closed during Covid, too.

    Cons

    Hard to relocate, but good for resume.

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great experience

    Oct 3, 2021 - Middle Management in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gaining experience, standard operating procedures and opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Tuff industry after covid to rebuild

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Luxury property, poor leadership

    Sep 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great to build your resume

    Cons

    Culture of fear, you’ll be overworked until you burn out, low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

Work at Hermitage Hotel? Share Your Experiences

or