Cover image for Hi Marley
Logo

Hi Marley

Is this your company?

Hi Marley

Add a Review

Hi Marley Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 11 of over 11 reviews
5.0
100% Recommend to a Friend
Hi Marley CEO and Co-FOunder Mike Greene
100% Approve of CEO

Found 11 of over 11 reviews

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hi Marley CEO and Co-FOunder Mike Greene
Mike Greene
5 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Hi Marley is an organization that offers an amazing culture, fun/hard working environment and a growing team of individuals and leaders that 'truly' care about each other and their customers.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Place for me

    Jul 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love being part of a growing team with challenging work, but I don't want that to come at the cost of my home life. That is really hard to find. I have worked at many different tech companies and start-ups and it was definitely an investment of time beyond normal working hours. At first, I thought that working normal hours meant that people were not invested in our growth as a company but honestly in my time here I have come to totally change my opinion. This is a place where you can truly have both - Both a challenging, driven, excited workplace and work-free weekends with family and adventure. The investment in culture and emphasis on that being a core tenet of the business is unlike anything I have seen before and makes people motivated and excited to be here. The leadership is strong and the market opportunity and product are amazing. I can't wait to see what the next few years look like.

    Cons

    Given our stage, we have too many tools and not enough documentation and process. But honestly, I think we are focused on the right things and those things will come as we mature.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A company that truly cares

    Jun 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I could drone on about the fantastic product, the positive growth outlook, the awesome cross-functional collaboration and alignment, all of which are important but dwarfed by the true differentiator: the culture. A great culture is something that companies frequently advertise yet the reality is it often manifests in a few nice sayings painted on a wall and then ignored. Hi Marley bucks that trend and puts culture front and center. It is rare to find a company, let alone a highly successful start-up, that truly cares this much about every customer, employee, and individual they interact with. It starts at the top, with a CEO that leads with confident humility, and flows down to every employee on every team.

    Cons

    No real cons but I feel like just writing "n/a" is a cop out so I'll say that, like most companies, I think we're still trying to find the best ways to make a hybrid work environment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Hi Marley team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    No company is perfect, but Hi Marley comes pretty darn close!

    Jul 12, 2022 - Finance in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a terrific company. Never a dull moment and the Finance team has been spectacular. It's honestly just the coolest Finance team, there is no other way to say that. Great place for mentorship and growth, as well as learning more about SaaS and the Insurtech industry. This place is CRAWLING with industry leaders and subject-matter experts in every department, and there is an opportunity to grow and learn in every corner of the company. No sharp elbows! Great work/life balance with unlimited PTO (I have been here for a little over a year and have rarely worked more than the typical 35 hour work week; I have never been asked to, even during audit time). In-office presence varies but generally folks will come in anywhere from 1 to 3 days per week. A great-paying company that intentionally reviews compensation bi-annually to ensure salaries are congruent with market. Strong culture (many companies will say this but few will actually deliver on that claim). Mike Greene, the CEO, is the most genuine person I have had the pleasure of working for. He's the type of guy you want to root for. He has an enormous heart and puts so much care into everything he does. People live and breathe the values in this place as a result, and it's motivating and meaningful to be part of. People team acts with the best intentions for employees and advocates for them constantly (in my experience, this is is especially true of benefits, but also of everything that touches the organization as a whole). If you are the type of person that thrives from positive feedback and praise, you will flourish here. Lastly, know that everyone is extremely nice. If you're used to a colder manner of receiving feedback or interacting with folks, be aware of that as the kindness may come as a shock at first!! It certainly shocked me, but I am now used to it and can't believe I ever tolerated any other "less kind" environments.

    Cons

    Close to none. Sometimes I'd love more structure and rigidity to the work processes, but that is par for the course in early-stage companies and we eventually build all that out as needed. This isn't so much a con as a it is advice, but potential employees need to be very clear about career pathing and goals within the organization as they may become bored/dissatisfied with their roles otherwise. If there's something you want to be involved in or grow into, don't be afraid to ask.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Culture

    Feb 21, 2022 - Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is what keeps us all motivated and at Hi Marley the culture is unmatched. Maintaining a life outside of work is strongly encouraged.

    Cons

    Frequent pivots to meet market needs - nothing out of the ordinary for a start-up though!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome culture!

    Oct 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Engineering is very much focused on learning through paired programming, which goes a long way in terms of code quality and engineering fitness.

    Cons

    Still a series B startup that has some growth to do

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Culture and People...

    Jul 27, 2021 - Client Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hi Marley is an organization that offers an amazing culture, fun/hard working environment and a growing team of individuals and leaders that "truly" care about each other and their customers.

    Cons

    Throughout my time at Hi Marley, I did not experience anything to comment on that would apply as a "con"...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Intern

    Sep 15, 2021 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    autonomy, cool company, liked it a lot

    Cons

    startup culture makes some things a bit difficult / all over the palce

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Startup Company

    Jan 17, 2021 - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing culture, friendly employees, and able to work on a wide spread of features.

    Cons

    There aren't any issues working here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Open and Inclusive culture

    Dec 10, 2020 - Vice President of Engineering in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great growing company with an open, inclusive, and honest culture

    Cons

    Not well known since it is a startup

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to learn and grow professionally

    Dec 6, 2019 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a minority, it's hard to find tech companies that you can be comfortable at, but at Hi Marley it's easier to be myself. I still have a lot to learn as a developer, but with this company, I'm on a forward path to achieving my technical goals. - fun personalities, easy to get along with everyone - interesting problems to solve, and we are all learning together - leadership cares about every employee - great vision - never busy/always learning/always challenged - flexible work schedule allows you to have a work life balance - company is good at recognizing employee efforts

    Cons

    - as an early start up, we have room to grow, but everyone is working to achieve those goals.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Hi Marley? Share Your Experiences

Hi Marley logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Software Engineer(3)

Hi Marley Photos

+ Add Photo
Hi Marley photo of: Near or far, we love Hi Marley!
Hi Marley photo of: Hi Marleyans joined an outdoor, masked meet-up to stay connected during the pandemic.
Hi Marley photo of: The team enjoying a virtual gift swap as one of our bi-weekly happy hour events.
Hi Marley photo of: All smiles for our weekly wellness class!
Hi Marley photo of: Although we have fun virtually, we look forward to hosting our team for in-person events when safe to do so.

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 11 Hi Marley reviews submitted anonymously by Hi Marley employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Hi Marley is right for you.