KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Highmark Health

Is this your company?

Highmark Health

Add a Review

Highmark Health Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Sep 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 771 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Highmark Health President and CEO David L. Holmberg
David L. Holmberg
327 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, life/work balance, work from home options(in 44 reviews)

  • "Decent salary and good benefits(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes work life balance is hard(in 47 reviews)

  • "Inflexible upper management, unrealistic expectations, workload can be extreme(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Highmark Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "good benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent benefits and ability to move around company

      Sep 17, 2020 - Underwriter in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good. Work life balance is good

      Cons

      Growth and development not easily achieved.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thank you for your review as a former Underwriter at Highmark Health! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the benefits and the work/life balance. We understand the importance of opportunities to advance the careers of our employees and will be sure to share your feedback internally, as we are always looking to improve the employee experience. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Steady

      Sep 27, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent salary and good benefits

      Cons

      A Terrible work life balance

      1 person found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thank you for your review as a former Senior Consultant at Highmark Health! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the compensation and benefits. Please know that making sure our employees have a good work/life balance is one of our main priorities as an organization. We know everyone has unique interests and hobbies and we want our employees to balance success at work with their passions at home. Your concerns are taken seriously and will be shared internally as we are always looking to improve the employee experience. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hostile Environment

      Dec 19, 2018 - Print Operator in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is decent, though not great. Good Benefits Package

      Cons

      No life/work balance - Management expects employees to 7 days a week without end, including Holidays. You will NOT be compensated for lost Holiday The Environment is HIGHLY toxic, and the management is extremely hostile and threatens employees with termination if the do not willingly surrender previously scheduled time off and holiday time. Extremely high turnover rate, which management refuses to take accountability for, choosing instead, to insist that the employees who quit are simply "bad employees" and the company is better off without them. Management WILL retaliate against any employee who questions their decisions.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Account Director

      We appreciate your feedback. Know that we remain committed to encourage a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees. Since we take your concerns to heart, please reach out to your HR manager.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A Very Difficult Culture

      Aug 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a major employer in the area with a wide variety of employment opportunities. It is a well-respected employer. The benefits are good and include 401k and health benefits. The downtown offices are attractive and provide a nice work environment. It has everything it needs to be a great employer.

      Cons

      The company seems to likes change just for the sake of change. There are constant changes in strategy, objectives, projects, reporting relationships and even office locations. The company is always in such a state of flux that it is extremely difficult to stay focused. The staff is constantly bombarded with multiple priorities and ongoing changes. The resulting burn-out is devastating to employee morale. There is a lot of talk about employee engagement but little or no loyalty from leadership to staff. They don't hesitate to reorg and layoff employees. The best jobs seem to go to outside candidates.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      N/A

      Dec 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits good PTO, schedule is flexible

      Cons

      Depends on role. Uncertainty is lingering in some aspects of the company

      1 person found this review helpful

      Highmark Health Response

      Account Director

      Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you're enjoying the benefits and flexibility in your role!

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great people, lousy company.

      Mar 23, 2015 - Applications Developer in Wilmington, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, Nice coworkers. Lack of gossip in the work place. Flexibility in work hours including work from home two days a week. I like going to work and consider this a major bonus.

      Cons

      Layoffs of long-term employees who are getting ready to retire. Shifty, unclear and overall unfair measurement of personal growth and achievement. They will fire you if you have a bad review. But I cannot get anyone to tell me how I could actually get a bad review.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Sad state of affairs. Technical Business Analyst

      Dec 3, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For many years Highmark was a great place to work. Good benefits, and great people at all levels. Fair pay. Promotional opportunities.

      Cons

      My experience mirrors many on here. Talking to people still there, it's even worse than before..if that's even possible. I was a victim of the latest sweep of seasoned, knowledgeable staff. So many others have left voluntarily. That should tell this top-heavy, mismanaged, arrogant and foolish company something. I, myself, am a happier and more sane person not having to be subjected to lying bosses (not leaders), excessive working hours (expected but not recognized or appreciated) and false statements in reviews put there by people who are guilty themselves. I've never experienced such duplicity and dishonesty in my life. Others were also pawns, like me. How can these people do things to their employees/peers like they do? I wouldn't be able to look at myself in the mirror. Looking back, this was a great company at one time. It's declined drastically in most areas over the last 5 years. That's sad. I'm glad I'm no longer there.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Was great place to work but declining in recent years.

      Aug 28, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, vacation and time off policies. Good work from home policies. Nice fitness facility -- if you can find the time to use it.

      Cons

      If you already work here, you have virtually no chance for advancement. With a very few exceptions, management holds an unwavering opinion that what you do is all you can do and only people from outside the company can improve the company. In the past 5 years, the workforce has shrunk, workload has risen sharply and work-life balance has suffered considerably. Meanwhile, the company has added layers and layers of management to create a top-heavy organization that is slow to act due to the lack of lower-level staff necessary to make plans a reality. Management is very reactive. Long-term planning is rare. Much time and resources are wasted pursuing "solutions" to problems without thoughtful input.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Stressful

      May 18, 2016 - Project Manager in Penn Pitt, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good..used to be better but lost a lot including PTO days and holidays. That Is About ALL I Can Say.

      Cons

      Stressful, forever changing culture, can't retain, Methodologies of lean does not work. No work home life balance and they don't care. The thought is if you don't like or conform you can leave. No job security, expect you to work 12 hr days and 7 days a week. You can never take your vacation. They don't care about the employees. The health that they promote is only for the public because you are lucky if you make it to the bathroom Meetings are schedule at 6:30 am until 7pm including through lunch.

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      IT department is the biggest mess i have ever seen

      Apr 16, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits I am sure other divisions are nice places to work

      Cons

      The IT department here is the worst I have ever seen. They cram in H1B folks into every open space, and then show this off as if its a good thing and are proud of it. Management is flat out abusive, to each other and employees. I have never seen the level of pure un professionalism at the management level as I saw in my time there.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Highmark Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Highmark Health? Share Your Experiences

    or