Cover image for Highmark Health
Logo

Highmark Health

Engaged Employer

Highmark Health

Add a Review

Highmark Health Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 24, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,002 of over 1K reviews
3.9
74% Recommend to a Friend
Highmark Health President and CEO David L. Holmberg
85% Approve of CEO

Found 108 of over 1K reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Highmark Health President and CEO David L. Holmberg
David L. Holmberg
441 Ratings

What people are saying about Highmark Health

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

85.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Highmark Health~6234
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "4. Poor management.(in 51 reviews)
  • "I think upper management is aware it is a problem, but appear to be slow and/or reluctant to address due to internal politics.(in 30 reviews)
  • "High turn over of senior leadership and constantly changing direction of the company.(in 26 reviews)
  • "No training for the job.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Punishments are 'all or none' so that managers do not need to confront troublemakers.(in 18 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Highmark Health and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    My forever home!

    Nov 23, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great team members -Opportunities for promotion -Flexibility -Work- life balance -PTO -401k

    Cons

    More integration between internal teams.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the work-life balance, flexibility and opportunities. We appreciate your additional feedback as we continue to improve communications and teamwork.

  2. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great place to work! The best team ever

    Nov 16, 2021 - Salesforce Administrator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance and a very helpful team

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    We are thrilled to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the work-life balance and team. We appreciate your feedback!

  3. Join the Highmark Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Highmark Health

    Nov 24, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work/Life balance, career opportunities, flexibility

    Cons

    Unpaid parking, rising cost of benefits

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    Thank you so much for your review of Highmark Health as a current Manager! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the work-life balance and career opportunities. We appreciate your additional feedback!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Happy at Highmark

    Oct 24, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote Work Benefits Work/Life Balance Career Growth 401k Match

    Cons

    HR can be hard to reach at times due to high volume

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    This is a great place to build your career!

    Sep 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities for mobility and advancement, salary, benefits, and work/life balance.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    It makes our day to receive your five-star recommendation of Highmark Health! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the benefits, salary and opportunities. We appreciate your feedback!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Salary and Benefits

    Sep 24, 2021 - Client Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome pay and Benefits Package

    Cons

    Work/Life balance Inadequate support from service areas

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    Thank you so much for your review of Highmark Health as a current Client Manager! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the compensation and benefits. We appreciate your additional feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    good work life balance

    Sep 20, 2021 - Data Engineer in Pitts, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For the salary you draw which is very average, you are not too overburdened and get a decent work-life balance. It depends on your manager though. If you want to work a lot and want to learn then there is room for that too

    Cons

    The compensation is not very competitive. Not sure if this is a con but you will feel that start-up culture sometimes as you may have to wear many hats.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    Thank you for your review of Highmark Health as a current Data Engineer! We are glad to hear you enjoy the work-life balance and we appreciate your additional feedback.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The Almighty Dollar

    Oct 8, 2021 - Care Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home is great

    Cons

    Horrible work/life balance. Upper management has NO idea how to get job done. No experience and knowledge of job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    We appreciate your review of Highmark Health as a former Care Manager. Please know, we remain committed to encourage a fulfilling and meaningful career for our employees.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place, Pay & Benefits

    Jul 24, 2021 - Customer Liaison in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. Employee friendly. Great pay & benefits. Work/life balance is excellent.

    Cons

    I have no complaints at all. I’m a lifer. ☺️

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    Thank you for your review of Highmark Health as a current Customer Liaison! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the benefits, pay and work-life balance. We appreciate your feedback!

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Would give 4.5 stars if I could.. it’s about as good as Corporate America can get.

    Mar 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Base salary and annual performance bonuses are very competitive. Health benefits are obviously strong. It’s clear the organization cares about continuing to improve both hard and soft benefits and gauges feedback via surveys. In today’s work culture, any company can get hectic at times but in my career experience I’ve found Highmark has given me the best work-life balance. It’s also been very reassuring that leadership trusts us to work remotely and in fact has praised us for strong performance during such an unprecedented year. I feel very content at Highmark Health and see myself continuing to grow here long-term.

    Cons

    Coming in from the outside, there is a lot to learn about the Highmark Way, so to speak. There can be a lot of history and internal politics involved in daily work. It can take even the fastest of learners awhile to get adjusted and learn the ropes, which can cause anxiety and stress. There are also a lot of personalities. However, once you’re in and you’ve found your way, the sailing becomes a lot smoother. Because the company is so large, it can feel like you’re just a number, especially if you’re an individual contributor and not a leader. Many communications are passed down through leadership first, so it can turn into a game of Telephone and leave employees feeling less-than. It can feel like more specific employee feedback is not being heard at high levels.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Highmark Health Response

    Employer Brand

    Thank you so much for your review of Highmark Health as a current employee! We are glad to hear you are enjoying the compensation, benefits and work-life balance. We appreciate your additional feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 108 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Highmark Health Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Highmark Health? Share Your Experiences

Highmark Health logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Highmark Health Photos

+ Add Photo
Highmark Health photo of: Highmark Insurance Headquarters
Highmark Health photo of: Cafeteria
Highmark Health photo of: View from the Office
Highmark Health photo of: Computer Draft
Highmark Health photo of: 9TH FLOOR WAITING LOBBY
Highmark Health photo of: OUTSIDE
Highmark Health photo of: Highmark corporate building
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Highmark, Inc.HM Health Solutions, Inc.HM Insurance Group
Allegheny Health NetworkUnited Concordia Companies Inc.Highmark Wholecare

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Highmark Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

Highmark Logo
Highmark

3.2

492 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,003 Highmark Health reviews submitted anonymously by Highmark Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Highmark Health is right for you.