Highwoods Properties Reviews | Glassdoor

Highwoods Properties Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Highwoods Properties CEO and Director Ed Fritsch (no image)
Ed Fritsch
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growth, Fun and Work/Life Balance all in one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Highwoods Properties full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is easy to achieve. This is a company that cares about their employees and it shows with the generous benefits and the amount of trust they show their staff. Plenty of room to grow and learn from some of the best. Employees are trusted and allowed to be creative. Ideas from all employees are encouraged.

    Cons

    Getting your foot in the door may be a challenge, but once you're in give it your all and make yourself valuable.

    Continue reading
    Highwoods Properties2017-10-18
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Total Circus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Highwoods Properties full-time

    Pros

    Worked with many great individuals, made life-long friends and connections.

    Cons

    While I'm confident that many people have had and will continue to have a great experience at Highwoods, I did not. This was mostly due to intradepartmental chaos. In my particular situation, my leader seemed unequipped for the position and unable to properly lead our team - resulting in poorly managed projects, lack of time management and disregard for employees' time/work/needs. Perhaps not with intention, but through his/her actions, the head of our department showed more interest in pleasing his/her superior than trusting the expertise of his/her team. This, in conjunction with the arbitrary system of promotions/probation/lack of promotions within our department, often left me scratching my head. 

    Highwoods Properties2019-04-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "poor management , can be hostile work enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Highwoods Properties full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefit package, 401 k

    Cons

    low pay, maintenance and management work on two different planets

    Continue reading
    Highwoods Properties2017-11-26
  4. "Assistant Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Highwoods Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent pay. Management seems reasonable and company seems to be growing at a nice pace. Good so far!

    Cons

    Nothing yet. The only thing that bothers me is how the techs talk about their compensation. A manager is only as good as their techs and I hope that upper management shows maintenance that they are valued.

    Highwoods Properties2017-10-11
  5. "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highwoods Properties full-time

    Pros

    Great CEO and the benefits are the best I've had.

    Cons

    Local management is "cliquish". Don't see an opportunity for advancement if you aren't in the "in" crowd.

    Highwoods Properties2017-07-24
  6. "Wonderful company takes care of their employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Highwoods Properties part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Very thoughtful towards employees as human beings -Very open to ideas presented by employees

    Cons

    -Sold the property I was working for.

    Highwoods Properties2017-06-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Highwoods Properties for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company with many properties to work with. Executives outside Orlando exhibit and offer great potential within company. Raleigh crew exemplifies the results by which Orlando wishes to obtain and keeps those down in Orlando believing things will get better.

    Cons

    Orlando management is completely dazed and confused. Extreme distrust and undercutting behind the scenes. The most unprofessional outfit I have ever worked for.

    Highwoods Properties2017-02-10
  8. "Division accounting coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highwoods Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401k and healthcare. Encourages a work/life balance.

    Cons

    Pay is below industry standards and doesn't encourage higher education

    Continue reading
    Highwoods Properties2016-09-04
  9. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Highwoods Properties

    Pros

    Great place to work. Can advance within the company. Great benefits and pay

    Cons

    I have no cons to submit.

    Continue reading
    Highwoods Properties2016-06-20
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Interior Design Intern in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Highwoods Properties for more than a year

    Pros

    amazing people to work with, great opportunity, a company that really appreciates their employees

    Cons

    not a lot of people on their 20s

    Highwoods Properties2016-03-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews