Hilco Global Reviews | Glassdoor

Hilco Global Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
1 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hilco Global full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance without a trade off in pay, good experience, and strong management

    Cons

    Upward mobility (although it has been improved on) and intra-company mobility

    Hilco Global2018-12-07
  2. "Great company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hilco Global full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Business units consist of strong teams and good leaders with an entrepreneurial mindset.

    Cons

    Need more opportunity for advancement.

    Hilco Global2018-10-01
  3. "Hilco Global is Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Marketing Manager in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Hilco Global full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great team environment. Some of the best people I have worked with in my career were at Hilco Global.

    Cons

    The only con was the corporate office was in Suburbs

    Hilco Global2018-02-19
  4. "No Room for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hilco Global full-time

    Pros

    Good salary. Health insurance is great.

    Cons

    A coworker who had been working there for far longer and was more heavily involved with upper management was earning well below my own pay which I find disheartening. There is zero room for growth, so don't intend on getting to management unless you are a personal friend of an executive. Many people who have been moved to management/director roles do not have the qualifications or skills to be leading teams. I felt like...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to create teams instead of employees and bosses.

    Hilco Global2018-01-25
  5. "Writer/Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer/Editor in Dedham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hilco Global full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Junior varsity level work expectations for writers/editors, graduate level work.

    Cons

    Having to work with people who simply do not want to work and not being commended or rewarded for it. As an editor, it's simply mind boggling. My team was never on the same page in terms of exactly what we were supposed to do...Some people went completely over the top in their edits, others didn't care enough to do really anything. I legitimately believe that, out of approximately 10 of us, two of us ACTUALLY knew...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is just so much they can do to improve morale, but it really comes down to just having the good sense to bring in people who are professionals and actually care about doing good work. They do not do that at all. And for an editor who cares about doing things right ALL THE TIME, that's simply an unacceptable work environment.

    Hilco Global2018-01-19
  6. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Hilco Global

    Pros

    Very friendly people in the office. Was constantly invited to sit in on important meetings with C-suite executives. Was given freedom to complete certain projects how I saw best.

    Cons

    Very data focused. Little human interaction

    Advice to Management

    Give interns more concrete work to do.

    Hilco Global2017-11-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Appraiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Appraiser in Northbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hilco Global full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Peers are excellent and support each other. The onsite clients you meet are genuinely good people. The company has good benefits and brand recognition. Owner/CEO is a very good person. Not all divisions are managed as poorly as the M&E appraisal division.

    Cons

    Very long hours in the M&E Appraisal group. Management does not care about you or your family life. Holidays and weekends are very few and far in between. Push the numbers, forget about integrity. Grindhouse mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees and learn respect that people can't work 24/7 just because you over promised management higher profits. One more thing calling people while they are in a hospital bed to see when they'll be done with a project is classless.

    Hilco Global2017-09-26
  8. "No better company to work for!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Hilco Global full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      They tread you like family. Good pay.

      Cons

      Just merged with another company.

      Advice to Management

      Remember the little guys that have been there.

      Hilco Global2017-05-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Stable company but little room for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northbrook, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hilco Global full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Its a stable company. People are rarely ever fired.

      Cons

      Hilco's hierarchy is basically two levels; those at the top and those at the bottom, there is very little middle management position. There is not much room for growth. There is not much culture or value placed on self improvement or continuing education.

      Advice to Management

      If you want smart and happy employees develop a culture and value your workers.

      Hilco Global2017-05-10
    • "Extremely supportive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Hilco Global full-time

        Pros

        Very engaged, high-energy management team

        Cons

        None to really speak of.

        Hilco Global2017-03-07
      Found 17 reviews