Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance - expected to work well beyond regular hours and be available by phone/email at all times(in 37 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A people-focused organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Talent Manager in Doral, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm truly enjoying this season in my work life. I get to work with very smart, knowledgeable people across the globe who are committed to making our employees' lives better. I am empowered to make decisions, properly equipped to do my job, but most importantly, treated with respect and trust. As I work to take my career to the next level, I’m building meaningful, trust-based relationships that motivate me to give my best and add value in every aspect of my work. I've been given opportunities to work on global projects and initiatives that truly demonstrate the company's commitment to help our employees grow and thrive with us. On top of that, and more importantly from a personal perspective, I have found the work-life balance I so much needed and thought unattainable.

    Cons

    Managing time zone differences and people's schedules can be a challenge when you do global work, but is that challenge what at the same time makes the work exciting.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-26
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, leadership lacking"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Public Relations in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, solid work/life balance.

    Cons

    Leadership keeps changing and this may be the worst set yet. They talk a good game, and the Brits certainly think highly of themselves, but there is incredibly poor communication. Talent retention is non-existant. There are no cost of living increases and they basically make you wait as long as they think you will without leaving before giving a subpar raise. It leaves all of us feeling truly unappreciated, no matter what they say about the process being merit-based. We went over a year without an employee evaluation program in place. Clearly it wasn't a priority.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-02-17

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    March 10, 2020People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. First off, we want to thank you for your eight years of service to H+K and we completely hear all of your concerns. We’d like to continue this conversation with you to listen to you and help address your feedback. Please do reach out to us at feedback@hkstrategies.com, so that we can collaborate with you.

  3. "N/a"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Corporate Affairs Fellow 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies part-time

    Pros

    Good location and area of office, ways to move up and good for people interested in PR

    Cons

    Work-share load and cohesion amongst employees can be bad at times

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-01-09

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    January 16, 2020People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. We’re glad to hear about what you've enjoyed about H+K during your time with us and sorry to hear that at times, work-share load and cohesion is lacking as it doesn’t align with the culture we’re striving to achieve in all our offices. We’d love to hear more from you to better understand your experience and where and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@hkstrategies.com so we can continue the conversation.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Miami office is literally the worst"

    1.0
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies

    Pros

    None except maybe the people who are in misery with you

    Cons

    Everything. The president is horrible. Don't do it. The agency brand is well-known but this office isn't worth the name on your resume. Just leave. Or stay there two months to get set up and then leave. Either way this is not long-term. I haven't worked there in years and I still have PTSD.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-11-27
  5. "Seem like a great place until you are there a bit longer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in New York, NY

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility such as work from home

    Cons

    Not interested in your career growth.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-25

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    October 28, 2019People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. We%E2%80%99re sorry you didn%E2%80%99t have a better experience with respect to your career growth here. Our people are our greatest asset, and we value helping our employees lead a successful career at H+K. We value your input and would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please feel free to email us additional feedback at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

  6. Helpful (9)

    "Miami Office: Great and Professional"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Miami, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    World class clients, great environment, collaborative. Love the boss.

    Cons

    PR requires long hours. It’s 24/7 client service. Not for the lazy.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-28
  7. Helpful (9)

    "H&K Miami; Great office"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great office, President is great a mentor, she teaches to aim high , and services clients at the highest level. Best 13 year of my career.

    Cons

    If you want to slack off , and don't want to give your job all this is not right fit

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-13
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Broad Learning Opportunities"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many Fortune 500 clients to work with from a wide variety of industries.

    Cons

    Going through a period of change

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-05-22

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    June 24, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We love hearing from our employees! Indeed, we are going through a period of transformation, particularly as we welcome a new global CEO. We can’t wait to see what’s around the corner – our future is looking bright! If you have additional information you’d like to share, please email feedback@hkstrategies.com.

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Miami Office Is The Worst Place On Earth - President Is The devil"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    There is not a single thing that is worth working here.

    Cons

    The H+K Miami office was originally an agency named SAMCOR, this agency was acquired by H+K but contains none of the company's ethical values. The HR department is basically non-existent, the "president" of the Miami office is extremely disrespectful and unprofessional. She is consistently degrading her employees, has no concept of modern day communication tools, and shows up to the office at 3 pm, making everyone stay until she leaves at 8/9/10 pm. If you notice they are consistently looking for a "senior account executive" that is because not a single new hire stays. Working at this office may present you with the opportunity to work with influential hospitality/tourism industry clients, but in doing so you will forsake mental stability, physical well-being and happiness.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-27
  10. Helpful (9)

    "STAY AWAY from H+K Miami!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Supervisor in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great network of H+K agencies worldwide, renowned clients, amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Where do I even begin. Initially, when I was hired at H+K two years ago, I was working for two smart, knowledgeable PR professionals in the LATAM division. After many changes and downsizing in LATAM, I was tasked with working at the Miami office. Before even starting the transition, I was warned that the Miami office had high churn and the management was a joke. What can I say... I wish I would’ve listened to what others warned me about. My first two weeks, two people put in their resignation, one of them was told to not even conclude her two weeks notice and was told to hand in her keys three days shy of her exit interview. This left one fellow, one account executive, myself and a VP as the only full-time employees in an agency managing several multi-million dollar accounts. We were severely understaffed. The root of the problem? the President. Though she’s had many years in the industry, she has zero respect for employee work hours. She comes in at 11:00am daily, goes to the gym mid-day and insists that employees come in at 8:30am, forcing them to stay past 6, including Fridays, to compensate for the time she’s not physically in the office. (There were times I was there until 8:30 pm on a Friday while she corrected and dictated word-for-word a report until it was completed). She would interrupt time off and sick days with constant calls, texts and emails with the expectation that they get answered promptly. Constant yelling and shouting at employees instead of providing constructive feedback on work that took hours to complete. She is zero receptive to new, innovative ideas, because of her antiquated ways. She has a forward-thinking VP (Holly) supporting our team, and to help the office obtain new business and project work, and yet overrules her every chance she gets. She has belittled not only myself, but several employees in the office, questioning their career choice. The work culture is a joke. Lourdes and Laura (finance/office management) are the only one’s that try to implement some sort of excitement in the workplace and that lasts from 8:30-11am, while the President is not around. The mood changes completely once she’s in the office. She uses the H+K name to justify her actions/demands, giving those that are more junior a false impression of what it’s like to work for this company. Lastly, during my two week notice, I was told by her I could not reach out to HR in NY to conduct my exit interview. Wonder why... Overall, the accounts and client work is fun, manageable and exciting . It’s a shame that many won’t speak up to change the many flaws this office has as a result of one person.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-12
Found 325 reviews