Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews | Glassdoor

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great Atmosphere, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to work within different specializations and teams across globe; great benefits, including significant paternity leave

    Cons

    Pay not quite on par with competitors

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-02-28
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Great clients, Poor Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Account Executive in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great clients and great benefits

    Cons

    Poor working environment, poor salary, poor upper management; no work/life balance; unrealistic expectations

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-02-20
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Think Twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Think carefully before accepting a role at H+K. It's an agency in decline and one that is heavily scrutinized within the WPP system due to its poor leadership and difficulty to attract and grow business. This contributes to a toxic culture and a maniacally political environment (particularly at the senior levels) that permeates the entire agency. In short, it's a dumpster fire - but still has yet to hit rock... bottom.

    Show More

    Cons

    Toxic environment. Political quagmire. Unclear future as an agency.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-02-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing co-workers, great learning-curve, awesome clients and benefits. You can go in not knowing much about PR and come out with so much experience and knowledge.

    Cons

    Upper management, "People leader" as they call it, is completely disorganized and out for his/her self. The lack of communication towards the end was completely unprofessional. After five months of preforming with great review, upper leadership didn't let me know I wouldn't be hired on until two weeks before contract ended. Basically the entire office just sets their day around the mood of the leader, Since there... was no HR within the office there was a huge lack of communication and no one to keep things professional.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually talk to your employees. Do not act like it is a casual communicative environment at first if you will pretend your employees do not exist after a few months.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-11
  5. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies

    Pros

    The people are nice, office leaders care about employees

    Cons

    Overall, the company can be disorganized

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Benefits rock, culture doesn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +benefits, +people, +access to training,

    Cons

    +below avg pay, +too political, +high turnover

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-01-03
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Although I've recently just joined H+K in their Houston office, I already feel at home. The people are absolutely fantastic - from my recruiting experience with Angela Anderson - to being brought on full-time to the energy and industrial team - I absolutely love it. The work/life balance is fantastic. The benefits rival even the most competitive corporations I've been with in the past. This was undoubtedly a good... move for me both personally and professionally.

    Show More

    Cons

    I do not love the We Work office space as there's very little privacy.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-12-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great offices, collaborative atmosphere, supportive staff, and opportunities to excel.

    Cons

    Internal communications could improve

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-10-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Coral Gables, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great clients, projects, benefits and salaries and recognition. If you are competent, loyal and want a career in communications there is no other place to work. Management team is the best in the business and is totally invested is teaching and supporting the right talent.

    Cons

    It not for those who want to coast or who are looking for a nine to five job in a communications field that is constant.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to better recruiting ...H+K deserves top talent and superstars for the best client service.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-09-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fellow 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Management wants to see employees succeed. - There are so many opportunities for growth & learning. - My co-workers are fabulous and very welcoming.

    Cons

    - Work can be time consuming, but you do get rewards for working hard.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-07-30
Found 314 reviews